Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ramiro from Argentina

Good Alternative for Amsterdam

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, good spacious room on the no-tourist side of the city. There is a very reliable 8min transfer from a sister NH hotel in downtown (300mts from central station, blocks away from red-light district). Web access has a Mb limit, but since they give you several vouchers the only downsize is to re enter another code when it´s over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Marta Gabriella from Miami, Florida

NH Galaxy Good Value

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I didn't want to stay right in the heart of the city due to the prices I found there. I also didn't want to stay in a dive. NH Galaxy wasn't a luxury hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. The shuttle to the center made it completely acceptable. The only drawback is that you had to wait for the shuttle. When we waited at the sister hotel, the NH Barbizon, it was very comfortable, so even the waiting wasn't that bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Derek from France

Friendly staff, good service

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Free parking was great. Nespresso in the room only came with 1 capsule for my 4 nights stay. Could do better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Freer from Leicester

great time

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location with free shuttle bus and ferry to centre on Amsterdam. Overall a good hotel- probably worth upgrade at reception. Would definitely use again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Eugen from USA

Hotel Grossly Overrated

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
They did not honor the free breakfast we had through hotels.com. We had to be moved from the room due to over heating. The front desk did not honor our wake up call -- they simply forgot and we were almost to get late to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danielle & Sam

Nice hotel couldn't have asked for anything more

Posted Mar 25, 2014
The hotel was spotlessly clean with good food and friendly staff. The shuttle bus allowed us to travel into central free of charge, with it being just outside the busy centre, all failing that it was a 15-20 minute walk! Fresh apples provided and service with a smile which made our stay great at the NH galaxy we will defiantly return when we next stay in Amsterdam this was overall a lovely stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by King from Edmonton AB Canada

Good Experience

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Hotel was good in all ways. Clean, good staff, and everything else you normally expect in a hotel.
Cons: Wifi and late night shuttle service
Location: Hotel is away from all the action. There is nothing to do nearby at all. There is a small convience store across the street from the hotel.
Hotel is located 10 minutes from Centraal Station where all the action in Amsterdam is. On a plus side this hotel is significantly cheaper than other hotels in Centraal Station area and they offer free shuttle service to Centraal Station (there is another nH hotel across the street from Centraal Station). Shuttle service was running at a 15 min frequency in the afternoon and evening. In the mornings stuttle was available on demand. NO shuttle late at night. Taxi costs around $15 euros. There is a free feeri available but you have to walk 15 min to the hotel. Overall great experience in the hotel. Staff and all the facilities were good. Wifi connection was weak and you are required to put a new username and password combination every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachael from Scotland

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Fantastic hotel, clean and staff were brilliant. Staff couldn't be more helpful and spoke excellent English. Shuttle bus was provided from 9am to midnight between hotel and central station. Didn't eat at hotel as plenty of places nearby. Free wifi was good. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Stephanie from London

Stinks of smoke!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The staff and the smell of smoke!
I booked 5 non smoking rooms which were all on the first floor. As soon as the elevator doors opened there was a thick stench of smoke and was equally bad in our rooms. My eyes were watering from the smoke and all the towels in the bathroom equally smelt. In terms of the bathroom it was nice and modern but wasn't clean as there was dark hair found in the bath which i knew wasn't mine as i'm blonde. Hotel staff were not particularly friendly and all in all i was relieved to be only staying one night.