Ratings based on 650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 lady's having a weekend away.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Hotel is great place, easy to find. There we 3 of us staying in same room, I was very disappointed to find that one of the beds was a camp bed, very uncomfortable to sleep on, we then found the hair dryer did not work, the electric plug points did not work, there were only 2 pairs of slippers, 2 dressing gowns. We were moved the next day, but was told that our cases would be moved to new room for us, sadly this was not done, and we had to wait for them to arrive. The reason I enjoy staying in 4* or 5* hotels! is so I don't have to waste my time, complaining!!! I was very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by Anjan from Newcastle upon Tyne,UK

A good city centre hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and the Winter garden.
The hotel is centrally located, and generally good, however I think it is over priced for what it offers. Good things: Location Improvements needed: Room was too noisy all through the night. In room television had primarily non -english chanels and movies (not much use to non locals). The choice of restaurants seemed limited. The choice of cusines offered was very limited. The internet offered was too slow. The response time of house keeping could improve substantially.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katey from norwich, UK

Impressive hotel in central position

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: I liked its situation, the history and the decor. Reception were very polite and helpful
Cons: Housekeeping. We were out for a few hours and came back for a rest only to find the room hadn't been done.
Location: Central location with many local places to walk to including the station, flea market, restaurants, canal trips etc
We were in the refurbished part of the hotel. The room was fine although noisy from street noise if you wanted the window open. There is very little room in the bathroom to put anything and the bath was quite slippery. Both my husband and I almost slipped over. The toilet is set so high that you almost need a step to get up there - most uncomfortable. The breakfasts were very nice ~the scrambled egg the best I had eaten anywhere
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wendy from indiana

Centrally located, friendly staff and clean room.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
The hotel was centrally located, an easy walk from the Centraal Station and close to many of Amsterdam's attractions. The staff was friendly and the room was small but clean. The "free" WIFI was free for 24 hours only and limited to a very small data usage. One FaceTime call put me over the limit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ray from glasgow

hotel is central to tourist areas

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: loved how central it was to everything and staff were freindly and most helpfull
Cons: general decor could in rooms could be fresher painted
Location: close by to royal palace also anne frank house and boat trips. red light area was also near by lovely cafes.
the hotel was central to all tourist areas the transport system is excellent and good value the canal trips by boat were good . There are good cafes /hotels and wide choice to suit mosts tastes i enjoy a nice relaxing stay during my break. The train links from airport are excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ace traveller from U K

Central hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Position
Cons: Rooms could do with a refurbishment
Location: In Dam square only a short walk to central station and tourist info is nearby. A must is to go on the trip to the kerkenhof gardens - magnificent!
Position of hotel is excellent. It is right in the centre and easy to get to all the sights. Rooms were clean and comfortable although they look a bit tired and could do with some refurbishment. But overall this is the hotel to stay in mainly because of the position and ideal if only visiting for a few days and trying to cram in the sights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julie from south east london

Hotel was fine. Great location. Not quite 5* star.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Concierge was very helpful and knowledgable.
Cons: More than just one sachet of coffee per person in rooms. Tv very low volume even when on full.
Location: As hotel is so central almost everything you would want to see is within walking distance, fab location.
On arrival I was expected to pay a city tax of €8 per night, there was no mention of this when I made the booking. Also the receptionist required a holding fee of €150 which would be reimbursed to me on my departure. I handed my debit card and was told this was not accepted by them. They wanted a credit card which I didn't have. They then asked for €150 in cash. I informed them that it was my spending money and could not afford to part with so much. After quite a bit of haggling they agreed to accept €50. It generally didn't feel like much of a welcome to holland! Despite this the hotel is fabulously located in the centre of town, couldn't be better. We found a wonderful little Dutch patisserie 5 minutes walk from dam square, De Bakkerswinkel turn right out of hotel and walk about 400 meters, number 69 Warmoesstraat. They made their own amazing jams and curds, just like eating fresh fruit!! Also make their own beautiful breads and cakes. Service was excellent, very friendly.
3 out of 5
by Juliet Taylor

Nice stay ruined when overcharged for breakfast

Posted Apr 10, 2014
We were told a special offer of €5.50 each for breakfast was available when checking in. We agreed to take this deal for all 3 nights we were there. Upon checking out we were charged €24 each instead. The hotel denied telling us it was less, even though we both heard that price and checked at the time as it seemed very cheap. When we challenged it the receptionist disappeared and our taxi had arrived to take us to the airport. We didn't even get our bill and had to leave. No-one was interested in helping further. We basically ended up paying nearly €150 for coffee and toast each morning, as we're not big breakfast eaters. We would NEVER have agreed to pay that for breakfast. Very disappointing end to out stay. We wouldn't recommend the hotel after that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the city center

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Outstanding grand buffet is available for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Maidenhead, United Kingdom

Fantastic

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fantastic central location within easy reach of all attractions
The whole experience was fantastic, I was a little bit unsure what to expect from the mixed reviews but I could not find fault with this hotel. Fantastic location, friendly efficient staff, clean well equipped rooms as well as the fantastic location. A real treat!