Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ELEGANT HOTEL

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: THE RESTAURANT OVERLOOKING THE SQUARE AND THE WINTER GARDEN FOR BREAKFAST.
Location: IT WAS SITUATED ON DAM SQUARE, SHOPPING WAS EASY AND FLOWER GARDEN A WALK AWAY. CANAL BOATS WERE ALSO WITHIN EASY REACH FOR SIGHTSEEING.
WE ARRIVED A LITTLE EARLY FOR CHECK-IN BUT EVERYTHING WAS DONE TO ENSURE WE WERE ABLE TO ACCESS OUR ROOMS WHICH HAD EVERY COMFORT REQUIRED FOR OUR SHORT STAY. THE STAFF WERE ALL MOST HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY AND SERVICE PERFECT.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great location, Great hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: With so many travelers leaving for flights first thing in the morning, it seems absurd that they can't ready most rooms for early check-in.
Location: It's impossible to be more centrally located than this hotel is.
I am always skeptical reserving the most basic room type at hotels. In this case, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was modern, clean and comfortable (I specifically requested a room in the newer wing after reading other reviews about the older wing sometimes looking run down). The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location in the center of town was perfect for getting anywhere. As some other reviews have mentioned, the elevators were small and sometimes slow to arrive, but mostly this was just a minor inconvenience. I would absolutely stay in this hotel again and recommend it to anyone, particularly couples or friends sharing a room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
First class hotel in central location. Standard rooms are anything but standard. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

great location. right on Dam square

Posted Aug 24, 2014
nice place friendly staff perfect location would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Great location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Some rooms a little tired
Location: Centrally located and close to everything
The hotel is superbly located and has loads of history. It looks a little tired in places but on the whole good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Old Hotel full of history

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Close to Train station
Location: Next to red Light district. The Palace opposite was closed during our visit
The hotel staff gives us wrong information twice. Very disappointing. Location is perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

City break

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location and a beautiful comfortable hotel to stay in .
Cons: I think to eat in there was quiet expensive .
Location: Location was excellent ,Body Works ,Grand Palace ,Madame Tussauds and lots of good restaurants.
We had a excellent stay in the Krasnapolsky. Arriving almost 5hours early than are booking in time ,we expected to just leave are luggage there until 3pm which is what time we where due. To are surprise the room was ready plus an added bonus we had a upgrade ,staff couldn't be more helpful, Hotel its self is beautiful and in a great location ,will most definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uk

Great Location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need updating. Mattress mushy
The hotel was comfortable but the rooms not luxurious. they were a bit dated, but quite clean. A great location in a great city and a steal for the price we paid through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not perfect but this is the place in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Great location right at the Dam square in the center of the city. One to two blocks from two tram stations serving several lines. If you like walking, pretty much everything in the downtown area are within walking distance. Central train station is a several blocks down the main avenue although you probably would not want to drag a large suitcase through the sidewalks. The "red light district" is just next door together with a few “coffee shops”. This is a 4-star hotel; facilities are old and showing their age. Our room was in an adjoining building that required using the room key downstairs to enter. This was somewhat inconvenient particularly when your cardkey got corrupted and required another trip to the lobby. The pride of the hotel is the Winter Garden where you can have buffet breakfast for $45 . This is worth doing at least once. Alternatively you can visit the small shop across the Damstraat and get great pastries, sandwiches, and coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in downtown

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Great hotel with excellent location. Near canal cruises, shops of all kind, and great service as well.