Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Trendy, but a bit less than expected

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Location: A quiet neighborhood of established homes. Cafe Loetje is just around the corner- you can eat among locals for a moderate price.
Pros: - Trendy neighborhood outside of the touristy areas. - Clean and recently remodeled. - Only blocks away from the Van gogh Museum and a large grocery store where you can stock up on supplies. - Very friendly staff and a quirky boutique decorating scheme- definitely not like staying at a plain chain hotel. Cons: - I booked a deluxe queen room with a balcony, but the room they had available when I checked in was very small and decidedly lacking a balcony of any kind. They offered no explanation, but I was too exhausted from traveling to be pushy about it. - Breakfast is very expensive (15 Euro per person) and you'd be just as happy with a pastry and coffee from a nearby cafe. Skip the upcharge. - I'm accustomed to European room standards (AKA miniscule by American room standards), but these rooms were even smaller than I had expected. It's a charming and clean building, but VERY cramped. The stairs are very steep and hallways aren't wide enough to accomodate 2 people passing each other unless they turn sideways. Be prepared to get cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from London

Bijoux hotel in quiet residential area

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, delightful d├ęcor, pleasant location.
Location: Good location for museums and away from hubbub.
The hotel is ideally placed in a quiet, residential area, a stone's throw from the must-see museums. We enjoyed a few spring days exploring Amsterdam and the hotel offered a very pleasant haven from the seedier aspects of the city! The staff are very friendly, helpful and keen to amend minor oversights. If you're prepared to pay hotel prices rather than B&B, we would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kelly from Aberdeen, Scotland

Beautiful boutique hotel in a lovely quiet area.

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Location, privacy, comfort
Location: Right in the heart of the museum district and only a 10 minute stroll or 10 minute tram ride to the busier areas of the city
This is a wonderful hotel in a lovely quiet area of Amsterdam, the rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is fresh and modern and all areas within the hotel were kept in immaculate condition. Considering personal medical issues the hotel staff could not have been more accommodating and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. I must also mention that over 3 nights & 4 days we did not hear any noise from any other rooms, it was very private & very peaceful. A real gem hidden away in the beautiful chaos that is Amsterdam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francois from France

Nice Hotel, room 2 is a dungeon

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Nice location.
Cons: A room above the basement?
Location: Everything. Amsterdam is nice.
I only stayed here one night and I'm a business traveler with a stay over in AMS. The hotel is in a really nice neighborhood on a residential street. I was in purgatory, which in case you don't know, it's room 2, downstairs with a view of the underside of a bench on the street. There is no cellular signal and the internet is very weak in the dungeon. Otherwise, the bathroom is nice, the bed is nice, the desk is tiny. I don't know about the breakfast or anything else. Nice place. I now know what it's like to travel to Mars in a capsule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MJ from London, UK

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2013
Pros: Decor, quirkiness, breakfast
Cons: Wifi quite slow, could have done with more power points in room
Nice location, funky decor, friendly staff. Nice to have nespresso machine in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Long married from Surrey, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: The staff, location and cleanliness
Cons: Separate duvets on a double bed.
Location: Near the Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw, Stedelijk & Van Gogh Museums. Walking distance of other areas of interest, shops, restaurants & transport.
We have stayed in this hotel many times over the years even though the owners have changed hands. The newly refurbed hotel is excellent, it is excellently located and with extremely caring staff. We will certainly stay there again. Breakfast is E10 but free to guests who have stayed there before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from East Brunswick, NJ

The kindest staff

Posted Sep 30, 2010
Hotel Kasteelen is a small clean boutique hotel with the kindest staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Will return

Posted Aug 15, 2010
The hotel was beautiful with friendly, welcoming staff. It was in a very nice area of Amsterdam close to museums, restaurants.