Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, SA

Lovely hotel! Only 10 minute train from Airport

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Brilliant; close to the Airport I arrived at, close to the city center of Amsterdam. The Liverpool Novotel is lovely, also.
Location: Excellent location in Amsterdam. The Novotel in Liverpool was pretty central, too.
I did get lost; being my first time in Amsterdam, I could not figure out the maps on the sidewalk, I was also famished, and exhausted, not to mention completely on my own!! Anyway, at 8.30 PM, 07/06/2014, I find The Novotel I had booked, and I am I told there are no rooms left. Great. Just when I thought my luck was completely out, a nice young Dutch man, who's name I cannot recall, informs me that I have been upgraded to a suit! Amazing news! I just wish I could remember his name. My boyfriend arrived, and we checked-out on the morning of the 09/06/2014. In conclusion, the Hotel franchise, that is Novotel, couldn't have offered myself, or my boyfriend, a better stay. Thank-you, Sarah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham UK

Great hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: location, staff, bike hire, great design, modern and fresh
Cons: I suspect that bike availability is based on if they can see keys rather than an inventory, so challenge if sold out. Breakfast very expensive
Location: Opposite is the Amstelpark, which is beautiful and has a great restaurant (quite pricy) plus cafes and high quality mini golf. RAI station 2 mins
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel and bear in mind that I "live" out of hotels all over the world. It was one of very few in Amsterdam that could take a 3rd person, our daughter and her bed was a high quality sofa bed. The executive room was great and mini bar and movies were in the rate. The hotel is bright clean and modern. The staff were very very helpful and we dealt with many as we had lots of questions. We hired bikes on two days for 16E which is only 1E more than than at the local train station and the bikes at the hotel were better. We had never cycled in a city before and it was great, very safe, relaxing and liberating, so much so, we didn't bother with public transport! The location is excellent. If you fly in to Schiphol, a shuttle costs 33E and a taxi 35E (so get a taxi) or for 4E return, just get the train from the airport (you cant miss it, its in the arrivals area) to RAI station, which is only 2 stops. Walk out the station, turn right and 300m on you will see the novotel. Hotel has a café and good room service. Didn't try the restaurant although prices looked ok, although for some reason breakfast is 22E so we didn't go for that. It was the only area for improvement . Will stay here each time from now on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel with superb breakfast

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Stayed here with parents for a few days whilst trying to find accomodation in amsterdam for my internship. Great location for getting to rooms throughout the city and a great stay overall
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Convenient and close to the Airport

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: More tourist guide information should be available at the reception.
The facilities were good and the staff helpful. Tram and train station close by and a short 10 min ride into the city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Hotel in Amsterdam

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The staff was very nice and helpful. Great restaurant. I had trouble with the wifi but they fixed it fast enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room on the whole was very comfortable. However, the housekeeping has inconsistent standards. On certain days, they would provide new towels and remove the used ones. however, as the days passed, the towels were not changed even though we did not put up the to-reuse sign. The location of the hotel was just a five to ten minutes walk away from the metro station. However, when we first reached the bus station, we were quite lost and had to cross a very dangerous road. I felt that there could have been better directions to the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Hallee from Canada

Good Location near RAI centre, tram and metro

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good stay, loved the location for convention purposes and to get downtown. Room was nice. Restaurant not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rhynos from UK

Good for price

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
All ok. No problem observed. Breakfast was pretty good for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kurtz from Tokyo

A little far, but comfortable and friendly

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast, beds
Cons: It could use some new carpet, but it's not really a big deal.
Location: There's nothing to do nearby. There aren't even any restaurants. It's basically just a business park and the university. Luckily, there's a station.
I had business on the side of town, so I stayed at Novotel, which was nearby. If I were going just for fun, I would have stayed closer to the city center. That being said, it was very easy to get into town, using the nearby metro (#50 and #51 lines) and tram (#4 line) stations. With a chipcard, you can ride either the metro or the tram, depending on your destination. The metro station is also a stop for the full-size train line (Sprinter) that connects directly to the airport. This Novotel (there is another closer to the airport) does not have a free shuttle, but it's an 11-minute train ride costing about €4 to the Amsterdam RAI stop just outside the hotel, so it's actually more convenient than a shuttle, since there are more times. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, and they all speak perfect English. The room was spacious, bright, and clean, although the carpet was looking a little shabby. The bed was excellent. The shower was fine. Breakfast is expensive (€22.50), but worth it. The omelets the omelet lady made for me each day made me weak in the knees, and the coffee was perfect. There were about one million kinds of bread to choose from, as well as cold cuts, fruit, granola, ham, bacon, sausage... All delicious. One of the best hotel breakfast buffets I've ever been to. If you don't feel like a big (expensive) breakfast, they also have a little coffee-and-pastry counter in the lobby. Overall, I had a wonderful stay, despite the distance from town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Azahar from UK

Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, decent rooms

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is quite good when it comes to the food (breakfast was excellent as was dinner), the staff are quite friendly as well. The main problem with this hotel was that the rooms we were given were in major need of refurbishment. The carpets looked worn and there were stains on the walls and curtains. The bathroom was also tiny. The location is decent, being very close to RAI station and tram stops. The no.4 tram starts here so a seat is guaranteed. It also takes you through all the hotspots on its way to Centraal.