Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good location. 15 min walk to town centre

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Although this b&b is the bare basic it is clean and comfortable. Don't book an attic room however if you don't like stairs as there are in excess of 50 narrow steps. Good overall stay if you are happy with very basic accommodation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TT

Cute hotel and has everything that you need.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Location is a bit far from dam Square, however, still walkable. Inside room has everything including fridge. The only thing is no lift. If you carry very big luggage, may want to reconsider. Overall, still quite ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Leicester, UK

Great hotel!

Posted May 26, 2014
This hotel is fantastic, it is very basic (as would be expected with a 2 star) but the rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and it is within walking distance of museumplien and Dam square....what more could you need? I'll be booking in at this hotel the next time I visit Amsterdam
3 out of 5
by s.t from malaysia

When no other choice

Posted May 25, 2014
Room at rooftop, small bathroom, far from central rail station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal for visiting the plantage area.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Location, ambience, it felt safe, room facilities were great.
Cons: A lift to the top floor - lots of stairs - but it is very Amsterdam having lots of stairs.
Location: Great! Zoo just down the road, trams round the corner, plenty of eating/drinking in the area, lots of cultural sites nearby eg Resistance museum
We had a great time. The guy on reception was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Greenock,Scotland

Great Stay at this Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Away from the centre of town which was very peaceful at night. You were aloud to smoke in some rooms.
Cons: The beds and furniture in rooms could do with being upgraded.
Location: Excellent location if you do not wish to stay in centre. Only 10 min tram ride away from centre and 20-30 min walk. Right next to Artis Zoo.
My boyfriend and I went for my boyfriend birthday for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay at Hotel Plantage. The Directions on hotel own website helped us find hotel very well. The hotel is about 10mins tram ride from central station and about a 30 minute walk away if you prefer to walk it is a nice walk to see a little more of the area but I would get tram first to get your bearings. The hotel it self is what you pay for I would say it is a 3 star rating with steep stairs. Our first impression of hotel was what have we let ourselves in for but once we were settled in we were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in the loft room and were aloud to smoke. The staff was very helpful and friendly and you had your own key and can come and go and your own pace. The hotel is right next to the Artis Zoo which is a great day out. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda from Chicago & Wisconsin

Shabby, not maintained. Can do better elsewhere

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is great, but many other possible hotels and pensions for not significantly more cost. Plantage not maintained, extremely steep and very narrow stairs. In room - curtain off rod (12' high), tight space, weak internet, small safe didn't work, shower floor slippery, etc etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jon from england

Basic. Clean. Welcoming

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Made welcome. Room basic but clean. Bargain. Central
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2014
Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joseph McCarron from Edinburgh

Great!

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Simply perfect for a weekend stay!!!
2 out of 5
by flowerpower

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: New heaters, cheaper prices for what they offer
Location: Not close to the center
It was extremely cold in my room and when we asked at the reception they come into my room and said that they think it is warm although the heater wasn't working it was cold most of the time. I had to buy an extra heater myself for which I paid 50 eur. The hotel is way to expensive for what it offers it is not very close to the center (40min), very noisy when the trams pass and very cold in the room.