Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Greenock,Scotland

Great Stay at this Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Away from the centre of town which was very peaceful at night. You were aloud to smoke in some rooms.
Cons: The beds and furniture in rooms could do with being upgraded.
Location: Excellent location if you do not wish to stay in centre. Only 10 min tram ride away from centre and 20-30 min walk. Right next to Artis Zoo.
My boyfriend and I went for my boyfriend birthday for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay at Hotel Plantage. The Directions on hotel own website helped us find hotel very well. The hotel is about 10mins tram ride from central station and about a 30 minute walk away if you prefer to walk it is a nice walk to see a little more of the area but I would get tram first to get your bearings. The hotel it self is what you pay for I would say it is a 3 star rating with steep stairs. Our first impression of hotel was what have we let ourselves in for but once we were settled in we were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in the loft room and were aloud to smoke. The staff was very helpful and friendly and you had your own key and can come and go and your own pace. The hotel is right next to the Artis Zoo which is a great day out. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jon from england

Basic. Clean. Welcoming

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Made welcome. Room basic but clean. Bargain. Central
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Thanks.
2 out of 5
by flowerpower

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: New heaters, cheaper prices for what they offer
Location: Not close to the center
It was extremely cold in my room and when we asked at the reception they come into my room and said that they think it is warm although the heater wasn't working it was cold most of the time. I had to buy an extra heater myself for which I paid 50 eur. The hotel is way to expensive for what it offers it is not very close to the center (40min), very noisy when the trams pass and very cold in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Piper from Brisbane,Australia

Average stay

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Staff are very helpful&upgraded us to a bigger room on lower floor but without the upgrade we wouldve had to climb a tiny staircase to the attic room. Just arou d the corner wasthe tram&easy to get everywherebut youd be walking awhile to get anywhere if you didnt use the tram.The room wasnt really clean, there was something that appeared to be a liquid spilled on wall&benches &the decor very dated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ross from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK

Great for a few days in the 'Dam with some friends

Posted May 19, 2013
Pros: Location, spacious room, hot drinks machine, friendly staff
5 of us stayed in a group here Tues->Friday, had a great time. Nice location, in the quieter area of dam, next to the zoo, 2 min walk to the nearest tram stop which was great. Room was spacious, smoking was allowed which was good, free hot drinks machine right outside the room in reception was a godsend In the morning. Staff were friendly and helpful, no trouble coming in and out the hotel at any time with the key. Absolutely brilliant time had by all, we mainly used rhe room just as a crash pad, but was good to chill out sometimes, plenty of tv channels and there is a fridge in the room to keep your drinks chilled. Brilliant stay for a cheaper 2* hotel (don't expect miracles) , would love to stay here again. I would give it a 3* rating instead of the official 2*.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crap Hotel

Posted Feb 1, 2013
a contortionist would struggle to use the bathroom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from Leeds

Plantage, a nice, pleasant hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2012
Pros: The hotel staff, they were very friendly, polite and helpful.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: We staying about a 15 minute tram ride from Central Station, the hotel was easy to find for travellers. A no.9 tram from Central station.
My friend and I sayed here as we were taking part in the Amsterdam marathon. The hotel was just right for what we needed for our stay, size of room, facilities, etc. The hotel staff were also very pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Illinois, USA

Accommodates 6!

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Pros: Sleeps 6.
Cons: Slight cigarette smell although it was a Non-smoking room.
Location: Lots if restaurants steps from the hotel. Easy to walk across city from this location.
This is a very old hotel, but Amsterdam is a very old city. I chose this hotel because it could accommodate our family of 5. There are no bells and whistles with this place but it does the job. Beds were comfy, many restaurants nearby, easy to walk around the city from the hotel, safe area. Stairs are narrow and steep. We left luggage in the car and just took what we needed. Take flip flops for the bathroom as the floor gets wet from the shower. Parking was 20 euros per day and was located 15 mins away by foot. But it was secure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
The people working here were extremely nice and I enjoyed the coziness of the attic room we chose. Not the cleanest room but what I expected for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike

Not a family hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great hotel to use if you are young and wanting somewhere to sleep. But not really for families