Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Upmarket area of Amsterdam

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and courteous. The food in the main restaurant was excellent.
Cons: The lighting in the guest bedroom and bathroom was far too dark, very difficult to make-up, no mirror near plug socket for hairdryer
Location: Close to local food market, main museums and high end shops
Staying with a girlfriend visiting friends, great hotel in a safe area of the City, 10 minutes walk to the centre, museums and high end shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Decor
Cons: Staff need more training
Location: Museums
Great location. Trendy hotel with helpful if inexperinced staff. A little "shabby chic" but overall thought it was good hotel and reasonable value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very clean. The style of the rooms and the hotel was very pleasant.
Cons: I think breakfast should be included.
Location: Only downside: The hotel is located 4 km from the Red light district.
Excellent service and the staff was very polite. I really enjoy my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Don Zio from Naples Florida

Great location

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very poor lighting in the room and hallways, hardly could see myself in the mirror to shave, my wife had more difficulty to see herself in the mirror also. I do not understand why the could not put stronger bulbs in the electrical fixtures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful building and rooms

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was young and enthusiastic and eager to please. Great location, near trams, museums and restaurants. Great boutique hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to the museum district

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: A/a
Cons: A/A
Location: A/A
No problems and overall a very good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful and the little extras provided as treats were a nice touch. Dining at the hotel was an enjoybale experience again with many additional treats between courses.The college is an interesting building but our room was dark due to limited natural light and a window that was located high up and had limited function. The bed was comfortable apart from the headboard that was inclined forward and provided poor postural support. At check out care is needed checking any bill as errors occurred primarily with another guest citing our room number when paying for services. I would gladly use this hotel again and recommend to friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A lovely place with a fantastic restaurant.

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The restaurant and interiors
Cons: Trainees' work need more supervision.
This hotel is situated near a large road, a short walk from the main museums. The building is beautiful and interiors are stylish. The hotel serves as a practising ground for young people training to work in the hospitality industry; this adds to the charm in some cases and can be a little exasperating in others. Providing one is not expecting impeccable service, I would recommend The College, particularly for its restaurant, which is truly exceptional and comparatively good value. The rooms tend to be a bit hot (AC would not cool the room below 19C) and it is too noisy to sleep with the window open.
3 out of 5
by D from here

Good location rooms too dark

Posted May 8, 2014
Rooms to dark, lighting design terrible. Good spot walking to museums and shopping. Wifi was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely boutique hotel near everything

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We had a very good experience staying at The College Hotel. The young staff were all excellent and the room was quiet, characterful and very clean and comfortable. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and I hope to return soon. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and it is a wonderfully relaxed place with very friendly people everywhere we went. We would definitely stay at The College Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from UK

Great hotel with a difference

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, clean, quiet. Unique architecture/style. Efficient, unobtrusive, pleasant, helpful staff. Fresh fruit in rooms. Free wifi.
Cons: A brighter light in room (a common hotel issue), firmer pillows (personal preference).
Location: Museumplein and canal cruise 10 minutes easy stroll . Easy to get to from airport on 197 bus. Several good cafe/bars very close to hotel..
We stayed for 4 nights in April whilst visiting Amsterdam and Keukenhof.