Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harlow, England

Excellent location

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: -this small hotel has an excellent location, in the museum quartier, just about 5 minutes from the Rijksmuseum, van Gogh museum, Vondelpark etc., tram stop very close as well so is the bus stop where you get off the bus when you're coming from Schipol airport. - if you have the breakfast included you can have a fine start of the day. True, it gets a bit repetitive after a while but if you stay for no longer than a week, it should be good - hotel staff was polite, quick check in Cons: -the cleaning of the room was poor, floor dirty, beds didn't look too clean Summary: if want a good stay while in Amsterdam, with a great location, and your budget is low, this is your hotel! :) I guess you get what you pay for, it's not a 5*, but I would recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, rooms basic!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: The rooms... Need a reprint and air con!
The location is great, so close to tram lines but unfortunately the rooms are a let down. Scuff marks over all the walls, very small and in desperate need of air con. Slept very badly due to the room being so stuffy, with the window open its very noisy but had no choice. Spent as little time in the room as possible because of this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Godd and safe to enjoy falimies or youngs

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The building
Cons: She shelves and hengers in the room ans bathroom.
Location: Perfect locatuon close to Museums, and popuale squares and cannals.
Really polited people, nice clean and bright room looking to amaxing buildings at museums zone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Haley from US

Great Location

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location is great for museums and access to Trams.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Crewe

Excellent location, close to museum quarter

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: The staff!
Cons: Better lighting on the stairs.
Location: Close to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum.
We stayed for 3 nights and our initial impression was that the room was disappointing - very small and cramped. Fortunately we are used to holidaying in a campervan and it was quite similar but without the cooking facilities! Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the back of the hotel and I think there are bigger rooms. However, we didn't spend much time in the room and, in compensation, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was a good size. The breakfast was OK but you did need to be reasonably early to get eggs. What made our stay so good was the friendliness of the staff - they were always cheerful and helpful. On our last day the lift was out of order - a disaster because of the extremely steep stairs with very narrow treads. However, we asked for someone to carry our case down for us and this was done straight away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Elk Grove, CA

Modern, yet charming

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: We enjoyed the modern rooms and overall character of the hotel. The location was great. We parked at the Olympic Museum PR and trammed in.
Location: It's a long walk to central Amsterdam, but close to the museums. Take a canal tour first to get a good overview of the city!
Very close to Van Gogh museum and in a nice, quiet little neighborhood. Old bldg, of course, but they've updated the rooms with a modern feel and they are very clean. Breakfast lacks a little, but you can get a pastry, meat and coffee to fill you up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Donna from Atlanta, GA

Great location!!

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel Was in a perfect location for enjoying the museums and the museum square.The hotel itself is old and not as Well maintained as I expected for a Wyndam hotel. The carpets Were torn in the hallWays and I Was unable to move around the tWin beds due to a lack of space. The room Was hot and there Was no air. On the up side, the breakfast Was nice and a good variety of food Was provided.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim from California

Very average- no service to speak of.

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Booked Poet Amsterdam for a quad room for our family of four. The room layout was good for a family with a king and two singles. Bedding not bad. Problem was room was super warm and no A/C. Cleanliness not great either. It was actually very cool weather when we were there and I can't imagine how it would be if it was arm weather. Also another annoying thing was what I think were very suggestive photos on the wall of what was supposed to be a family room or quad. Service here was surly and from all desk people. Not a service oriented hotel. Location was close to Rijksmuseum and shopping area. Next time may choose something near the canals. Though they were a short walk. Also, stairs here are narrow, very steep and one mis-step could be bad news. Luckily the tiny lift was in order. Breakfast was decent and nice to have that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

close to museums

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice place but quite pricey.