Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC USA

Fantastic location and experience

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great location. Beautiful decor.
Cons: Room was a little small but really can't be helped based on building layout.
Location: Anne Frank museum. Lots of restaurants. Very convenient for public transport system.
My husband and I recently traveled to Amsterdam to join a cruise. We arrived early for our trip and stayed at The Toren. We selected The Toren after reviewing extremely positive traveler feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad we did. Great location! Beautiful, eclectic hotel! Would totally stay at The Toren again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Coast California

Very elegant hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Comfort, style, cleanliness, great vibe, lovely old building and great neighborhood. Great bar, good breakfast.
Cons: other than giving away free rooms, nothing
Location: Right on one of the lovely canals, adjacent to the Jordaan area (great cafe's and restaurants, shopping), short walks to virtually everything
From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and comforted. Even though we were 3 hours before check-in time they promised to have our room ready as soon as possible, and invited us to have complimentary (i.e free) welcoming drinks in their well stocked cocktail bar. We did! Our room was ready before we even finished our drinks and the rest of the stay was just as perfectly effortless. The staff was friendly, attentive without seeming to try too hard to please, and whenever we left or returned we were always welcomed as old friends. I always judge every business by the contentedness of the staff, and I'm sure this is a well run and well treated staff. I would recommend this hotel unequivocally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not sure
Location: It's in a nice quieter part of central Amsterdam, right on a canal. Really great location.
I had to pick a hotel in Amsterdam for a one-night stopover and relied on online reviews to do so. The Toren kept showing up among the top hotels. I'm very glad I chose to stay there. It's a cool boutique hotel in a great location with extremely courteous and helpful staff. I would gladly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

The perfect stay!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
My wife and I visited Amsterdam for the first time in August 2014 and had the best experience at The Toren. The hotel was very cool and the staff was the best we've experienced. They upgraded our room and provided one morning's breakfast for free without us even asking. We'll stay there every time we visit Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our stay at The Toren

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Staff were very accomodating and friendly. Customer service is obviously a priority there. Very nice accommodations. Air conditioning was fabulous since weather was warm and humid. Bar tender went above and beyond making us food late one night when we were starving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NWT, Canada

Wow, what a beautiful boutique hotel, great staff!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: We tried to think of something but couldn't!
Location: Beautifully located with access to soo much that I will let the other reviews speak to this.
Everything from the friendly/helpful staff to the beautiful towels and linens was perfect. The Master suite was wonderful to wake up in and the bathroom was so clean and we'll appointed. The bathroom fixtures in these suites are so solid feeling and the water pressure and temperature are both easy to control which is so important in some parts of Europe (especially the places where it isn't good). Everything smells good in this hotel (I know that is a strange thing to say but when you have traveled a long way and been in airports and trains a good smelling place is such a good thing). The bartender made us the BEST Gin/Tonic EVER and even shared his secrets to how he made it...I have now adopted his recipe as our favorite G/T on the deck at the cabin. Excellent location for access to all of Old Amsterdam as much of the beauty is right out your door. A fantastic place with amazingly helpful staff....loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, comfy bed, beautiful bathroom

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: the staff were lovely and the bar was very pretty
Cons: the view was not good - looked out to windows of other rooms which were very close. felt a bit claustophobic. interior made up for this
great bed. bathroom, staff and location. view not so great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel is terrific, beautiful and the staff are beyond description. SO helpful and kind. I stayed in two rooms. The first was very small and the second was larger. The first one was just a little too small to be really comfortable but the staff later put me in the next larger one. The location, ambiance, and particularly the staff make this one of the best small hotels I've ever been to. I will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Stayed in family room in annex. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, character hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: Great location, hire a bike.
Great hotel, value for money, good location. Highly recommend.