Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stuart from amsterdam

Great guest house in a pleasant part of town

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Very comfortable stay in a nice quiet part of the town, yet only a stone's through from the hustle and bustle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Saltburn-by-the-Sea

So glad we took the plunge

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Reviews may be mixed on the site for this guesthouse, but I would say read the conditions and you should be pleasantly surprised. I travel for business a lot and I know the comfort to be had from a predictable, albeit uninspiring, hotel room. You know what your going to get and so that's one less thing to worry about, and hey, some people like purple. If that is what you are looking for then go to a chain hotel. This trip was all about pleasure, we didn't know where we would end up, what the room would look like and I have to say that was half the fun. As it turns out we struck the jackpot: a suite of rooms over two floors of a traditional Amsterdam town house overlooking the Singel canal. The owners were very super friendly and helpful (and have a great antique shop to boot). I really would recommend to anyone, but I guess the thing to remember is that the guys who run this establishment are people, not an anonymous corporation, so with that in mind, drop them a line and start your own Amsterdam adventure
2 out of 5
by Pandatravel from GT

Not what I expected

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
They took us to another location since they didnt have any more rooms. The room they gave us is 10min walk from the actual Guesthouse The room was clean but not what we expected. The service by the Staff (1 person) was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected

Posted Sep 29, 2013
To 'check in' you meet at the antique shop and our guesthouse was about a 10 minute walk away, which would have been fine had we not had 4 suitcases. The guesthouse itself was clean, had a lot of space and was very close to the station and the Jordaan district. This place was great for a couple of days but I wouldn't recommend for long stays or if you have a lot of luggage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel.

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: Very convenient to the nightlife and red lights. An experience.
Cons: Our room smelt weird. It was also old, and we could see where the owners had patched it up. If you're on the ground floor, you hear everything.
This is not a hotel. This is a room in Amsterdam with it's own bathroom. You need to go to their antique shop (which can be difficult to find) and then one of the owners will take you to the room allocated to you. Ours was a 10 minute walk away. Having read the Expedia reviews, we knew what to expect and were intrigued by this. Yes, we still have our kidneys and other body parts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Harriet and David

Feel like you really live in Amsterdam!

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a super hotel if you want to have a real Amsterdam experience! My boyfriend and I stayed at Truelove for 3 nights while we explored Amsterdam. We arriveda nd following excellent directions, made our way to the antique shop. Daniel met us and was delightful and extremely informative. Our room was about a 5 minute walk from the train station and the Truelove antique shop close to the Jordaan neighborhood. The room was quite basic but spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. It was so close to bars and cafes that we were not limited with options to grab coffee or a snack. It was also really well located. The best thing about this room for us was how intimate it felt with the city. The apartment/room style of Truelove means that you do not feel as though you are in a hotel - it feels as though you are living in Amsterdam! We absolutely loved our stay and would recommend Truelove. It may not suit all people but as a young couple we loved the quirkyness and the feel of the place. Thank you Truelove :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim

In Love with Truelove!

Posted Oct 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had the pleasure of staying in number 22 and absolutely loved it! It was the perfect apartment to get the real feel of the city. Furnished in amazing antique furniture, the apartment had everything that we needed to feel completely at home. The surrounding neighbourhood was quaint and close to everything. We would recommend this to everyone and can't wait to stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
owners helpful but not a B&B atmosphere. price was good
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Nov 18, 2011
Very worm and cosy apt. Ask for BBW6 apt!
2 out of 5
by Blondinka from Colchester

Antique bed!

Posted Jun 4, 2011
The guesthouse is in an ideal location for getting to all areas of Amsterdam. For me though the Truelove Antiek will not be having a second visit. The guesthouse is run down with no reinvestment into the property - the towels were thin and scratchy, the bed was lumpy as a camel's back and the bedding mismatched. The stairs up to the room are steep, narrow and winding (as you would expect in an Amsterdam house) however no directions were provided for the fire escape and getting bags up and down the stairs was a pain. Thank goodness we only had hand luggage - the couples who arrived with HUGE cases would be stuck! The location though is the one redeeming element; handy for trams, boats and a twenty minute walk from the Central Station. I would not recommend this accommodation to older people who would definitely struggle with the narrow stairway.