Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Reasonable accommodation for an overnight stay

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: centrally located
Cons: Quality of the furnishings if one wants to be picky. But it cheap, and 3 star, it was ok
Location: Near Dam Square, near Amsterdam Central. Doesn't really get more centrally located than that
Needed a centrally located hotel, for a business trip. I wasn't inclined to spend a lot of money. I wasn't going to be eating there. It was simply a place to sleep. I got what I paid for
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crewe

Close to everything

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Minimal hotel friendly staff close to attractions clean bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Alright hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Alright hotel in a good location but sort of down a back alley. Loads of building works going on which woke us up early hours. Got there to find we had to pay a tax which I thought we'd already paid for the hotel in full. Rooms clean enough but nothing spectacular. You get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Aust

Budget hotel handy to everything

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Value for money, easy to get to.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the middle of Amsterdam,
Hotel was close to railway station, attractions, etc
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Antalya Turkey

3 night stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Include the breakfast as the charge for staying there is high
The only benefit to stay here is the location.The breakfast although good was 10 euros extra.I was promised a fan in my room none came so I had to complain.My friend and I were placed at either ends of the hotel even though we booked together-made worse by the fact that his phone was not working-we told reception but nothing was done.The check-out time on a notice at reception said 12.00 noon.I was packing at 10.45 when housekeeping came let themselves into my room and told me to hurry up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Tulip Inn is right in the center of things.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was helpful, and there was free wi-fi throughout the hotel. (The website indicated that there was only free wi-fi in the lobby.)
Cons: My only complaint was that the housekeeper who cleaned the room could have left shampoo for three people instead of one or two.
Location: If the hotel is not officially in the Red Light District, it is right around the corner. It is near Dam Square and close to public transportation.
The Tulip Inn was one of the few hotels to have a triple room, which was great for three travelers. We requested a different room after the first room we were assigned to reeked of moth balls. The staff member at the desk explained that due to construction, there were deodorizers around the hotel but changed our room without any further ado. The second room was more spacious and modern than the first, so we were pleased. My friends and I were looking for an inexpensive hotel, so we were not expecting four or five star accommodations. We feel we got what we paid for--a clean, inexpensive room. The staff were very helpful in making recommendations and giving directions when we asked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Good location. A little expensive for the hotel type.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but that's it

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Well for starters, the AC was broken. Wifi didn't work in our room. The bed sheets didn't even cover the mattress completely.. And the staff was unfriendly. If you can manage that, then enjoy the great location because we were able to walk everywhere from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

World Cup weekend

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable & amazing location
Location: Bang in the centre of Amsterdam, bars, coffee shops & restaurants galore!
Spent 2 nights here & was amazed at the friendliness of the people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malta

So & So

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The only positive thing is that of being central.
Cons: I guess it's not up to me to see were improvement is required as my remarks are clear and stated above.
Location: Central and convenient as a lot of restaurants and shops are nearby. Booking of tours was easy and only five minutes away..
Hotel is very central and close to Dam Square. Hotel was noisy during the afternoon as works were being carried out. Very noisy at night, guests were insensitive and loud. Wifi should be free at east at the lobby. The bedroom was extremely small with one side of the bed against the wall. TV set was fixed on one of the sides and could not be watched when in bed. TV was blurred and very difficult to follow.