Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Egypt

E.g it was a nice hotel but so far from the Subway

Posted Oct 2, 2014
So far from the Subway and the room was poor , No minipar, No bascket for tje rubbish inside the room, but the staff waa very helpfull really they were fantastic peope.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I like it and is nice hotel a quiet .

Posted Sep 26, 2014
I spent good time in amsterdam is nice place to stay and to have good time a the hotel was good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pretentiousness at its Finest

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The beds
Cons: A more casual feel, red colour scheme and some TULIPS!!!
Location: If depending on public transport, take Metro 53 from Central to Gasperplaas and walk south once there, it is out of the way with nothing local
Travelling from Australia to Amsterdam as a couple, we had no expectations on any place we were staying. After spending a considerable amount of time searching for the premise, we arrived in the afternoon. Reception was quite abrupt when communicating, feeling like we were inconveniencing them by checking in, let alone speaking English. The rooms themselves were very musky and damp. The beds were quite comfortable but the pillows were not. The drain in the bathroom didn't drain and filled the bathroom with water. The restaurant staff were very unattentive at first, we walked in and just got glared at. We asked to have dinner and the staff seemed very very shocked. Once seated, it turned into a very nice dining experience except for the food... The whole place, dedicated to Tulips, had a sunflower colour scheme and not a tulip in sight. It was just a very pretentious place which could take a step back and be a flawless mid range hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester

A reasonable stay

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The room was pleasant and tidy. Unfortunately the TV was faulty and could not be replaced, a change of room was necessary. The breakfast was not particularly appetizing, costing €15. We decided not to have the breakfast on the second days stay. About a 10 min walk to the metro to the centre of Amsterdam. There is just sufficient free parking at the Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester, England

Friendly and comfortable stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I gave the hotel *nearly* excellent as I couldn't in all honesty give it excellent. It was too far out of the city centre to be convenient for travellers without a car, and whilst Gaasperplas metro station is a straightforward walk, it still takes some effort to drag yourself there and back when you've been hoofing it around Amsterdam all day :) nevertheless, we chose the hotel and expected a slight travel in order to save money and believe we did. 4 days metro ticket €21 each unlimited travel (GVB network). We noticed the trams ran on GVB too but we never used them to test our tickets on them. Perhaps someone else can provide info on that. The staff were lovely, check in was smooth and service at the front desk is 24/7. I felt guilty that I don't know Dutch (last minute holiday and no translation tapes!) but I blundered in there like the ignorant English woman and they speak English so all was good. (Apparently Amsterdam has English as an official second language. Most of the townies spoke it, for sure.) booked a taxi at 11pm the night before we left, and it was waiting for us at 3:50, right before we needed to leave. Lovely driver too so good taste in partnerships there. Disappointed that the hotel room did not have tea or coffee facilities in the room. This is a standard in England, and I've yet to go to a hotel abroad and have no complimentary tea or coffee :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: -it is quite far away from the city but I think you need to be to be able to relax -a 15 minute walk to Gaasperplas station which takes you directly to the city within 15 minutes -had a room with a beautiful view of the canal -air conditioned -nicely decorated -comfortable bed -restaurant makes amazing krokets (must try!!!) -friendly staff, especially the main waiter -check out Gaasperplas lake and take advantage of the horseback riding -wifi is fast! -very clean room and bathroom Cons: -bathroom needs a tile renovation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel, short walk to public transport

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Short walk to the metro station and only a 15-20 train ride into Amsterdam central. Clean, spacious room, with free wifi and the hotel grounds back on to the riverside where you can sit and have a drink admiring the view. Along with having a restaurant on site
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great except the location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Lovely hotel, staff friendly, room spacious & nice breakfast. Location of hotel is not great. If you have bags it's nearly 1km from the station & a nightmare carrying them along the winding paths.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by avi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com