Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Anchorage trip pre-cruise

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location, free shuttle, great breakfast (included), nice staff.
Cons: They need to continue to renovate. The hotel website promised that it had been fully renovated in 2013, but only the main building had been renovated.
Location: Walking distance to a great local diner, Gwennie's!
The hotel was average - but since I was there to sleep, not to luxuriate, it met my purposes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Convenience to airport
Hotel caters to busses of Koreans who are pushy and rude. The hotel is dirty. At least half the amenities they advertise - exercise room, laundry - are nonexistent or broken. No microwave. We did have an iron but no ironing board
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff and Service

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The shuttle service and the staff were great.
Cons: The t.v. cable needed to be replaced for better connection and it would be great to have a clock in each room.
Location: It is a great close location to the airport in Anchorage. The shuttle service provided transportation to the train station and areas of interest.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was wonderful. It was on time and provided service to many areas around anchorage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice Hotel close to the Airport

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I was a little nervous after reading peoples reviews but was pleasantly surprised . My room was clean and that's the most important thing to me. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

What a mess!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Management and communication.
Location: We rented a car and there was plenty to see and do. Downtown Anchorage is a neat place to check out. We also traveled north and south and saw a lot.
They booked us in a room that did not have air-conditioning and you couldn't open any windows. Then they sent us up to check our a second room which was exactly the same as the first one. Then a third room. Those rooms were hot and musty and damp. We went through a huge ordeal just to get a room that had an air-conditioner and decent accommodations. It was in a different building. We stayed three nights and were charged for four nights. I was happy to see that after calling them on this they did make it right and put the money back into my account. I would not use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Much better than it looks

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The room was massive, and had a great view
Cons: in my opinion if they sorted the reception, hid all the stationery and stuff in cupboards and had the staff wear a uniform it would improve the image
This hotel looks like a bit of a dump from the outside but the room was great, the breakfast was great and I was perfectly happy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Good location to the airport. Very large rooms. Hot continental breakfast.
Cons: The dryers in laundry facility are lousy. Be sure to bring coins as there is no change machine and staff were unwilling to assist. Bathtub was old.
Decent hotel with hot continental breakfast and large room. Staff were not helpful and unwilling to provide true customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ST

Free shuttle to and from airport

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nothing nice to say about this hotel. It said it was newly renovated and with new owner... But still very old rooms and furniture. I had a huge room but smelled 'old'. I will only stay here for a night especially before or after my flight
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient to the airport.
Many items were not functional at this hotel, including the curtains. They were severely insufficient, and did not close all of the way. This is kind of an important issue in Alaska in late June, when it is light until 1pm or later. I had to fix the toilet several times. Coffee and juice were not available due to equipment issues on the first morning, Dirty linens were left on the room floor by the staff after the first night's stay. Wifi only worked sporadically. Other issues, but too many to mention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenai, AK

Really bad hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location was convenient to our car park and the airport.
Cons: Where do I begin? New carpet throughout; new beds; new linens; total renovation
Location: Can easily reach mid-town or downtown Anchorage for stores, activities
We were looking for a place we could check into after a late night flight and the Alex Hotel fit in terms of being close to the airport. The price was a factor as well because this is summer in Alaska and ALL the hotels in town, even the really bad ones, double or triple their rates for the summer months. Initially we couldn't even find the entrance, then once we did, the desk clerks were friendly but not overly interested in us checking in nor did they make the least effort to be outgoing. When we found our way to the back annex, where our room was located, the lobby we walked through looked like it was from the 50s and perhaps the furniture there was that old as well. The carpet on the elevator floor was totally littered and dirty. When we entered our "non smoking" room, it was obvious that it had once been a smoking room and they had masked it with a deodorizer. The carpet was stained and shabby at best. The bathroom floor was tiled but looked as though an amateur had laid the tile as it was a mess. Looked dirty even if it wasn't. We wouldn't take our shoes off whenever we had to walk on the carpet and two of the three of us slept in their clothes on top of the covers. An A/C unit in the wall looked as though someone had taken a baseball bat to it. No idea if it worked. We did the least amount possible, didn't shower and left just as soon as we could put ourselves together.