Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Much better than it looks

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The room was massive, and had a great view
Cons: in my opinion if they sorted the reception, hid all the stationery and stuff in cupboards and had the staff wear a uniform it would improve the image
This hotel looks like a bit of a dump from the outside but the room was great, the breakfast was great and I was perfectly happy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Good location to the airport. Very large rooms. Hot continental breakfast.
Cons: The dryers in laundry facility are lousy. Be sure to bring coins as there is no change machine and staff were unwilling to assist. Bathtub was old.
Decent hotel with hot continental breakfast and large room. Staff were not helpful and unwilling to provide true customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ST

Free shuttle to and from airport

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Nothing nice to say about this hotel. It said it was newly renovated and with new owner... But still very old rooms and furniture. I had a huge room but smelled 'old'. I will only stay here for a night especially before or after my flight
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient to the airport.
Many items were not functional at this hotel, including the curtains. They were severely insufficient, and did not close all of the way. This is kind of an important issue in Alaska in late June, when it is light until 1pm or later. I had to fix the toilet several times. Coffee and juice were not available due to equipment issues on the first morning, Dirty linens were left on the room floor by the staff after the first night's stay. Wifi only worked sporadically. Other issues, but too many to mention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kenai, AK

Really bad hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location was convenient to our car park and the airport.
Cons: Where do I begin? New carpet throughout; new beds; new linens; total renovation
Location: Can easily reach mid-town or downtown Anchorage for stores, activities
We were looking for a place we could check into after a late night flight and the Alex Hotel fit in terms of being close to the airport. The price was a factor as well because this is summer in Alaska and ALL the hotels in town, even the really bad ones, double or triple their rates for the summer months. Initially we couldn't even find the entrance, then once we did, the desk clerks were friendly but not overly interested in us checking in nor did they make the least effort to be outgoing. When we found our way to the back annex, where our room was located, the lobby we walked through looked like it was from the 50s and perhaps the furniture there was that old as well. The carpet on the elevator floor was totally littered and dirty. When we entered our "non smoking" room, it was obvious that it had once been a smoking room and they had masked it with a deodorizer. The carpet was stained and shabby at best. The bathroom floor was tiled but looked as though an amateur had laid the tile as it was a mess. Looked dirty even if it wasn't. We wouldn't take our shoes off whenever we had to walk on the carpet and two of the three of us slept in their clothes on top of the covers. An A/C unit in the wall looked as though someone had taken a baseball bat to it. No idea if it worked. We did the least amount possible, didn't shower and left just as soon as we could put ourselves together.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Dirty rooms, unfriendly staff, no AC control in "new renovated" rooms. Felt like a bad neighborhood even close to the airport. Would never stay here again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Talent, OR

Reasonably Priced Option

Posted Jun 27, 2014
It was OK but nothing special and the heating/cooling could not be controlled which made the room overly warm for sleeping. I would try another place next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful view and big room

Posted Jun 25, 2014
The only bad part was the air conditioning was not working in our room so it would get very warm in the afternoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and friendly

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice place, friedly staff, airport transportation 24hr, awesome hot breakfast. Room clean and big. Hotel close to lots of placrs. Only problem was room has no AC but you open the window and problem solve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tim from Homer,Alaska

Quiet and peaceful

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: I love the spacious rooms and the cosy feel even on the upper level it really quite comfortable .
Cons: The shuttle service needs some work on
Location: We'll after a long trip the quiet peaceful surrounding was enough to get my morning started in the right direction.
After a long trip it was refreshing to come to nice peaceful surrounding.the staff was very helpful when my wife arrived before I did unfortunately for me I think the shuttle driver went on vacation that day.