Ratings based on 757 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, AK

Hotel seems to lack quality controls

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Parking is nearby. The continental breakfast with coffee, juice, hard boiled eggs, muffins, bagels, dry cereal and waffles was free.
Cons: More management control.
Location: The location is nice, within walking distance of Lake Hood. There were a number of inexpensive restaurants within walking distance or a short drive.
The electronic door lock never operated properly. I discovered the door was not locking after making several trips back and forth to my vehicle. Management never got a locksmith to repair it as far as I know. Staff made several attempt to get it working better which did help . The hotel never notified me either when someone had come to look at the lock. I checked in on a Thursday night and left on Sunday morning. The refrigerator in the room did not work. The hotel staff replaced it in about an hour with a brand new unit. There was no "do not disturb" sign on the door or in the room. House keeping came to the door for the first time in the late afternoon of the second full day in the room. Some of the window drape hooks were off the sliders making it difficult to close and open the drapes. The room phone flashed the whole stay in the room. The red flash indicates there is a message. The message was for the previous room occupant. The staff should have deleted the message as part of house keeping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: location and price
Cons: They need at the very least, ceiling fans.
Location: Visited the "Fat Mermaid" bar & restaurant and great food. Very friendly staff!
It was very warm when we were there and they had no a/c or fans in the ceilings. Consequently, it was pretty warm and stuffy. Good bed and pretty clean. Reasonably priced. Location a
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Location: Thank goodness there was a McDonalds next door for breakfast.
You must give $100 damage deposit when you check-in, that is supposed to be refunded upon inspection after check-out. They charge $5 per room key if not returned when you check out. Hotel was smelly and dirty, stains on walls and ceilings, lights burned out in bathroom, sticky floors, slow drain in shower. Gross, will not stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sterling, ak... latrobe, pa

Posted Jun 5, 2015
For an overnight/2night stay near airport, food....excellent deal. Room well accommodated our needs and the one staff we encountered was very professional. Appears to provide long term occupants....night fall brought out many folks lingering.....overall, very pleased with service and conditions for short term necessity.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Close to airport with shuttle

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: location, staff
Cons: furnishings run down, smoke smell in hallways
Not what we expected - seem to rent rooms to local families/individuals, smoke smell in corridor even though a smoke-free facility, some yelling from one room as we were checking in. It met our basic needs - to be close to airport to make a 7AM flight - but we were not entirely comfortable there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Close to airport. Otherwise in great need of updating. We were in Alaska and light blocking curtains did not cover window. Hard to sleep with sun coming in. Mirror in bathroom was dirty. Overall, we just felt uncomfortable in the room. Shuttle service to airport was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the Ritz Carlton.

Posted May 25, 2015
Clean bed. The rest of the room, not so clean. Free breakfast was mediocre with poor coffee. Otherwise, this inn gets the job done for a brief stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Won't stay therre again.

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Good WiFi. Efficient airport shuttle service. Breakfast attendant was very friendly.
Cons: Hire competent housekeeping staff.
Hotel housekeeping service was almost non-existent. I stayed there for 8 nights and each day the bed wasn't made, soap was replaced, floor wasn't vacuumed and the bathroom wasn't cleaned. Towels were replaced every day but that was about it. The whole hotel was very "tired" and needs quite a bit of TLC. They were working on the lobby but much more work needs to be done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Stay on our way out of town

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The willingness of the people to make sure all your needs were taken care of
Cons: The rooms and the bathroom were a little dark better lighting
Location: Very close to the airport and the air park for the small plane tours
We came in from Homer on our way out of town they were very helpful getting our rental car back and then getting us to the airport. Very good service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks ak

Posted May 19, 2015
There was noise until ten pm staff was doing construction on the tile. They were cutting tile right outside the door. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and the gentleman who drove the shuttle was excellent. I didn't understand the breakfast situation I walked in to see what was available and the lady I guess staff watched my every move like I was going to steal something. I felt very uncomfortable and ended up just walking out. The room itself was outdated I was scared to crawl in the bed. But since there was no refund thru Expedia we ended staying.