Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under remodel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Generally the appearance is good but this past winter it has been under a lengthy remodel. When completed it should be an improvement. Discount should be given to stay under present conditions!
2 out of 5
by Ernie

Never again

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Nothing....all please know they are reconstructing and it is a mess
Cons: Everything starting with the front desk
Location: Well centered for all around easy access
Staff all around inexperienced unprofessional and unaccomendating, don't even look at you when they talk to you, won't spend my hard earned money with them. Darm good thing they don't work for me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Nice and spacy room. Enjoyed the privacy, staff was friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ray from anchorage

fine hotel in midtown area close to anything you d

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: clean quite
Cons: larger coffee pot
Location: location is great easy access to just about everything
stay was comfortable staff is great location good clean comforatable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful, affordable hotel!

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Very spacious and affordable. Was able to stay in a king bed room for only $150.
We have a wonderful stay at the Best Western Golden Lion. The room was very clean, and the staff was extremely friendly. The only complaint was that we were on the first floor across from the elevators and in the morning it was very loud with people leaving and coming by elevators, and the staff was vacumming right outside our door. I'm sure if you ask to stay on a different floor, your stay would be a 5 star stay! :)
1 out of 5
by Sparky from Portland, Oregon

Not what it used to be

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: It was centrally located.
Cons: The service, when we arrived there was 1 hand towel, 1 wash cloth and no kleanex (for a double room) and the floor had not been vaccumed.
Location: University, shopping, look at other hotels and drool.
We had two reservations, one for 4 nights through Expedia and 1 made directly with the hotel for 1 night. When we arrived, I asked if we needed to do anything the next day regarding the second reservation. The young man said "No, you are all set" . THe 2nd afternoon that we were there, someone from the front desk knocked on our door and asked us when we planned to leave as it was past check out and they were full and needed the room. We told her we had a reservation for three more nights. We double checked on our way out to confirm that everything was in order. When we returned that night, our key card did not work....we had to go back downstairs. When we checked out, they gave me the bill that was about $100 over what we expected. She had charged one night almost $40 more than any other. I pulled out my Expedia receipt and she got her manager because she had already charged my credit card. The desk clerk made a snobby remark that it was only $16 difference. The manager came out and redid everything and it was about $100 diff. Not once did she apologize for any of it. She kept making excuses for everything. I am in customer services myself and I told her when we left that since we had lived in this town for many years, we picked this hotel because we had dealt with them in the past but we would not reccomend them to any family or friends because she refused to accept any responsibility for the hassles that we encountered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good for couples

Posted May 21, 2013
This was for one night only, but the room was clean and quiet. It is in midtown, right next to a major artery between north and south Anchorage, and less than 5 minutes from popular midtown commerical area. The restaurant had a spartan feel to it, but the food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location in Midtown

Posted Dec 15, 2012
Great restaurant. Excellent chef. Room was decent. Ambiance was OK.