Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Has character, charming

Posted Jul 19, 2014
A very pleasant environment with old world charm. Breakfast is included and one can make ones own waffles. Fun. The room itself was great, but since this is an old building, the floors are wood and the elephant upstairs was stomping hard. I don't recommend this hotel for light sleepers, or ask for the top floor. Also, there is no air conditioning and it was quite warm the day we stayed there. There's a fan in the room. The breakfast area is the bar, and there was only one table that was normal height which was occupied. They had to rustle up a make shift one for my elderly mother who can't climb bar stools. However they were very gracious about it. I asked them to add shorter tables for the elderly for those of you out there. All in all, worth the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very happy. Right downtown.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Older hotel, but everything was great. Very convenient to the downtown area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Melbourne, Australia

Well presented and charming hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Greatr location. Nice complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day.
Cons: Only fault was a smell in the hallway. Minor issue as rest of hotel presented well.
Great location in Anchorage. Easy to get to and easy to access shopping and other sights.
2 out of 5
by Brenda from seattle, Washington

Had available room when every other property was s

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Offer more gluten free foods for breakfast. Price was excessive for what was offered
Location: Do not know. Arrived late at night, went to the airport to fly out when we left the hotel.
We arrived nearly midnight. Clerk said he did not have our reservation. After some conversation he found the reservation. This clerk was very helpful. He helped unload our bags from the car, transported them to our room, and offered a wake up call so we could put money in the parking meter before getting a ticket. Morning clerk was not helpful and seemed anxious to check us out. We took our bags to the car and came back to check our room. Even though we had not turned in our key, or checked out, the cleaning crew had stripped our beds and had linens laying on all the seats, making it difficult to see if we had left any property behind. Breakfast was not foods that a gluten sensitive person like myself could eat. Water for making tea and instant oatmeal was only slightly warm, not hot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Total disappointment!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Thoroughly disappointed with the hotel. They gave me a crappy, tiny room with a wall 5 ft outside my window, squeaky floors made it sound like elephants running overhead, and the hot water was lukewarm at best. I generally prefer old hotels to the newer sterile ones, but would have gladly stayed at the Hilton next door so I could at least see something outside my window and not be constantly tripping over furniture crammed in the room. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Honey Bear from Seward, AK

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 19, 2014
We really enjoyed staying here. The location being right in town. The history in the photos on the wall. The friendly staff. We will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristina from Palmer,alaska

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super convenient to downtown. Classic old hotel updated very thoughtfully.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jean-Keaton from Alabama

Great Alaskan Hospitality !

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was not the most updated but I wouldn't expect that from this "historical" hotel. All of the staff was exceptional!!! The history of the hotel and the decor was right in tune. I would defiantly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by VickyDino from Atlanta, GA

It is a bit old but still pleasing

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Staff are very helpful
Location: very close to the train depo