Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Solana Beach CA

Great hotel located in downtown Anchorage.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Great hotel for our first visit to Anchorage. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable facilities. Located within walking distance of restaurants, sight-seeing locations, Alaska Railroad terminal, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

I have not one thing bad to say about this hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Everything was upscale and lots to do under one roof.
Cons: The hallways were dark...I would add more light...but it wasn't bad either..
Location: Lots of foot shopping and great restaurant's walking distance.
We had an awesome time at Captain Hook hotel. It has everything and is run like a very efficient business. They had top of the line beds and linens...bathrooms with granite and rain shower heads. The rooms were quiet and had upscale furniture. Everything was comfortable . The pool and steam/dry heat rooms were very relaxing and clean and well attended. The pool and Jacuzzi was great along with a water aerobics class. The water filled to the brim with lemons was available and refreshing. The shops on the main floor were all filled with awesome items to buy or view. One of the best hotels that I ever stayed at and it had anything you needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ryan from slc, ut

Pleasantly surprised!!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The hotel was a jewel in the center of anchorage! Valet was on point and answered any question I had about the local flare... Fitness facility was a great mix between free weights and cardio. The food and beverage side of captin cook was perfect something for all pallets old or young.. Total recommendation to any and all....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Clean. Desk staff excellent. I would recommend the hotel. Nicest hotel in city
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amari from Anchorage, AK

Extremely Disappointed with Hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a reservation for a junior suite at the Hotel Captain Cook in Anchorage, AK. The reason for this stay was it was the weekend of my wedding. Our stay was supposed to be three days and two nights. I was just very disappointed with the quality of the hotel room. The hotel lobby and common areas were very nice and impressing. However, you have to pay $15 per day for parking, even with the discount you get because you're staying at the hotel. This may not be a huge deal to some people. I completely understand that but I was still expecting for what I paid for the reservation that it would at least come with free parking. Secondly and most importantly the room quality was just not what it should have been, When we walked into the room it looked cramped and old. The separate living room, that you pay the extra money for, was just cramped and not very comfortable to be in. When we sat on the couch it was hard and felt very worn out.The carpet worn out as well. The bedroom itself was alright. The bed over took the majority of the room. It looked comfortable. I never sat or laid down in it so I am unable to say if it was a nice bed or not. It did look that way though. The view from our room was overlooking the middle building of the hotel. So, the main view was the dirty roof of said building. The location is convenient being in the middle of town and all. We canceled and went to another hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location. Comfortable stay.

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Location, Room
Cons: Shower
Location: Glacier Brewing Company, Sleeping Lady Brewing/Snowy goose Restaurant, Girdwood
From check in to check out the staff and facility were great. The downtown location was icing on the top.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aslan from AK

Reliable comfort in a great location

Posted May 7, 2014
Cons: I expected free access to the pool as a guest of the hotel. We only used it for a short time but the charge mounts up for a family.
Location: Snow City Cafe for breakfast - excellent but book ahead, there's always a long wait.
Efficient, helpful front desk staff who were happy to extend our check-out time to our convenience, clean room with in-room free wi-fi (not to be taken for granted), great view of the ocean, excellent location - within walking distance of the best restaurants, often quite expensive but we got a good deal. Just don't use the parking service (park on the road instead) - it's more expensive than the rental car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location!

Posted May 5, 2014
Great hotel. We only wish that they spa facilities were more inviting. Can't fault anything from our stay and we would return to Captain Cook.