Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

End of an Alaska cruise trip

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: This hotel has a retro vibe.
Cons: It was a nice stay; however, we would have been more comfortable in queen beds instead of double beds.
Location: It was a rainy day, so we walked to the brewhouse, from the hotel, which was completely booked and busy! Good ambiance, however!
We stayed at Captain Cook because of its proximity to the Tony Knowles hiking trail, but it was raining so we couldn't hike as planned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Very nice hotel in Anchorage downtown

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: room very clean and comfortable, close to Anchorage coastal trail and a lot of nice Restaurants nearby
Cons: Have to pay for parking
We stayed just for one night, a stop point between Seward and Denali. Overall, excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

High quality hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The fitness club was a nice surprise, fully equipped with great smiling staff.
Cons: The price is a bit high but it was somewhat worth it.
Location: The Tony Knowles Alaska Coastal Trail is across the street, where you can rent a bicycle and go the whole way of 19 miles. Snow City cafe is a must.
Hotel Captain Cook is a well deserving four-star hotel. It's very clean, rooms are very well insulated, and the beds are very comfortable. It was the last night of our long trip in Alaska, and we had a great rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oaxaca, Mexico

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, stores, restaurants, room.
Cons: Not so soft mattress
Location: Great location right by the inlet, a couple of blocks from the Anchorage Tourism office (Downtown).
Our overall stay at Captain Cook was great, the hotel y very nice and the location is great. The mattresses to my opinion are too soft and couldn't rest very well. I've also asked for a late check out and they didn't grant it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

attractive downtown hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The room was large and very comfortable, with more than the usual amenities. There was a plate of freshly-cut fruit in the room at check-in.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and small shops nearby, and the hotel is walking distance to the excellent Anchorage Museum.
I was upgraded to a large suite on the 11th floor, with commanding views of downtown Anchorage and the Chugach Mountains to the east. Arrived too late for dinner, and the following night the Crow's Nest was closed for a private party, so I ate at a nearby restaurant, of which there are many within close walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Middle of the road

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Location: The Snow Goose has a great breakfast and is just two blocks away.
The hotel has a great location but is a little tired and could use a facelift. The staff was very nice but on a price/performance basis you could probably do better. Would stay there again but would not go out of my way to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Convenient and close to downtown

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Cons: Breakfast was a bit crowded but they held over an overflow room in one of the other restaurants.
Location: Tours of the city, museums and free city walks all just outside the hotel doors.
Loved the comfortable bed and quiet room. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yikes!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
So the stay was started out promising with the staff upgrading our room from two double beds to a jr suite because my 11 year old decided he was too old to share a bed with his sister. They said the suite didn't have a fold out bed but room to add two roll always in the living room area. We went up to our room and opened the door to the smell of stale cigarette smoke and not only saw old warn out carpets but a stained fold out couch. Found a bedding kit in the closet and called down to the lobby to let them know one bed was all that was needed. Unfortunatly I should of held off on the call because the bed kit didn't have any sheets and once a folded out the couch I found beer bottle tops inside of a torn mattress. My husband was irritated and I was starting to get a headache so we went to find food and let the lobby know on our way out of the situation and that two beds were required.. Got back a hour or so later to no roll always waiting for us. If it wasn't midnight at that point we would have packed up our stuff and left but it was so, I again called down to the lobby for the roll always, 20 minutes later the beds came and we were able to turn on the tv for a few minutes before bed. Oh no..the batteries in both remotes are dead
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
A little pricey, but was an excellent stay. Has all the amenities and was very convenient to everything downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Byers, Texas

The best we have ever stayed in.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The staff was perfect in every way. The checkin was right. The conc. went above all expecations that anyone could ever have. The 20 th floor was great(bar and resturant). I will stay there next time.