Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA

MY ALASKA TRIP

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING WAS JUST REMODELED AND PERFECT.
Location: THE HOTEL IS 10 MINUTES TO MOST RESTAURANTS AND SHOPPING.
MY WIFE AND I STAYED AT THE CAPTAIN COOK HOTEL AND HAD A WONDERFUL PRE-CRUISE STAY. VERY CLOSE TO EVERYTHING. CAN WALK IN 10 MINUTES OR LESS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mililani, HI

Hotel Captain Cook

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I liked its location, friendly service, great restaurants and shops, and a comfy room including a tub long and deep enough for a really nice bath!
Cons: It would be nice to have a hand rail next to the shower and a fan in the bathroom as well.
Location: Located in downtown Anchorage, the hotel is in walking distance to the Anchorage Museum, Anchorage trolley tour, numerous shops and restaurants.
A great hotel in downtown Anchorage with very comfortable rooms, friendly service and great shops and restaurants. The doorman had the door open for us when we were still halfway to the entrance. We arrived at the elevator after a bellman with a full load of suitcases had just summoned it. He insisted we go first and he took the next elevator. The concierge gave us great advice to take a cab to the airport instead of an airport shuttle because it was faster and cheaper (and he was right)! When I questioned a charge for a movie, the receptionist immediately removed the charge when we checked out. The service was outstanding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Great hotel, comfortable bed, amazing restaurant upstairs (Crow's Nest); best meal we had during our trip to Alaska. Superb seafood dishes and wonderful service. Service in the cafe downstairs was some of the worst I've ever seen and surprising given the overall quality of the hotel. During our breakfast there was a constant line of people waiting to be seated and half the tables in the restuarant were empty but filled with dirty dishes. They had 2 busboys working so I'm not sure how this was possible, but they were the slowest moving people I've ever seen. The waiters and waitresses took more dishes to the back than they did. We weren't in a hurry so this didn't really bother us, just comical to watch. Replace the management in the Cafe and there would be nothing about this hotel to complain about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

End of an Alaska cruise trip

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: This hotel has a retro vibe.
Cons: It was a nice stay; however, we would have been more comfortable in queen beds instead of double beds.
Location: It was a rainy day, so we walked to the brewhouse, from the hotel, which was completely booked and busy! Good ambiance, however!
We stayed at Captain Cook because of its proximity to the Tony Knowles hiking trail, but it was raining so we couldn't hike as planned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Very nice hotel in Anchorage downtown

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: room very clean and comfortable, close to Anchorage coastal trail and a lot of nice Restaurants nearby
Cons: Have to pay for parking
We stayed just for one night, a stop point between Seward and Denali. Overall, excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

High quality hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The fitness club was a nice surprise, fully equipped with great smiling staff.
Cons: The price is a bit high but it was somewhat worth it.
Location: The Tony Knowles Alaska Coastal Trail is across the street, where you can rent a bicycle and go the whole way of 19 miles. Snow City cafe is a must.
Hotel Captain Cook is a well deserving four-star hotel. It's very clean, rooms are very well insulated, and the beds are very comfortable. It was the last night of our long trip in Alaska, and we had a great rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oaxaca, Mexico

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, stores, restaurants, room.
Cons: Not so soft mattress
Location: Great location right by the inlet, a couple of blocks from the Anchorage Tourism office (Downtown).
Our overall stay at Captain Cook was great, the hotel y very nice and the location is great. The mattresses to my opinion are too soft and couldn't rest very well. I've also asked for a late check out and they didn't grant it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

attractive downtown hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The room was large and very comfortable, with more than the usual amenities. There was a plate of freshly-cut fruit in the room at check-in.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and small shops nearby, and the hotel is walking distance to the excellent Anchorage Museum.
I was upgraded to a large suite on the 11th floor, with commanding views of downtown Anchorage and the Chugach Mountains to the east. Arrived too late for dinner, and the following night the Crow's Nest was closed for a private party, so I ate at a nearby restaurant, of which there are many within close walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Middle of the road

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Location: The Snow Goose has a great breakfast and is just two blocks away.
The hotel has a great location but is a little tired and could use a facelift. The staff was very nice but on a price/performance basis you could probably do better. Would stay there again but would not go out of my way to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Convenient and close to downtown

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Cons: Breakfast was a bit crowded but they held over an overflow room in one of the other restaurants.
Location: Tours of the city, museums and free city walks all just outside the hotel doors.
Loved the comfortable bed and quiet room. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful.