Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oaxaca, Mexico

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, stores, restaurants, room.
Cons: Not so soft mattress
Location: Great location right by the inlet, a couple of blocks from the Anchorage Tourism office (Downtown).
Our overall stay at Captain Cook was great, the hotel y very nice and the location is great. The mattresses to my opinion are too soft and couldn't rest very well. I've also asked for a late check out and they didn't grant it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

attractive downtown hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The room was large and very comfortable, with more than the usual amenities. There was a plate of freshly-cut fruit in the room at check-in.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and small shops nearby, and the hotel is walking distance to the excellent Anchorage Museum.
I was upgraded to a large suite on the 11th floor, with commanding views of downtown Anchorage and the Chugach Mountains to the east. Arrived too late for dinner, and the following night the Crow's Nest was closed for a private party, so I ate at a nearby restaurant, of which there are many within close walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Middle of the road

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Location: The Snow Goose has a great breakfast and is just two blocks away.
The hotel has a great location but is a little tired and could use a facelift. The staff was very nice but on a price/performance basis you could probably do better. Would stay there again but would not go out of my way to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Convenient and close to downtown

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Cons: Breakfast was a bit crowded but they held over an overflow room in one of the other restaurants.
Location: Tours of the city, museums and free city walks all just outside the hotel doors.
Loved the comfortable bed and quiet room. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yikes!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
So the stay was started out promising with the staff upgrading our room from two double beds to a jr suite because my 11 year old decided he was too old to share a bed with his sister. They said the suite didn't have a fold out bed but room to add two roll always in the living room area. We went up to our room and opened the door to the smell of stale cigarette smoke and not only saw old warn out carpets but a stained fold out couch. Found a bedding kit in the closet and called down to the lobby to let them know one bed was all that was needed. Unfortunatly I should of held off on the call because the bed kit didn't have any sheets and once a folded out the couch I found beer bottle tops inside of a torn mattress. My husband was irritated and I was starting to get a headache so we went to find food and let the lobby know on our way out of the situation and that two beds were required.. Got back a hour or so later to no roll always waiting for us. If it wasn't midnight at that point we would have packed up our stuff and left but it was so, I again called down to the lobby for the roll always, 20 minutes later the beds came and we were able to turn on the tv for a few minutes before bed. Oh no..the batteries in both remotes are dead
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
A little pricey, but was an excellent stay. Has all the amenities and was very convenient to everything downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Byers, Texas

The best we have ever stayed in.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The staff was perfect in every way. The checkin was right. The conc. went above all expecations that anyone could ever have. The 20 th floor was great(bar and resturant). I will stay there next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: General impression and attentiveness from personnel at Bellboy's Desk
Location: Well located, particularly to the downtown area where tourism begins
This hotel is very conveniently located for tourism purposes. Personnel is friendly, cordial and very effective. Lobby and public spaces have a very attractive atmosphere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Solana Beach CA

Great hotel located in downtown Anchorage.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Great hotel for our first visit to Anchorage. Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable facilities. Located within walking distance of restaurants, sight-seeing locations, Alaska Railroad terminal, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

I have not one thing bad to say about this hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Everything was upscale and lots to do under one roof.
Cons: The hallways were dark...I would add more light...but it wasn't bad either..
Location: Lots of foot shopping and great restaurant's walking distance.
We had an awesome time at Captain Hook hotel. It has everything and is run like a very efficient business. They had top of the line beds and linens...bathrooms with granite and rain shower heads. The rooms were quiet and had upscale furniture. Everything was comfortable . The pool and steam/dry heat rooms were very relaxing and clean and well attended. The pool and Jacuzzi was great along with a water aerobics class. The water filled to the brim with lemons was available and refreshing. The shops on the main floor were all filled with awesome items to buy or view. One of the best hotels that I ever stayed at and it had anything you needed.