Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at the captain cook. It was a very nice retreat where I was able to get away and enjoy my weekend with my husband. Great way to relax after deployment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage

♥️

Posted Mar 9, 2015
♥️Love it have a perfect day with my fiance!!! Pool was great
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Captain Cook needs help!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Nice employees!
Cons: Management.
Location: Great location!
It took an hour to find bottled water upon our arrival. The lady in the lobby shop was out and no vending machines. No water in the rooms. YUCK! Parking is expensive! Two of three elevators in tower three were down, waited ten minutes for an elevator. Couldn't rent a movie from our first room. Sent up an 'engineer' still not working. Moved us to a room right next to the elevator. Guess what was working all night! The elevator right next to our room. I use to LOVE the Cook. A gorgeous hotel, but not managed well. They,re getting really cheap. Nice folks working there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location and the concierge
Cons: guestrooms are being updated and they are in need of the upgrade.
Location: Awesome location and good restaurants within walking distance.
Staff is excellent especially Brian the concierge. The only problem we encountered was a party across the hall until 3 in the morning. We called Security and they responded but just with a can you please hold it down. I was never asked on check out if my stay was alright or any follow up from my noise complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palmer, AK

Anniversary Getaway

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Very pleasing! Stayed one night! Room Service was available and timely.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene

Nice place, but no parking???

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I thought the hotel was nice, but when you spend $200 for one night and then they want to charge you $20 for parking? I thought that was pretty awful. Had to run downstairs at 9am to feed the meter. So much for a relaxing first morning of vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom anchorage

Captain cook

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The hotel was overall nice. What has me extremely upset is all the extra charges that were supposed to be included. The hotel charged me $20 a day to park in the garage and the would not honor the free breakfast since I booked through Expedia! Extremely upset and will never return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Great downtown location.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
The reason for the 4/5 rating is I had reserved two rooms for 5 days. On the second night the party in the second room could not access their room with their key. They had to go front desk and had to change rooms. Sounds like the recordkeeping on your end got messed up and we suffered for it. Other than that the hotel was Great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom White City, OR

Best Hotel in Anchorage

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Not a thing
This establishment is over 35 years old but has been updated over the years. The rooms have great views, a small fridge, and cable TV. The downtown location is close to a number of restaurants and tourist shops. It is a bit pricey but well worth it if you're looking for a top notch hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

An Anchorage classic (is that an oxymoron??)

Posted Jan 31, 2015
I've been staying at the Hotel Capt. Cook since the 1980s. In many ways the place hasn't changed at all over the years. It is maintained in excellent condition and the restaurant facilities and guestrooms have been updated periodically to keep them clean and up-to-date. I only stayed one night this time and had late-night drinks in the Whales Tail bar – which is now really nice sports/wine bar.