Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but not great.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Furnace in room did not work, staff came fairly quick to fix it, not fixed completely but good enough where I didn't freeze, didn't want to waste time having them come back up again. Restaurant and bar in the hotel so you don't have to leave to get dinner and a beer/drink if you don't want to. Nothing special about the place, would probably stay again, rate was pretty good for the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable room for price

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Towels, linens, and room were clean. Bed was comfortable. My only complaints are 1) there wasn't microwave and 2) on the morning of my check out there was a knock on the door. It was housekeeping knocking at 9:45 asking me if I was checking out and what time I was leaving. I told her I had the room until noon. She asked again what time I was leaving. This left me feeling a bit sour. A guest shouldn't feel rushed or pushed to leave. Check out is noon so give your paying guests until noon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inside is like a museum! Love all the animals

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: The animals
Location: Very convenient!
Always enjoy staying here! Very clean. Staff are very polite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel! Staff was rude! Filthy & run down

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Staff was terrible! Hotel appears to have not been cleaned since my visit 10 years ago. Do not book here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom anchorage

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Workout room in poor condition, carpet in hallways had a huge bubble down the entire hallway leading to my room. Thermostat busted in my room. Restaurant, bar and welcome desk employees were great.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle River, AK

Room was not a 3.5 star room

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The expedia price was good. it was on the first floor and easily accessable
Cons: See "your experience" above. On a night where few rooms are filled, how about you save the worst rooms until they are all that is left.
Location: Good location
We were disappointed with the room that we got at the Millennium Hotel on 31 Jan 14. It seemed to us that because we booked the room with Expedia, that they gave us one of their worst possible rooms. The hotel was not very busy on the night we stayed, so it was not due to a full house. We were assigned room 1005. It is one of the rooms that the hotel lets the Iditarod use when the race is happening. We heard that these rooms are scheduled for renovation after this year's Iditarod. Some specific issues we had with 1005 on 31 Jan 15 were: * The room was very cold when we walked in. The heat was off and the room was 55 degrees. * The toilet stuck and ran unless juggled * Wallpaper was pealing off * the sheets in one of the beds had holes in it. * the outer door to the mini fridge did not close all the way We have seen nicer rooms in 2 star hotels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

About Stay

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: The many displays of taxidermy of moose, caribou, bears...even a wolverine, lobby fireplace was nice with the rich brown leather furnishing.
Cons: Better info and guidance about room. Provide a couple of computers with internet in common areas. Room service.
Location: Near airport and there's a lake where seaplanes can land on.
Regrettably the two upper floors were under renovation. When asked for a quiet, scenic room, was placed in one that faces the back alley where staff retreat to smoke and which doubles as a spot for two renovation dumpster collection trailers for the renovation. A renovation truck with extendable ladder was just below our window with the ladder extended just above our window as they happen to be working on the unit above us. There was also no proper receptacle for the coffee maker, and when queried, was told to use the reinforced paper cup provided in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom atlantic Canada

A satisfactory experience

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: proximity to the airport
Cons: see experience above
Location: dont know was there on business and not for sightseeing
Hotel shuttle waiting at the airport when I arrived was nice. This was my first stay at the Millenium. Staff were friendly and welcoming but facilities seem tired - renovations going on and not before time it would appear. I was disappointed to have to pay for an extra night to retain the room until my flight was due to depart. Given Alaska's location a significant # of travellers to the lower 48 will elect a late night depature and would appreciate retaining the room until sat 9.00pm or 9.30pm perhaps for a half day rate - something for you to consider. may even be a selling point!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Tired but clean and confortable

Posted Jan 23, 2015
A classic Alaskan hotel with all the amenities, a professional staff, and good food in the restaurant. The hotel appears to have been built in the eighties and has not been renovated since. As a result much of the facility is tired and in need of more than TLC, especially the public areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

proximity to the airport

Posted Jan 19, 2015
very close to the airport. good staff and very helpful. facilities are old but i think it is undergoing renovation. good food specially the bison burger.