Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room Review

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Clean, New
Cons: Waffle maker for breakfast
Location: Hospitals are nearby. Very nice walking trails.
The room layout was odd. The toilet was in one room the shower was in another, which is fine, but I like privacy when in the restroom. The door was just a little sliding one. The restroom was in the middle of the room not off in a corner like most hotels. The room was great,clean, and the hotel is new. I just didn't like the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kotlik

Nice, clean, relaxing place to stay

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Very clean. The showers are fabulous.
Cons: Breakfast hours are limited, and even though I arrived before the official close, they had already stopped replacing items.
Location: There is a nice trail around the lake right behind the hotel.
Hotel is out at the edge of Anchorage, but that puts it in a great spot for exploring and hiking. They have a shuttle to downtown for people who like, and it isn't too far from the Alaska Native Heritage Center. I've seen many people complain about the sound of the doors closing, but it wasn't as loud as I was led to believe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China

Nice stay experience

Posted Jun 24, 2015
We stayed in a relatively horrible hotel before, so when we arrived this hotel, we felt so satisfied. The room is very clean and the stuff is very friendly. The location is next to the university, but I did not see the lake as it described in the website. And it is a litter hard to find since it is away from the main road. It is not close to downtown Anchorage as well. But we have a good experience overall and we will choose here again next time we go to Alaska.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by KassieMareko, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time out to complete our online survey and for giving us your feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your thoughts and comments. I do want to apologize about the inconveniences during your stay. We are very glad to hear that your experience went well and we are hoping to see you soon in the near future. Thank you again and take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great all around hotel

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: best free breakfast I've found. Relaxing, well-appointed hotel. loved the fire pit.
Stayed there for a couple days, found the rooms to be very spacious and the amenities suited my needs perfectly. the free breakfast buffet was terrific. will certainly be staying here for my next trip to anchorage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near hospitals

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Nice hotel, I did however ask for a quiet area since it was a late check in and I was tired, so I was put way at the end of the hotel. About 15-20 min later I could hear several people out in the hallway, not really quiet like I was expecting. That was my only issue. Otherwise the room was ok, the staff ok, and brkfst ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Front Desk Lead, Kassie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here at the University Lake Anchorage Springhill Suites through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that you had a good stay. I do want to apologize for the noise complaint. I do promise you that we learn from our mistakes and strive for the absolute best. We will learn from your feedback and promise to do better next time. We wish to serve you again when you're back in Anchorage. Take care!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Everything :D The room. The food. The staff.
Cons: Perhaps the doors to the rooms could have something done to them so as they close more quietly?
Location: A short shuttle bus drive to downtown and all the museums etc.
Arrived at almost 2 am and check in was very swift and easy. Breakfast was great. Lots of food to suit all tastes and plenty of it. I usually took a muffin and banana up to my room to eat later. Room was very spacious and clean. Bed was really comfy. Iron and ironing board for those who want to iron out their creases, hair dryer and soap, shampoo etc if you have forgotten your own. Small shop in foyer selling a few snacks. Shuttle bus came in very handy taking us downtown. You have to book at least an hour or two or even the night before and call from downtown when you wish to return. One time the shuttle bus was really busy but they paid for a cab for us, very nice. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Only downside was you could hear the other doors opening and closing in the corridor. It didn't bother me but, my friends found it annoying. I would thoroughly recommend you to stay here. Great value for money!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2015 by KM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time to write and providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the "University Lake Springhill Suites”. The entire staff appreciates your kind feedback about our property & staff. It is very important to us. I do want to apologize about the downfall due to the doors. Once again, thank you for your time and we do wish to do business with you again. Take care.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by christopher from juneau

1 night stay (business)

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel unfortunately I was kept up all night by teenagers running up and down the halls slamming doors etc. Basketball tourney in town. Walls are very thin. Nice continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by KM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and fill out the survey providing your feedback during your recent stay at our property. I want to sincerely apologize about the loud noise. I will ensure you that we will promise to get better. We hope to do business with you soon. Take care!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Room and staff were great! Only wish the temperature in the room was easier to control. Workout room was small but clean, breakfast was diverse and good. Decor was beautiful, with local crafts and modern styles. Location was within walking distance of UAA campus, and right next to a running trail and a dog park.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great feedback! I am ecstatic to hear that we exceeded your expectations and hope to be at your service again soon! Chris Racanelli General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage AK

A night out

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Cons: maintain the handicapped rooms better! i am not handicapped but was placed in one and it was not up to par!
Location: the is a lake, trails, a fire pit and the great outdoors!
Was Valentine's Day and wanted a romantic place to stay. I was booking online and seen a great deal for a hotel that i had taken my grandmother to stay in so she could fly out in the morning. the room looked so great the bathroom lighting was to die for there was a wall separating the sleep area from the TV area. The pool area was nice..........BUT when we book on line for valentines Day we were put into a handicap room with no room divider. the bathroom did not have the glass door and the romantic lighting.. we took the kids down to the pool and sat in the hot tub as the kids played but when i looked at the water there was hair and gross stuff floating all over and the jets did not work. i didn't mind the jets not working but at least clean it.. we were so looking forward to staying in a nice romantic looking room as my grandmother had stayed in but instead i have pictures of broken trim pieces laying on a wall and the window screen taped with clear packing tape.. what I had seen and what i was so looking forward to feeling and relaxing was not at all what I got! The b-fast was great! the deposit takes over 7 days to get back.