Ratings based on 803 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely remodeled and great food.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Very comfortable. Great dining room and lounge plus outdoor patio with lots of seating. The hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and well tended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from akron, oh

on a beautifully active float plane lake

Posted Jul 31, 2015
This hotel was under construction or remodeling while we were there woken up every morning weekdays at 6:15 - once at 4:15a right outside our window on an upper floor- we did ask to be moved since we paid for ten days and think we got the worst of it cause we used Expedia - we saw others Put on the lake side that had shorter stays and paid less - the parking lot was a big sty - construction debris and trash all over where they were working and with s lot of the lot blocked for the heavy machinery - little available on weekends - the restaurants were ok could not get a seat on the deck. The room was very nice and despite the promises and absolute disregard for our concerns by the desk staff - the housekeeping was very good- the lobby great with all the animals and the location perfect - near the airport but not a sound and none from the floatplanes either - don't stay until the have completed the renovation and don't expect any real answers/help from the front desk
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Urine on the toilet and awful customer service

Posted Jul 16, 2015
After a very long travel day, I checked in at 11:30pm. I changed my clothes and went into the bathroom only to find urine on the toilet seat! Since I was already undressed, I called down to the front desk expecting an apology and an offer to bring a key to a new room. Instead the young woman insisted she couldn't bring keys to me and that I needed to get dressed and come down to the lobby. I explained that I had meetings the next morning and needed to get some sleep and still she said no. She then told me she'd call me back but never did. I waited 20 minutes. This hotel was also under construction, which they failed to mention! Very disappointing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent location,

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, convenient location very close to airport and float planes. New amenities on the way.
Location: Several resturants in walking distance. I didn't eat in the hotel
Stayed one night on my way to a vacation outside of Anchorage. The hotel was in the midst of a name change and some remodeling but neither were any inconvenience. Shuttle and van drivers went out of their way to get me places during my short stay. Would certainly recommend to anyone. Good place!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Misleading and does care

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The restaurant served pretty good food even though the view was marginal.
Cons: Issues with the shuttle as noted above, the wet dog hair smell in the hallways, retraining of all of the front desk staff and more..
Location: There was nothing around the hotel expect the path around the lake which is why the shuttle was needed.
First thing is that this hotel is under construction, under new management, still smells like wet dog in the corridors (yes, they allow pets) and finally it is NOT Lakefront, in fact there is are residential homes between the hotel and the lake. Rooms can identified as "lakeside" or "parking lot side" so you look on the other side of some else's backyard to a glimpse of the lake. When we called the hotel the bus left the airport, downtown and railroad station without us. That's right 3 times we had to wait for them to go back to the hotel and them send someone to pick us up (there were only 2 of us and we called to confirm). Nothing like the front desk personnel laughing about the incident every time (must happen all of the time). We paid too much to get to choice between having the window air conditioner on to cool the room or the blinds shut so that the omnipresent light does not come into the room until 1AM in the morning (pick 1). Caveat emptor, we will never be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Friendly staff, good food, very nice rooms, lobby was very nice with all the animals!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Restaurant Service is shoddy but room was nice

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The room was very comfortable and clean. The sheets were vastly better than the Sheraton Spa & Resort across town where we began our stay (and left)
Cons: SERVICE IN THE RESTAURANT.
Location: Very close to fantastic walking / hiking / biking / picnicking in Kinkaid Park.
Although the room was very clean and comfortable, and the black out curtains were perfect, our stay was marred by the poor service in the restaurant. Note: while the hotel claims to have 3 restaurants, this is deceptive. They have one restaurant, with attached bar and patio -- it is 3 eating areas in 1 restaurant, best indicated by the fact there is just one menu. No complaints about that, however. But, when it came to service, the restaurant blew it. During the normal weekend breakfast period of 9 AM, when the restaurant was not even busy (less than a quarter occupied), we were ignored for 20 minutes, despite trying to flag down our waiter. We finally decided to move to another table, and told our waiter we were moving to the patio to get service. He said "ok" and nothing else. We moved to the patio (where we had eaten breakfast the day before) and sat there for another 10 minutes, getting up to pour ourselves more coffee from the server's station, which other servers clearly saw. We had the eye of several of them and no one said anything. When we finally got up to walk out, unhappy and hungry, we stopped at the front to tell them we were leaving and pay for the coffee. At that point, we were told, "the patio is closed this morning." That was it. When we pointed out we hadn't gotten service INSIDE before we moved outside, the main server shrugged and said, "sorry." Neither she, nor the other server beside her even offered to reseat us, serve us breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walk to the airport

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The current renovation is such an improvement compared to the dated look it had before. Nicely done! Love the barn doors in the room, and the king size bed was heaven
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Patio Bar and View of the float-planes!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Nice Patio Bar and View of the float-planes! Rooms recently upgraded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Newly remodeled hotel, close to airport

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The suite was nice
Location: Airport
I've stayed at this hotel for 25 years or more and it's always suited my needs