Ratings based on 791 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlsbad

great hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2015
great location, fun to watch float planes arrive and depart, great food close to all even got in some moose watching at the park close by
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kotlik

Rebranding only partially successful

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Location is close to the airport. The rooms are very clean and feel secure. Power for laptops and USB devices are easily accessible.
Cons: Fix the AC. Replace the "coolers" with actual refrigerators. Provide microwaves. Provide room service.
This hotel has undergone major renovations recently, and the rooms are all updated and very pretty. Unfortunately, they did not update the air conditioning, and the AC in the window of my room was probably as old as I am. They did not put refrigerators in the rooms, but instead put in "coolers". Regardless of what they were called, the one in my room was not working, despite several calls to the front desk, until the third day of my stay, and I was not offered any form of compensation or apology. The new toilet paper holder was broken, but rather than fix or replace it, they kept balancing it in place, which lasts only until the first person tries to use it, then it all falls on the floor again. The restaurant is fabulous, but they don't offer room service. The elevators are ancient and very slow. Overall, it feels as though they did not finish their renovations, and still have a long way to go to be competitive at the price they charge for their rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware, OH

Great view of planes taking off on the lake.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: I liked the view from our room and the staff.
Cons: I recommend that you add a free breakfast with an overnight stay. I think the cost of the room would allow for the free breakfast.
Location: We watched as float planes took off and landed.
We arrived very late due to missed plane connections. After traveling for nearly 24 hours it was good to come into contact with the young man at the front desk. He was cheerful and professional in greeting two very tired travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Cons: Offer a breakfast voucher
It was short, only one night. We also got in late but it was a welcome relieve during our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

definately not 5 stars

Posted Jun 18, 2015
I had a new room and paid $335 with tax. Did not include breakfast. Hotel was dirty and the hallways / exterior trashed. May have been a nice facility 20 years ago. Go stay at a chain hotel nearby - at least they will give you breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Peculiarly interesting

Posted Jun 17, 2015
The hotel is under reorganization... It has everything going for it; good location (situated on Lake Hood and near to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport), atmosphere for aviation enthusiasts and nature lovers, restaurant, etc. The hotel provides complimentary shuttle service to both Downtown Anchorage and the airport. If room and general cleanliness could be improved, together with better training of the service personnel, the hotel would certainly receive higher rating from the guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

they say they are done with the reno inside

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: locations
Cons: thermostat, air conditioner, phone
thermostat didn't work, a/c didn't work, window air didn't work, phone didn't work, complained about both, no other rooms available. they did take 50 dollars off the expedia price but in the end would have rather had a room that had a temp regulation we could use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

close to airport and where our event was

Posted Jun 14, 2015
although the motel was in progress of renovations, it didn't effect us. Dining was excellent as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but under construction

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Enjoyed our stay beautiful view and nice dining. Room smelt horrible like chemicals ue to recent renovations. Hallways full of construction debris. Overall nice hotel. Helpful friendly staff. But for true comfort would wait until all remodeling complete before choosing this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to airport.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Regular shuttle service to and from airport. Comfortable beds. Good bathrooms.
Cons: Food/prices from restaurant. No smoking policy in rooms or near ventilation shafts. Better communication regarding downtown shuttle pick ups
Location: Location is good if needing to be close to airport. Fast food nearby and easy to get into downtown.
Conveniently located as we had an early morning flight to airport. Shuttle service was great to and from airport. Miscommunication experienced regarding shuttle to and from city, shuttle bus wasn't at pick up point. Told by driver that bus comes every hour at pick up point. Other guests we were waiting with had been told the same, they called hotel as no pick up for nearly 2 hours and they were told that you had to call for a pick up. Our room smelt like old cigarette smoke. Dusty corridors. We were charged $3 for a cup of milk when we asked for milk for our baby even though we had spent $60 on room service. The bar food that was served from room service was terrible. As soon as we ordered it, it had arrived, not in a good way. Thinking it was old and then microwaved. The reception staff were helpful and friendly but we might think about alternatives if staying in Anchorage again.