Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a bit disappointed

Posted Oct 22, 2012
Pros: The owners are very nice people.
Location: Near a winery and about 20 min from Jim Thorpe
The owners were very nice .....to be honest the place was a bit disappointing....The breakfast was pleasant ...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice spot if you for real peace and quiet

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Pros: Nice old building but I did not learn anything about its history
Cons: Location is a bit remote
Location: On corner attached to nice rural post office. Older large building across street, houses on the other corners - a few houses but not much else nearby
B&B was OK but our schedule did not allow for much time with staff - the one owner I met was very nice but there was no extended interplay - there was nothing to do or open restaurants in the immediate area. I believe we were the only guests at the time and there are four or five rooms. The dining area was quite nice - continental breakfast was good but not noteworthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by George

A pleasant and comfortable stay

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the Blue Room. Very nice with a TV and an easy chair with a reading lamp, a writing desk and private bath, all clean and comfortably air conditioned on a hot weekend. Breakfast was at 8:30 AM and had a wide variety, from cold cereal to bacon and eggs. Hillary was a very attentive hostess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Chesapeake, VA, USA

Nice place for a single or a couple.

Posted Jul 31, 2012
Pros: Quiet
Very quiet village setting, even though it's on a state route, Breakfast was good and plentiful. The room was very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Okay for a last minute reservation

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband and I decided to get away at the last minute for Memorial Day weekend. We chose the Alexander Benjamin House because the hotels in Jim Thorpe, PA were booked. It was an okay stay. The host and hostess were pleasant enough. For a B and B the breakfast was nothing special (eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, bagels, pancakes, etc). We have stayed at other B&B's and the breakfast was much more elaborate. The room was okay. The television had cable, but only 13 working stations and at least 3 or 4 of them were the same channel. You could tell the towels were older and scratchy. If we stay in this area again we will plan ahead and try to stay at another location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Charming

Posted Sep 29, 2011
We are huge B&B enthusiasts. This is a charming old house. Clean and comfortable. The jacuzzi tub was a great treat after several days of travel. Only down side was the difficulty in finding it. While located on a main thoroughfare the signage is hard to see at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, DE

A bit out of the way, but a good value!

Posted Jun 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
My partner and I stayed here as we were planning a biking/hiking/white water rafting weekend in nearby Jim Thorpe. Although the hotel was about 20 minutes driving from there, it was situated in a quiet little town and we actually enjoyed the scenic drives to and from Jim Thorpe. The service was excellent and the owner was attentive and friendly. Our room was cozy, quaint, and clean (like staying at a rich grandma's house). Breakfasts, served at 8:30 am, were home-made and served in the downstairs dining room. The only drawbacks that I can think of were that our room (the Lavender room) had a shower instead of tub/shower combo, and our mobile phones (Verizon and ATT) kept losing signals there (However, the inn provided free WiFi, so if you have a smartphone, this wouldn't be a problem). Otherwise, we were well treated and enjoyed the quiet, friendly atmosphere! This hotel is a pleasant place to stay and, in our opinion, a good value, especially for mature couples or people who aren't traveling with children and who prefer a more quiet, rustic, and personal setting when they travel.