Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL.

Great experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. I believe the hotel was completely booked as there were a few things happening in town that weekend. That being said, staff was responsive and didn't make you feel like they had a lot going on when they likely did. Breakfast was good and they did a good job making sure everything was stocked as there were a lot of people getting breakfast. The food room is a bit tight when you have people waiting on the waffle maker or toaster oven, but guests handled it well and we weren't bothered by it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Wyandotte, MI

Simple but nice

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Quiet, well maintained, near to campus and the expressway.
Cons: Parking lot could use a repave - but compared to the rest of the roads in Ann Arbor, it wasn't all that bad.
Location: University of Michigan
We had a large, comfortable room. We were a little concerned that there were a large number of high school students staying the night before a tournament at the University, but the room was quiet and after about 10 p.m. we never heard them. The free breakfast was crowded (thanks to the students) but plentiful and excellent. A great experience.
2 out of 5
by Frank from Ohio

Disappointing

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice. Breakfast was good.
Let me first say that we stay at Hampton Inn's often when traveling for an overnight stay. Never had issues until now. As we approached the room on the first floor the carpet in the hallway smelled medicinal. Upon entering the room, it had to be 80 degrees although the thermostat read 71. We set it in the 60's but took it hours for the room to become comfortable. Around 7am there was lot's of noise outside our room which woke us up and lasted for over an hour. The TV also didn't work which I found out when I tried to use it to check out. We've had nothing but good experience's with Hampton Inn's in the past, just not this one. Someone from corporate needs to straighten this place out. When we return to Ann Arbor we'll be staying elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No pool!!! Noisey construction!!!!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
No pool! It is under construction that no one tells you until check in!!! And the NOISE NOISE NOISE!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mi

Very disappointed at a Hampton

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Walked in and was told the pool was closed. Expedia did not mention that. Pull out couch had used dirty sheets on it. Hairdryer low speed didn't work. Breakfast wasn't hot. Not a very good selection. Morning staff acted like they didn't want to be there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to campus, shopping, and interstate

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Stay was good. Stay mostly met expectations. A few reasons why I didn't rate excellent. Why do the north and south hotels have different rates when the south was being remodeled? We struggled to figure out a way to get the r.oom temperature to the cool temperature we desired, but did come up with the setting needed. The lotion, shampoo, and conditioner bottles are terrible! You have to hit them hard to get anything out. Please change! We had our bathing suit, but the pool was being remodeled. We were not aware of that when we made reservations. Staff was great. Breakfast was as expected when staying at Hampton. Appreciate that it is the same everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Ann Arbor

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The staff. Luci at the breakfast bar was EXCELLENT!
Cons: Better signs online stating that the pool was not in order.
Location: Michigan sports (basketball, football, volleyball). Great restaurants in the village.
We stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor South and it was a pleasant place. The staff were the reason I am giving it a good review. The hotel itself is dated and it was small. The kitchen where the breakfast was served could not accomodate the amount of people that were there. The room was also small with a tiny bathroom. We didn't stay too long in the room because we went to a basketball game and meandered all over Ann Arbor so it was fine. I put a 2 on the condition of the hotel because of the size and also because the pool was not in use. My daughters were very disappointed with this. I know we could have complained to the front desk and gotten a 100% refund but we did not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rebecca from Pennsylvania

Temperature issues

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's hard to leave with a great impression after two nights of not being able to sleep due to temperature issues. The duvet & HVAC combination just didn't work. Even with the temperature set to freezing, we were sweating under the duvet. Further, though we could "set" the temperature, there was no readout as to what the *actual* temperature in the room was—no feedback to the unit, meaning that we fiddled with the unit every few hours that we woke up. I've previously given this place five stars, and specifically selected it for this trip due to previous positive experiences, including a good breakfast and generally comfortable beds and super comfortable pillows. This time there was just no way over either of the two nights to make the temperature in the room sleep-able.
2 out of 5
by Scott from MI

The Bed comforter

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Cons: Laundry!
Location: Good location
It stunk so bad like B.O. Did not sleep well!