Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Three Rivers, Mi

Hotel from H***

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The continental breakfast is one of two saving graces of this hotel
Cons: Tear it down and start over!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: It is well located to anything you could want to do.
When we check in the women behind the counter was very friendly and helpful, she even suggested a couple of good places to eat. When we walked into our room on first site it looked great. We went to make coffee to enjoy and relax for a bit before supper, NIGHTMARE begins. Pulled the coffee pot out to get water and the filter fell off, mind you this is a swinging filter you just put coffee in. We can work around this! Went and got water the bathroom felt like an ice box. Got our water poured it into the back of the coffee pot and had to hold the whole thing together just to get it to work. After opening the bathroom (the ice box) it started getting cold in the room so we went to turn the heater unit on and the cover fell off onto the floor. Then we noticed that our room was also storage for pictures they did not know what to do with. Ok minor problems, so far! When we needed to use the toilet we noticed debris on the bottom of the bowl. Turned around and there was trash behind the door. The toilet bolt caps were laying on the floor. Shower time was a JOKE. The water alternated from hot to cold like a heart beat, hot cold hot cold hot etc........ This is not to mention the condition of shower and bathroom floor with all the tile chips and cracks. When we went to check out I told the desk attendant about our problems and showed her pictures and she nonchalantly said "We are remodeling you have to expect some problems!"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in Ann Arbor

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Cheap, nice well kept, good staff
Cons: Nothing really. It was just old style but that is just the style of the motel.
It was a nice motel, little bit old as you may expect from the name. Staff was nice. Rooms were clean and well kept but the structure was old style. Nothing bad but was just different (e.g they still have room keys). No iron or ironing board in the room. There was a microwave and refrigerator. Overall, it was nice. 10 min from University of Michigen. The neighborhood was also nice with few restaurants and many of the routine stores.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Nicely located but need updates

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities upgrading
Location: Convenient location. Close to University of Michigan
Bathroom fixtures are just too old and need updates. Breakfast offered is not pleasing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Trader Joe's and bus stop

Posted Dec 13, 2014
In general, I had a very good stay in Lamp Post Inn for 5 days. It is a decent place to stay at low price. I would recommend this place. Pros: Staff are friendly, the room is clean and warm. Bed is comfortable. Very convenient location which is close to Trader Joe's and a bus stop on Route 4 Cons: No restaurant in walking distance. Bathroom is small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brookfield, IL

Thoughtful staff, great location

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Darling room with vintage bath, pretty breakfast room (continental breakfast), and helpful down-to-earth staff. Steps to a pharmacy, laundromat, a premium coffee shop, and a Trader Joe's. Easy to find from the highway, yet in a good neighborhood for a morning jog. Close to U of M stadium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Blanc

Decent, Inexpensive Motel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
For the price, the room was good. It was clean, but the decor could use updating. Nothing fancy, but affordable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Troy, MI

Comfortable and affordable

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: My room felt comfortable and homely, and pretty affordable. Everything worked.
Cons: Improvements to bathroom (water pressure) would be nice but not deal breaker for me.
Location: Location is pretty close to Barnes and Noble, some fast food and diners, and there's always something to do by going north/west further in Ann Arbor.
I needed to stay in Ann Arbor overnight, and I found this hotel to be quite comfortable and inexpensive especially compared to other available options in or around the city. The heating worked and kept the room comfortably warm in late November. The room and bed were all very clean and well made. Bathroom looked a little old but everything worked. Only complaint was that my room's toilet seemed to have low water pressure while flushing. It took me a while to figure out how the shower worked; I kept turning the handle without realizing it needed to be pulled, so just a FYI. Staff was friendly as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Perfectly good place to stay for cheap.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: It's right next to Trader Joe's, and right on a bus route. For those of us doing the motel-without-a-car thing, these are huge bonuses.
Cons: I wish there were a bathtub instead of just a shower, but otherwise, no complaints.
Location: Beside Trader Joe's, on a bus route, big park nearby, 15 minutes to downtown on transit (though the bus only runs until around 6pm on weekends).
Nice staff, clean rooms, and reasonably comfortable beds. Shabby decor, including the same landscape print above both beds, but good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

It is conveniently located.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The beds were very comfortable. The staff was accommodating. The location met our needs.
Cons: The furnishings, bedding and decor all need to be updated. Need to be able access the internet in the room. It was only available in the lobby area.
Location: Great access to the university. Good shopping at Arbor Hills shopping center; Whole Foods, Trader Joe's and restaurants for every taste and budget.
The hotel is close to the UM Central Campus, a variety of unique restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful. None of the few rooms that have been renovated were available. The rooms are very worn and dreary. The bathrooms are outdated. We asked to see a couple of rooms because the reviews we had read suggested that they are often found to be dirty, with trash left in the rooms. We were relieved to find that the rooms we saw were very clean, and the bathrooms were very clean. New owners are obviously trying to begin a renovation, that when completed, will make the hotel an attractive and reasonable place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

Perfect for visitors to campus

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Certainly not the most luxurious hotel, but more than a great deal for the price. Everything worth seeing in Ann Arbor was 5-10 minutes away. No problems with staff or room itself. Will only get better as they continue renovations. Will stay there again next time we're in town!