Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No power, No AC, No Lights, and No Refund

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The power went out completely during the second night due to a storm, and it stayed out, even though other parts of Ann Arbor recovered or were unaffected. Many people left the hotel that night or early the next morning, some, I think, without paying. But I had prepaid through Expedia, so I didn't have that option. I had to stick it out, without air conditioning or any electricity, in the Michigan summer heat. When I checked out the following morning (still no power), the registration clerk seemed surprised (and grateful) that I even bothered -- my impression is that many people were just skipping out without paying for their stay -- but the hotel didn't offer me a refund or any form of compensation, or bother to bring in coffee and pastries for me or the other folks who stuck it out. The young staff were courteous and doing the best they could with a bad situation, and I have no complaint about them -- but my impression is that management doesn't give them much leeway to do anything nice that might cost the hotel a dime. So I don't recommend the hotel (even though the beds were comfortable), and I'm not at all sure that I'll do another Expedia booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 days in the dark

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Cons: install power backup
There was no power due to a storm for the last 2 days of our stay. We had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs -- no elevator. We had to grope around in the dark. I am waiting to hear from hotel mamagement about compensation for our exterme inconvenience. The hotel had no back up systems. I checked out on sunday (9/7/14) and it is wednesday (9/10/14) and I still have not heard from Management. Should I be persuing this through expedia?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

No Electricity for entire stay

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The power went out in the hotel on Friday night and when I left on Sunday it was still not back on. The staff didn't really seem too bothered about the problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night without light! without hot water...without

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: 1. Location to Briarwood Shopping Mall 2. Location to Michigan Flyer bus
Location: Mall and bus transportation.
I made my reservation about three weeks ago. How perfect! I would take the Michigan Flyer Bus from East Lansing to Ann Arbor, and it stop right at the Kensington Court Hotel. How convenient is that! And, the wedding I would be attending would be held at the Kensington Court. Wrong! No electricity all night. No shower for this guest. It was not the hotel's fault that the electricity was out for two nights, but...I thought forward thinking hotels would have a generator! The staff was as pleasant as could be under the circumstances...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Noise issue

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Some of the rooms have a hard and bumpy tile hallway on one side and any carts, rolling luggage etc make a LOT of noise so it's difficult to sleep. They should either put in a smooth floor or carpet it. Otherwise the hotel is serviceable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinky room

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Hotel is dated. Old mattress and pillows. The room smelled musty. Restaurant was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The channels on the television were not fully oper

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: It was well located with little room noise.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above
The channels on the television were no fully operational. The repairs were slow in completion, and the soap was far too small. Finally the staff was short and could not provide a zero balance for my stay despite the fact they had taken a hold on my card for incidentals.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was fine...sort of

Posted Aug 5, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

Perfect location for where I needed to be

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: clean
Cons: bigger bathrooms
Location: lots of food places and shopping
clean and friendly hotel. close to where I needed to be. I was in town for my niece's white coat ceremony at Univeristy of Michigan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very hospitable!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
The staff is wonderful. They were dedicated in providing us for the requests we made.