Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Business trip

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Very good hotel for business and very good location for amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Al, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here on Expedia. We are, as you said, in a great location just across the street from Briarwood Mall and just minutes from Downtown Ann Arbor. We are so happy you chose to stay with us, and hope that you made it home safely to Vancouver.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor! We appreciate the time you took to give us a 4 star rating. Please feel free to come back and visit us soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Wilmington, DE

Prstine Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel must be brand new because everything was pristine. Staff was very friendly and the hotel had an upbeat vibe with bright splashes of color. Room was well equipped and laid out differently...but in a good way!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Andrew, thank you so much for your kind review! The TownePlace Suites just turned 2 years old this past month, and it's great to know that guests notice the clean and pristine condition that our team works hard to keep. We definitely appreciate the gracious compliments on the service you received as we believe in exceeding our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again soon when you return back to Ann Arbor
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newer basic hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Stayed for a football weekend. Staff was great. Rooms and facilities were new, clean, but otherwise pretty basic. Breakfast was nothing special. Work out room was too small with too few machines (e.g., no bike). I guess the key point is for such a basic place, on the outskirts of town, the cost was way too high. Granted it was a football weekend. But $818 for three nights stay was too much for this type of place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your honest review regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations here at the TownePlace Suites. We are one of the newest hotels in the Ann Arbor area and set our rates competitively with other comparable hotels in the area. The rates do fluctuate when demand increases due to special events like festivals and University of Michigan Football games. While we are not located right in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor, it is a rather short 5 to 10 minute drive away. We are also conveniently located next door to Briarwood Mall, which makes it very convenient for shopping during the weekends, and have many great restaurants located in the immediate area. Your feedback is important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing it with us. We are definitely always looking for ways to improve, and hope that you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty as a guest on your return visit to Ann Arbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RASfrom Ann Arbor

Good Choice

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel concept by Marriott. Rooms were well laid out with nice features. Hotel staff was great both at check-in and during the morning breakfast. Only complaint, the HVAC unit in the room was very loud when it ran and it rattled every time it came on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor. We are so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations with our staff service. I do, however, want to offer my warmest apologies regarding the HVAC unit in your room. I know that I, myself, typically run the unit whenever I travel to make some noise while I sleep, but not to the point where it wakes me up. So I can definitely understand how this could be bothersome. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your return trip to Ann Arbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ryanfrom Erie, PA

Great Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very clean and comfortable hotel. Front desk staff was extremely friendly, which is very nice. Location is convenient to shopping and the highways, just a simple and short drive into Ann Arbor and the U of M campus. Having the kitchen feature in the room is very nice for a stay of more than one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your gracious compliments about your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor. I am so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. I do have to agree that being right next door to the Briarwood Mall makes shopping rather convenient, which just a short 5-10 minute drive to University of Michigan and Downtown Ann Arbor. The kitchenettes with the full-sized refrigerator most definitely cannot be beat, and is one of my favorite features of the rooms. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to Ann Arbor for a future visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhinebeck, NY

Very Nice Stay Overall

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable beds!!!
Cons: More heat in the pool!!! I shouldn't feel like I am going to get a chest cold from swimming, and that was how it felt...icy cold!
Location: Crazy Wisdom Bookstore is the gem of Ann Arbor!
Overall our stay was very nice, the room very comfortable and the staff quite pleasant. I only wish the swimming pool was not so cold. It seems for the price they could turn up the heat and have a well heated pool. Other than that one issue, our stay was wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor. We are so delighted that you found the staff to be pleasant and that your room was comfortable. I did read in your review that you were unhappy with the temperature of the pool. I do want to offer my warmest apologies that we fell below your expectations in this area of your stay. We do keep the pool temperature around 83 degrees as we have to adhere to regulations for pools set by our local health department. We want to thank you for your honest feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future on your return visit to the Ann Arbor area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurence

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, Laurance! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will consider staying again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, Utah

Friendly Staff and Great Perks

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable bed, extra amenities in room.
Cons: Placement of tv and shower pressure. Also, let customers know that the "king-sized beds" are not true kings.
Location: There is a mall with a lot of major brand name stores right across the street. Restaurants nearby. Univ. of Mich. stadium is about a mile away.
Stayed 4 nights in Sept. during the Univ. of Michigan vs Univ. of Utah game. Despite the hotel being very full, all the staff were personable, friendly, and helpful. Room came with fully equipped kitchen: full-size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, 2-burner stove, and pots, pans, dishes, glasses, and silverware. Work desk included a pull out table. Room was not large but comfortable. We reserved a king bed but it was not a standard size king (we measured it). It was more like a large queen. Girl at front desk said it was probably a hotel king (??) It was still very comfortable though. Shower could have used a little more pressure but bathroom was very nice. Main complaint was that the tv, which was on the smallish side, was off to the side of the bed which caused a crick in my neck after watching for a little while. Great place to stay though, especially if you're there for awhile and want to cook.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indonesia

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Overall is good, but it is a bit pricey, considering the location that is not exactly downtown or close to campus at Ann Arbor. The only close thing within walking distance from the hotel is the Briarwood Mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor on Expedia. It seems that we have fallen short of your expectations, and I do want to offer my warmest apologies. The TownePlace Suites is one of the newest hotels in Ann Arbor, and we set our rates rather competitively with other comparable hotels in the area. Rates do fluctuate based on demand due to events in the area such as festivals and University of Michigan Football games. It is true that we are not located in the Downtown Ann Arbor area. We are conveniently located right off the interstate next to Briarwood Mall, which makes finding the hotel pretty easy and shopping very convenient. The downtown area and University of Michigan are a rather quick 5 to 10 minute drive away. We do thank you for providing us with feedback as we always strive to continuously improve. We hope that one day you will return back for a visit so that we may earn your loyalty as a guest.