Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Business trip

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Very good hotel for business and very good location for amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Al, thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us here on Expedia. We are, as you said, in a great location just across the street from Briarwood Mall and just minutes from Downtown Ann Arbor. We are so happy you chose to stay with us, and hope that you made it home safely to Vancouver.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newer basic hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Stayed for a football weekend. Staff was great. Rooms and facilities were new, clean, but otherwise pretty basic. Breakfast was nothing special. Work out room was too small with too few machines (e.g., no bike). I guess the key point is for such a basic place, on the outskirts of town, the cost was way too high. Granted it was a football weekend. But $818 for three nights stay was too much for this type of place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your honest review regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations here at the TownePlace Suites. We are one of the newest hotels in the Ann Arbor area and set our rates competitively with other comparable hotels in the area. The rates do fluctuate when demand increases due to special events like festivals and University of Michigan Football games. While we are not located right in the heart of downtown Ann Arbor, it is a rather short 5 to 10 minute drive away. We are also conveniently located next door to Briarwood Mall, which makes it very convenient for shopping during the weekends, and have many great restaurants located in the immediate area. Your feedback is important to us and we would like to thank you for sharing it with us. We are definitely always looking for ways to improve, and hope that you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty as a guest on your return visit to Ann Arbor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhinebeck, NY

Very Nice Stay Overall

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable beds!!!
Cons: More heat in the pool!!! I shouldn't feel like I am going to get a chest cold from swimming, and that was how it felt...icy cold!
Location: Crazy Wisdom Bookstore is the gem of Ann Arbor!
Overall our stay was very nice, the room very comfortable and the staff quite pleasant. I only wish the swimming pool was not so cold. It seems for the price they could turn up the heat and have a well heated pool. Other than that one issue, our stay was wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor. We are so delighted that you found the staff to be pleasant and that your room was comfortable. I did read in your review that you were unhappy with the temperature of the pool. I do want to offer my warmest apologies that we fell below your expectations in this area of your stay. We do keep the pool temperature around 83 degrees as we have to adhere to regulations for pools set by our local health department. We want to thank you for your honest feedback and look forward to serving you again in the near future on your return visit to the Ann Arbor area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, Utah

Friendly Staff and Great Perks

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable bed, extra amenities in room.
Cons: Placement of tv and shower pressure. Also, let customers know that the "king-sized beds" are not true kings.
Location: There is a mall with a lot of major brand name stores right across the street. Restaurants nearby. Univ. of Mich. stadium is about a mile away.
Stayed 4 nights in Sept. during the Univ. of Michigan vs Univ. of Utah game. Despite the hotel being very full, all the staff were personable, friendly, and helpful. Room came with fully equipped kitchen: full-size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, 2-burner stove, and pots, pans, dishes, glasses, and silverware. Work desk included a pull out table. Room was not large but comfortable. We reserved a king bed but it was not a standard size king (we measured it). It was more like a large queen. Girl at front desk said it was probably a hotel king (??) It was still very comfortable though. Shower could have used a little more pressure but bathroom was very nice. Main complaint was that the tv, which was on the smallish side, was off to the side of the bed which caused a crick in my neck after watching for a little while. Great place to stay though, especially if you're there for awhile and want to cook.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indonesia

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Overall is good, but it is a bit pricey, considering the location that is not exactly downtown or close to campus at Ann Arbor. The only close thing within walking distance from the hotel is the Briarwood Mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor on Expedia. It seems that we have fallen short of your expectations, and I do want to offer my warmest apologies. The TownePlace Suites is one of the newest hotels in Ann Arbor, and we set our rates rather competitively with other comparable hotels in the area. Rates do fluctuate based on demand due to events in the area such as festivals and University of Michigan Football games. It is true that we are not located in the Downtown Ann Arbor area. We are conveniently located right off the interstate next to Briarwood Mall, which makes finding the hotel pretty easy and shopping very convenient. The downtown area and University of Michigan are a rather quick 5 to 10 minute drive away. We do thank you for providing us with feedback as we always strive to continuously improve. We hope that one day you will return back for a visit so that we may earn your loyalty as a guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: everything-the pool, the 24 hour rec room, the breakfast, and the room itself.
Cons: the placement of the tv in the room
Location: close to U of M campus
I really enjoyed this hotel. It was clean and crisp, and the staff was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review here on Expedia about your stay with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team strives to exceed our guest's expectations. While the hotel is two years old, our housekeeping and maintenance teams work tirelessly to keep it looking young. We hope to see you again real soon on your return visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Awesome Suites.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Cons: The only negative...the coffee was undrinkable...both in the room and in the lobby. There is a coffee pot in the room - BYO coffee and filters.
Location: Can walk to Mall, restaurants, etc.
Awesome Suite. Very Spacious. Great with Kids. Nice to have full kitchen. NEW. Clean. Quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Matt, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor on Expedia. I hope that you and your kids were able to enjoy our nice heated indoor pool and hot tub with all of the pool toys that we provide for children. The full kitchen is one of my favorite features of our rooms, especially since it comes with a full-sized refrigerator. We hope that you and your family make it back to the Ann Arbor area again real soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor, and look forward to serving you again in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beds!

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Beds, kitchenette, split bathroom, staff, peacefulness
Cons: full breakfast
This is the best sleeping experience my husband and I have ever had in a hotel. The beds were great, pillows perfect and we never heard a sound from the other rooms or from outside. The hotel was clean, well furnished and perfect for entertaining our guests. We had lots of friends and family visiting at different times and we could sit in the lobby or outside in a gated area with nice furniture, and lots of seating. There were always apples to snack on and tea, coffee, and ice water. They sell quite a few snacks and quick meal ideas in the lobby too. The staff was always welcoming and tried to remember you when you returned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the glowing review! I'm so happy to hear that you were able to sleep soundly during your stay with us. I have to agree that our beds are rather comfortable, so much in fact, that it's a challenge to get out of bed in the morning. I hope that you and your family were able to utilize our grills that we provide out on the patio during the beautiful weather we were having. We hope to see you again soon on your return trip to Ann Arbor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Clean, Nice and well appointed

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2014 by Josh Ross, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your gracious comments and for staying with us here at the TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor! I have to agree with you that our rooms are definitely well appointed, clean and modern. We definitely look forward to your return visit to the Ann Arbor area!