Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Traditional excellence

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Charm, heritage, location
Cons: Loud disco. Update and modernize the facility without altering its charm.
Location: Lots of shopping nearby.
I have stayed here a few times over the years. It is comforting to go back to a hotel with such a rich heritage. The setting is stunning even though it is located at the heart of the city. Staying here is a very different experience in ambiance and feel than one gets staying at a modern multistoried chain hotel. The facility is getting dated., but retains its charms nevertheless. The only complaint I have is the very loud disco on Friday nights. I would gladly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dominicfrom London

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely place. Full of well tended history. Good food, excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by balakrishna reddyfrom nellore

Very good

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good, clean rooms, excellent location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Australia

A great experience

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Room, service & food.
Location: Spencer plaza shopping mall is tired and run-down. Express Avenue shopping mall near by is much better.
Stayed at the Connemara for 2 weeks in July. Room was very comfortable. Very impressed by the service. Housekeeping staff made up room each morning as soon as I left for breakfast. Extensive range of food at breakfast buffet, Indian food as well as Western. Wonderful service in Verandah restaurant by Antony and his colleagues. This was my first visit to India and staff took the time and interest to suggest Indian dishes for me to try at breakfast and also the evening buffet dinner. Had a few meals at the Raintree restaurant where the service was again exceptional, the charming hostess and friendly waiters taking the time to explain South Indian cuisine. A great eating experience. The pool area was very relaxing, pool/steam room attendant Mr Guru was very attentive and always gave great service. Enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sathy shankar

Posted Jun 22, 2014
It is a reasonable price very comfortable staffs are very curious and great customer service,breakfast is very good beautiful atmosphere,good money value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Taj Vivanta Review

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and staff courtesy
Cons: Pleasant experience need to continue through check-out. They seemed to have dropped the ball at the check-out.
If you need to stay in a moderately priced good hotel and in the center of the city, I will highly recommend this hotel. My experience was pretty pleasant overall. My only complaint was about my experience during check-out. They had an inexperienced person at the check out and I found the service at the check-out below average. I had pre-paid for the hotel room through Expedia but when I got my statement, this was not reflected. And he kept repeating that he couldn't find my payment in the system. Not sure if the hotel system was at fault or just that he didn't know where to look. Eventually, he agreed to charge only for the incidentals and he would take it up to mgmt. I called the hotel two days later and spoke to the manager. He was very apologetic and assured me that he would look in to the matter and call me back to confirm my payment. I never got the call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rajamani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chirag Shethfrom Mumbai

Could have been better

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Taj is what you associate with luxury and comfort. The hotel had the old world charm but the rooms could have been better especially bathroom fittings. Despite this there is one thing that you always associate Taj with is warmth of its people and exceptional service. I had a small problem with my room the housekeeping executive on my floor went out of the way to help and saw to it that I was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pete & Lesleyfrom UK

Luxury experience.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Space and tranquility. Efficient and friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble.
Well above our usual station. A few days here could turn you into a diva!