Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving Weekend

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The clean room and quietness through the night.
Location: Visit the winery at Bears Lake.
Had to wait until 2030hrs for dinner and chose the Thanksgiving Turkey Dinner on Saturday evening - well worth the wait and the price was just right. The room appeared as good as the previous year, clean and everything one would require overnight. Unfortunately it rained all Saturday afternoon but Sunday began with sunshine. If one is a small eater then the serve yourself breakfast is expensive, next time I would do without.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johannafrom Boston, MA

Hidden Fees, Pushy Staff

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
While the lodge itself was beautiful - rustic, relaxing, comfortable, wonderful setting - we did not feel comfortable at this hotel due to the service practices. We were called 1 day prior to our arrival to inquire about whether we would be joining the lodge for dinner at 7:30. We decided to do so. They also asked if we had any food allergies or dietary restrictions. We described the restriction. Great. End of phone call. The next day at 3:00 pm - the day of our arrival - we were called again to ask if we were still coming for a stay as it was getting late in the day - would we make it for dinner? And again, what were our dietary restrictions. We arrived when we said we would - 2 hours before dinner - and again, the staff said 'we weren't sure you were going to make it'. The staff explained all the activities and then said "but since you're only staying one night, none of that really applies to you. We encourage our guests to stay with us for at least 3-4 days." At dinner, the menu had 2 entrees and it was not pointed out if either met the dietary restriction even though they asked about it twice. The price of the dinner was never mentioned on the phone or in person and it was not clearly labeled on the menu either. We found the cost of the dinner in our room bill and it was not insignificant. Also, every activity had an upcharge and these upcharges were only revealed when it was too late to do anything about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nova Scotia

Golfing trip

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The ambience of the hotel is worth the extra -magnificent setting.
Cons: We thought the menu was a bit expensive and would have liked to see an enclosed swimming pool for year round use.
Location: As golfing was our priority, we did not have time for much else but did have supper at Club 98 in Digby and loved the food there.
We booked this hotel for the convenience of being close to the golf course. We had a view to chose from but decided on this for it's architecture and grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Everyone was so pleasant. I jus wished the room was a little bigger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by never coming backfrom ontario

This hotel has seen it's day!!

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked this hotel with the express purpose of playing golf on their beautiful course. Upon check in I went to see what time I could play the next day, only to be told that no one from the hotel could play for three days due to a tournament. You can imagine my shock, given this is billed as a golf resort and their website mentioned nothing about this tournament. Wasn't offered anything to ease my pain upon complaining at the hotel. On to the restaurant....They charge what could be considered gourmet restaurant prices but the food doesn't even come close!!! I had the digby scallops, as you should, but for quite a bit of money I received 8 little scallops laid on top of a disgusting potato hash like substance and some green beans that must have been brined they were so salty. To say the least I didn't eat the accompaniments and basically paid the money for 8 scallops. I have to assume that the line cook that cooks the breakfast also cooks the dinner menu. That being said don't charge as if you are serving gourmet food. Oh I almost forgot, your crab cakes are garbage and over priced as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, very small room

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The location was great, clean and staff were helpful. The room was way too small.
Cons: Too pricey for the room.
We had a good time, although not much going on at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathrooms need updating

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Although the Hotel grounds, lobby, restaurants were well kept and appealing, our bathroom needed of an update.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arlenefrom Boston

great for families

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
So nice to stay in a historic hotel with lovely views. Seems to be lots for kids to do on the grounds as well.