Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent facility in beautiful small town

Posted Jul 16, 2015
We visited Nova Scotia to view sites important in Acadian history as we are from Louisiana. We plan to come back and will stay in this facility again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness and great breakfast.
Cons: Bed not very comfortable and small for two people.
Pleasing but not a great sleep. Great location, friendly staff and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jim from Vancouver

Bit of history

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
Hillsdale House Inn is an old large house. Improvised as lodgings. Cramped rooms and dowdy interior. Small TV, creaky floor boards and thin walls. Mainly seniors. There is a large and lush garden backing into fields. Decent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Charming B&B, excellent staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Location: Annapolis Royal is a gem, a great place to spend time in the southwest end of the province. There is lots to do and we always dine at Cafe Compose.
This older establishment is lovingly decorated with beautiful antiques and a gorgeous, accessible garden. Room 8 is compact but has all the necessities and so was fine for an overnight stay. The breakfast was a real delight and the staff very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Hillsdale House is a beautiful historic building.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Hillsdale is a beautiful old house in a beautiful setting.
Cons: AC a bit noisy.
Location: Located in historic Annapolis. Rich in Canadian history.
The accommodation was very comfortable and the service was great. We enjoyed the spacious gardens and terrific back porch in the evening. Staff were friendly and offered really good advice about the local historic attractions. Breakfast was fabulous and more than generous..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sackville, NB

Lovely rooms with old fashioned charm

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Location: Graveyard tour was fabulous.
Nice place to stay for mobile people. Stairs would have been too much for my elderly mother and father.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shawn S from London

Incredible!

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels
My family and I were fortunate enough to spend four nights there this past week. The hosts and staff are like family now! The inn is large, comfortable, inviting. The breakfasts are home made and hearty - my son loved the homemade bread, and I loved the homemade blueberry jam. The beds are like home, the rooms are clean and bright. On our family trip to Nova Scotia, our stay at the Hillsdale has been a AAA+++! Obviously we would recommend this inn to all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rich & Kathy from Rhode Island

Nice location with short walk to town!

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice. Would not hesitate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Halifax, NS

Historic Inn

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: quiet, spacious grounds, relaxing
Location: visit historic fort Anne, Port Royal, lots of seafood and fine dining in the town.
From the moment I walked in the door, to the free range of the common areas, to the quiet privacy of the room, everything about Hillside Inn speaks of a friendlier, quieter age. A time when one could just sit on a veranda, listen to the birds singing, or retire to our room, all without rush or fuss. Definitely one of the nicest places we've stayed as a couple.