Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view from a clean room

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: the restaurant wasn't good at all.
Location: Adventures on the Gorge!
This is a lovely hotel. The rooms are small, but very clean and nice. The view is outstanding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, IL

Great place to retreat

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at Hawks Nest. It was a very peaceful place with million dollar views!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't complain

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: location, beds, pool
Cons: restaurant
Location: hiking, jetboat
Hotel was fine for the price. Nice activities on site and the beds were comfortable! Lunch at the hotel restaurant was awesome! DInner was terrible!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean beds, friendly staff, nice view

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, clean beds
Cons: Let people know the tram and jetboat is closed on Wednesdays before they book a stay here for that purpose!!!!!!!
Location: nice views.
We stayed here to experience the river gorge. We did not get to ride the tram and jetboat because it is closed on Wednesdays. The park museum is closed down and there is nothing else at the park but hiking trails. There is a very beautiful view of the gorge from the 4th floor room. Beware if you are using GPS or yahoo maps or anything to get to the park. you end up in dead ends. We spent 2 hours lost with directions. We called to park and they gave us directions. They are very friendly. The view is beautiful. That is the bast part. There are pretty sights nearby like the New River Gorge bridge. Free breakfast. Good If you are going to this area for something else. The park is not a destination by itself, especially on Wednesday!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

High and beautiful views

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Outside of resort needs paint.
Stayed one night at Hawks Nest Resort. The canyon view from my window was beautiful. The room was clean, but needed some updating. The outside of the resort needs pressure washing or painting. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dinning area was clean and breakfast was good. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jb from Maryland

Great location, price, staff, food, clean :-))

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Great location, price, staff, food, clean :-))
Cons: Get the racoons off the yard.
Location: Gulley and New Rivers!
Great location, price, staff, food, clean :-)) Free breakfast was a nice surprise. Room had a walk out onto yard with a great overlook of the river. Pool and tennis courts looked great, but we only had time to sleep and eat before our rafting trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stan from minneapolis

Great hiking

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Such friendliness and willingness to help. staff drove me 2 miles to pick up my car from the trailhead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely views from the room.

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Best low cost one night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mayra A from New York, NY

Great hotel for R&R in a beautiful setting

Posted Sep 3, 2013
We experienced a lovely welcome from Steve at check-in. He was pleasant and patient. He took the time to draw an easy to follow map of local attractions/restaurants. Other desk staff not so helpful. We needed more assistance than we got about hiking trails. Also, one staff member looked shocked that I would have the nerve to mention (10.30 in the morning) that the coffee canister in the lobby was empty because, as I was informed, "it was only for early departures". (it may not have been early, but I was departing) This hotel has good facilities. (overlooks the gorge,pool, tennis courts, dining room on site) It was a great place to rest and rejuvenate after a long drive. The dining room overlooks the gorge which is truly beautiful. I would recommend for short stays.