Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by KEN from PAISLEY

VERY DISAPPOINTING

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: NOTHING ON THIS OCCASION.
Cons: GENER DECOR OF ROOM VIEWED. ie No. 7
Location: NICE AREA.
CHECKED INTO HOTEL AT 16:00 HOURS AND CHECKED OUT AT 16:20HOURS. WE WERE ALLOCATED ROOM NO. 7 WHICH ON ENTRY WAS A SHOCK TO THE SYSTEM TO SAY THE LEAST. THE CONDITION OF THIS ROOM IS A DISGRACE. HEAD BOARD ON BED IS MADE UP OF TWO PIECES OF PLYWOOD WITH A DESIGN CUT WITH A JIG SAW. THE DECOR IS VERY "TIRED" THE VERY SMALL TELEVISION APPEARS ANCIENT. WE WERE TOLD WHERE THE ROOM WAS LOCATED AND LEFT TO FIN D IT OURSELF.HAVE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL ON THREE OCCASIONS OVER A NUMBER OF YEARS AND ALWAYS BEEN HAPPY HOWEVER THE DETERIORATION IS UNACCEPTABLE AND I WILL BE WRITING TO YOU UNDER SEPARATE COVER REGARDING MY EXPERIENCE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jack from Renfrew, UK/Daytona beach FL

scottish/american

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: garden setting dining room
Cons: that,s a tough one
Location: excellent for us oldies who ride the bus
tv was a bit small and too high on the wall no bad experience
2 out of 5
by sylvia from Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, UK

very tired hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: breakfast
Cons: décor and bathroom
Location: very handy for town centre and good parking at hotel.
staff very friendly,food excellent,decor in poor state, tv back from the 70,s.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greg from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

Great views

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Views from room
Cons: Tired room decor.
Location: Excellent on edge of town with sea views
Enjoyed stay. Hotel rooms are a little tired but comfortable. Dining room nicer
1 out of 5
by Karen from Kirkcaldy, Fife, UK

"World Famous......"?

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Trying to sleep
Location: Nice enough location and close enough to walk to local amenities.
This hotel is very tired and dated and the soundproofing between the rooms is dreadful. We could hear every movement from the rooms next door and the corridor outside our room. Needless to say, we got no sleep until approx 3.30am as our neighbour had the tv on loud enough for us to hear every word (possibly on to try to drown out the other one snoring very loudly which didn't work for us as we heard both competing noises). For an extra £12 we stayed the next night in The Bank, Anstruther which was luxurious in comparison - unfortunately we couldn't get a room there on the night we had to stay at The Craws Nest. The breakfast was good apart from the fact that the chef managed to burn the mushrooms! I have given the cleanliness of the room a 3 as the carpet was a little grubby and there were cobwebs on the curtain pelmet. Also, I prefer to have a sheet between the me and the actual duvet. I have given the quality of the staff and their service a 3 because on checking out we were not asked how our stay was and I wonder if it was possibly because they knew what the answer might have been. Other than that, the staff we did deal with (breakfast staff) were fine.
2 out of 5
by Jan from glasgow

Think twice before booking

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff Great breakfast
Cons: Decor dated Room too small Room cold .Bathroom seriously requires work
Location: Great location
The hotel is badly requiring an update and serious renovation. The room was very cold ,We had to ask for a heater for the room which we got immediately.The staff are very friendly. the breakfast was superb better than some of the expensive hotels we have stayed at.Overall big money requires to be spent to bring the hotel into a competitive market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Northumberland, UK

Fabulous views!

Posted Sep 25, 2012
We used this hotel as a stopover en route home from our holidays and were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel and the surrounding area. I would have liked another choice between pleasing and superb in the ratings, because it was definitely more than pleasing. We felt comfortable as soon as we entered, the staff were most pleasant, and our room was also very pleasant, with a side view to the sea. We did not take dinner, but breakfast was good, and the dining room beautifully laid out with wonderful views. We would most certainly go back there if ever in the area again.. Also loved the tartan furnishings!
2 out of 5
by laura from fife

dated

Posted Aug 3, 2012
Pros: breakfast
Cons: the room
the beds were good comfort wise , the carpets were stained the rooms very dated, the bathroom suite was yellow coloured ! with dark brown marble coloured panels on the walls. you couldnt have a shower without waking your partner ...it was so noisy , creaky floors where ever you walked . totally not what id recommend to anyone ... breakfast was good , thats the only good point
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs a revamp

Posted May 15, 2012
Pros: Breakfast & View of the Sea
Cons: Shower & Birds Nest in the Roof
Location: Nice seaside village
Booked a Double room and got a Twin which wasn't ideal when staying with your girlfriend. The staff did try to help us out, but the only other option was a room away from our friends with no window. The shower in our room had no water pressure and just dribbled out, and there was also a birds nest in the roof with chicks that kept waking us up every 5 minutes when coming back to feed its young. Overall I think the place hadn't really been refurbished since the 80's! On a good note though, the free Scottish breakfast was really nice and the view out our window looked right out to sea!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Good Place to Stay Along "Golf Coast"

Posted Apr 12, 2012
Easy to find hotel near St. Andrews. Great views, pleasant staff and capable restaurant. Walking distance to small town of Anstruther.