Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montrose, CO

Nice location, Hotel could use some upgrading

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The location, the dining facilities and public areas, the bar/lounge area had the best location to use wifi.
Cons: Beds, reconfigure furniture or take some out so you can move around better- maybe a fan in the room- upgrade a bit
Location: Near the ocean- bus to St Andrews, nice harbor town to walk around
We were dropped off by the bus right in front of the hotel- so that was nice. And it is easy to get a bus to go to St Andrews or any of the small towns nearby. It is also near the harbor so a lovely view. The rooms are a bit dated and worn but comfortable. Also it was quite warm even with the window open- it would only open a bit for safety I assume. Very cramped- had to dive across the bed to get to the other side of the room. Couldn't open the closet because the nightstand was in the way. Had to go behind the nightstand to turn on the bed lamp-- just needs some re-do
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Just what we were looking for

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location, free parking, great breakfast
Cons: The decor
Location: Just up the road from the golf club. There is a set of swings overlooking the sea just down from the golf course- we had a lovely sunset from here.
I had looked at the reviews for the hotel but I know from previous experience that I just like a reasonable room at a reasonable price with a good breakfast. So here all these boxes were ticked. If you are lookng for pure luxury you won't find it here, but you will find a relaxing atmosphere, reasonably priced drinks and food. Its about a 10 minute walk into town to the shops and harbour. It is a little outdated and the walls are quite thin but it was just what we needed for our one night stay. The breakfast was lovely with a good choice and the staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, needs a refurb

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Needs a refurb, very outdated and bathrooms not great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

One night stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Our room was in the annex it was clean and comfortable
1 out of 5
by KEN from PAISLEY

VERY DISAPPOINTING

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: NOTHING ON THIS OCCASION.
Cons: GENER DECOR OF ROOM VIEWED. ie No. 7
Location: NICE AREA.
CHECKED INTO HOTEL AT 16:00 HOURS AND CHECKED OUT AT 16:20HOURS. WE WERE ALLOCATED ROOM NO. 7 WHICH ON ENTRY WAS A SHOCK TO THE SYSTEM TO SAY THE LEAST. THE CONDITION OF THIS ROOM IS A DISGRACE. HEAD BOARD ON BED IS MADE UP OF TWO PIECES OF PLYWOOD WITH A DESIGN CUT WITH A JIG SAW. THE DECOR IS VERY "TIRED" THE VERY SMALL TELEVISION APPEARS ANCIENT. WE WERE TOLD WHERE THE ROOM WAS LOCATED AND LEFT TO FIN D IT OURSELF.HAVE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL ON THREE OCCASIONS OVER A NUMBER OF YEARS AND ALWAYS BEEN HAPPY HOWEVER THE DETERIORATION IS UNACCEPTABLE AND I WILL BE WRITING TO YOU UNDER SEPARATE COVER REGARDING MY EXPERIENCE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jack from Renfrew, UK/Daytona beach FL

scottish/american

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: garden setting dining room
Cons: that,s a tough one
Location: excellent for us oldies who ride the bus
tv was a bit small and too high on the wall no bad experience
2 out of 5
by sylvia from Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, UK

very tired hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: breakfast
Cons: décor and bathroom
Location: very handy for town centre and good parking at hotel.
staff very friendly,food excellent,decor in poor state, tv back from the 70,s.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greg from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK

Great views

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Views from room
Cons: Tired room decor.
Location: Excellent on edge of town with sea views
Enjoyed stay. Hotel rooms are a little tired but comfortable. Dining room nicer
1 out of 5
by Karen from Kirkcaldy, Fife, UK

"World Famous......"?

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Checking out
Cons: Trying to sleep
Location: Nice enough location and close enough to walk to local amenities.
This hotel is very tired and dated and the soundproofing between the rooms is dreadful. We could hear every movement from the rooms next door and the corridor outside our room. Needless to say, we got no sleep until approx 3.30am as our neighbour had the tv on loud enough for us to hear every word (possibly on to try to drown out the other one snoring very loudly which didn't work for us as we heard both competing noises). For an extra £12 we stayed the next night in The Bank, Anstruther which was luxurious in comparison - unfortunately we couldn't get a room there on the night we had to stay at The Craws Nest. The breakfast was good apart from the fact that the chef managed to burn the mushrooms! I have given the cleanliness of the room a 3 as the carpet was a little grubby and there were cobwebs on the curtain pelmet. Also, I prefer to have a sheet between the me and the actual duvet. I have given the quality of the staff and their service a 3 because on checking out we were not asked how our stay was and I wonder if it was possibly because they knew what the answer might have been. Other than that, the staff we did deal with (breakfast staff) were fine.
2 out of 5
by Jan from glasgow

Think twice before booking

Posted Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff Great breakfast
Cons: Decor dated Room too small Room cold .Bathroom seriously requires work
Location: Great location
The hotel is badly requiring an update and serious renovation. The room was very cold ,We had to ask for a heater for the room which we got immediately.The staff are very friendly. the breakfast was superb better than some of the expensive hotels we have stayed at.Overall big money requires to be spent to bring the hotel into a competitive market.