Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great place to relax

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Very nice staff (waiters, bar staff, cleaners, animation team in particular). The lady who led the morning Aqua Aerobics was FABULOUS.
Cons: Decor looking a little 'tired' - could do with updating. Wi-fi (or internet) not available AT ALL during our stay - and reception staff didn't care.
Location: Great beach (private to hotel) accessed by walking past the lovely pool. Local shops OK, but what you expect in Turkey. Bus ride into Side very good.
Best thing is that it's Adults Only. We didn't realise how peaceful and relaxing the Alba Royal was until we joined the 'beach party' (which incidentally was great) held on one evening when all 3 Alba hotels in the area got together. It was only then, surrounded by children and their (mostly!) doting parents, that it occurred to us how peaceful the Royal was. Not that we don't like children - but ours are now 18 and 22, and if you don't have to listen to other peoples' children's screams, whining and crying why would you? I believe the age criteria is 15 , so families with older children (but not quite adult) are not excluded but the pool isn't taken up with parents teaching their little ones to swim or bobbing around all day with babies in rubber rings. Equally, the all-inclusive dining was targeted at adults and there were no children picking food up and putting it back in the serving containers again as we have seen in other all-inclusive hotels that actively encourage children. All the food was excellent THEY REALLY MUST SORT OUT THEIR INTERNET CONNECTION. We had no wi-fi (or internet) for the whole week we were there. Reception staff just said "tomorrow" or raised their eyebrows unhelpfully when asked when it might be back. This was one of the reasons we chose this hotel over others, so a really big disappointment particularly as a couple of us were waiting on email confirmation of jobs etc. It came back on the day we were leaving - too late for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Exceeded some expectations disappointed others

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Food & all dining experiences excellent. Wellness centre excellent. Beach bar idyllic. Coffee shop quaint. Staff friendly. Aircon worked well in 50C.
Cons: Wifi unreliable and unpredictable and should not be advertised as a feature. Drinks quality not great though wine was fine. Enforce a sunbed policy.
Location: The beach was good and facilities provided were excellent.Water was lovely and warm, sand was scorching. Local shops were of market quality.
On arrival we were not pleased to learn that the superior room was not available for the first night. We were offered a standard room or a superior in a sister hotel. They did their best to put us in the other hotel but we we would not have it. When we asked how they would compensate us for the inferior room for the night they offered us a bottle of wine which was unacceptable as we had paid an inclusive price. The reception staff had poor English but the customer relations manager was fluent and as helpful as she could be. On the first night we were horrified to hear how loud the hotel entertainment was. This stopped at midnight then after that and until 4am we heard the boom boom of other hotels' entertainment. This was a total shock to us as we had hoped to have a "relaxing" holiday but it was more like being in Ibiza in July/August party season. This happened every night except Sunday. The noise was not easy to ignore if you wanted to sleep. There was also noise during the day in the form of staff entertainment programme which started at 10am with a hei de hei style trumpet announcement and various other announcements on the PA during the day. It was not the style of hotel we had expected. We did not use the outdoor pool once during our 2 week stay as the sunbeds were reserved from before 7am. The hotel does have a policy of no reserving before 8am which was not enforced and we did not want to squeeze in between sunbeds with towels. We used the indoor pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel mit guter Lage

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Viele Service Mitarbeiter sind auf Trinkgeld gepolt d.h wenn man zu 2t und noch recht jung ist beachten sie einen nicht so schnell.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

IMPOSSIBLE

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Staff that actually did something, location, great beach, no kids and food.
Cons: Front desk skills and better description label for vegetarian food. Towels in the gym for cleanliness.
many great features but not the front office. The hotel manager for the front desk should be fired or retrained. Extra soap "impossible" Extra towel "impossible". Towel for the gym, "impossible, can not be done"! All inclusive does not mean 'all' at this resort. Everything else was great, room, food, staff besides front desk, setting, warm sea....okay the hard booze tasted like it was made in somebody's garage but mostly everything else was great. Would not go back because the front desk treated you like kids or they did not trust you. Not sure which one. Many other great places to select from that deliver the entire package.....gotta love competition!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yuliafrom Houston, TX USA

Great all-inclusive hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Quiet, relaxing atmosphere. Delicious food, very friendly attentive staff
Cons: Not sure if this was because it was the beginning of the season, but I wish we could have had AC available anytime we needed it, it was hot to sleep.
Location: Love the location, beautiful landscape and other nice hotels around. Very clean area. Make sure to take a dolmus to see old town Side
Food was delicious, I enjoyed all those fresh vegetables and fruit. This is an adult only hotel, which I loved because it was quiet and relaxing, there were a lot of older people, and they still had a lot of fun it looked like. Staff was great. One thing I found kind of strange is that the AC worked only during certain hours, maybe it was because it was late May and they tried to conserve energy, but it was hot to sleep under those warm blankets with no AC, I never asked them if that was all year round though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Perfrom Ålesund

Greit hotell, slitt rom. god mat. bra spa.

Posted May 17, 2014
Vi hadde en avslappende ferie. Vi brukte spaet mye.Lite nordmenn på hotellet. Hyggelig betjening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, but not 5 stars

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Nice location - right on the beach, quiet as adults only, too
Cons: We only got to one of the a la carte restaurants as during our time, none were open for two days, then the same one for two days, The buffet was ok
Location: Great spot on the beach, about an hour transfer
A nice stay at a beach front hotel. This was our first 'short haul' all inclusive - we've stayed in Mexico and the Caribbean previously. I don't really think the food or entertainment was quite five stars, but the room was lovely (apart from the air con not working 24 hours). Staff are all lovely (as were the other guests)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Great for a quiet break

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Put buffers on all wardrobe doors to stop them slamming and disturbing the occupants in the rooms attached.
Arrived to find a very unprofessional receptionist who never gave us an identity wrist band, called for the bell boy, or told us which direction our room was. Found it eventually. He was a young lad and very charming, but he was obviously given the push as we never saw him again. From then on we found all the staff throughout the hotel very professional and friendly. There is a great array of dishes for every course, and I defy anyone who says the food is not good. It was all delicious. Outside facilities are kept clean. Had to grab your sun bed and lay your towel each morning. Poolside bar is great, with afternoon snacks, fresh pancakes, waffles, and a good selection of ice creams. There is also another little cafe for afternoon tea and cake. Beautiful long beach to walk along, and soft sand. Overall a great location for a relaxing holiday. Have never understood why the turkish shopkeepers sell the same items as their other twelve neighbours. It is over saturated with shops selling t shirts, shoes, and very tacky gifts. I would like to see more of the local crafts. The pottery is stunning, but have never found a trip sightseeing to see it made, or to see how the rural and local people have lived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda

Nice Resort, mostly over 50s

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: very relaxing--outdoor pool is amazing
Cons: The whirlpool tub was not warm the entire time we were there. Maybe under repair?
Location: Not much in the vacinity except water sports and beaches. A nice ruins in the nearby town of Side.
This resort was great and highly relaxing. I will reiterate what other reviewers have said by saying that most of the clientele is over 50 couples. There are some younger folks, and we had a great time (we are 30-somethings), but didn't meet many peers. The staff is wonderful, open and friendly. Do be aware that everyone speaks German here. Luckily, we had enough German to get by with the staff, and the management speaks English as well, so it wasn't a problem. The veiws are wonderful, the food is great (very flavorful, especially considering that it's buffet), and the a la cart restaurants are a nice experience. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emmafrom London

Perfect escape from life

Posted Apr 18, 2014
My partner and I stayed at the Alba Royal for ten days and we can both honestly say, what a wonderful trip. The staff in the hotel are faultless, the hotel itself is clean, welcoming and beautiful. There is always a wide range of food available however I would say there is a lot of German influence in terms of food, we grew to miss British sausages and beans at breakfast! Other than that, the food was yum. The pool is massive and beautiful, really cold! But refreshing! It gets pretty hot, and that's even in April! So we welcomed the cold water. The drinks available are local brands however not bad and plenty to choose from. The spa facilities are second to none and offer a perfect opportunity to zen out and relax. Outside of the hotel a few minutes walk down, there is a shuttle bus service which cost around 2€ to get a bus to Side, about 20 mins away, beautiful little harbor town with plenty of restaurant and shopping choices. Overall a great holiday and sad to be home!