Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Right on the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Not really a four star resort, but was nice comfortable and clean. The best partm s about the resort are the awesome staff and the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great beachfront location for our honeymoon!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Everything was awesome from the staff, to our beachfront room, to the food & drinks - even the pillows! There would be some evenings where my now husband and I were the only ones on the beach which made it feel even more special!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach, quiet hotel, all couples

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Beach, restaurants on the beach. Pool was pretty with a large waterfall. Only 25 min to the airport (this was important to us after flying all day).
Cons: There was no room service, which was disappointing. Only one beer option. Only 3 restaurants to eat at on-site, and one was $42/person for dinner.
Location: Nice shops in town, otherwise this resort was not close to anything by land.
Galley Bay was beautiful! Almost all of the rooms were directly on the beach with amazing views and plenty of shade, if desired. Free water sports (snorkeling, hobie cat, kayaking). Very quiet and relaxing and the beach was ~1/2 mile long with only a few couples (unlike Sandals). One thing that I had trouble with was there was never a buffet-- everything is a sit down, 3 course meal. Breakfast is over at 10am, which was hard for us post wedding exhaustion (and time difference). The food was different; took some getting used to but by the end I really enjoyed it (always fresh fish, some type of pasta, salad, soup to choose from). This was a low-key resort without much to do at night other than listen to the band and drink on the deck overlooking the ocean. Nice for most couples, not a place for singles or families. We did an off-beach excursion on a Catamaran that took us down the coast, snorkeling, to a beach bbq, then back to the hotel- very fun. You can take a taxi to the city (15 min ride, $20) for the nice shops, but we just wanted to lay on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

fantastic people, fantastic resort.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Felt very safe, everything you need is here for a week of relaxation & fun.
Cons: Housekeeping.
My wife and I stayed here from 07-19-14 thru 07-26-14, loved the resort, loved the employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Megan from Hartford

Nice but???

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The location of the rooms is just feet away from the beach.
Cons: The bartenders need an attitude adjustment.
Location: Not much to do in the immediate area. Look for Captain Sean on the beach. He offers a very nice sailing cruise along the west coast of the island.
This is a very nice resort with great rooms on the beach and very nice, though small, grounds. The beach is wonderful but not very good for snorkeling or swimming. While most of the staff were very friendly and helpful, the bartenders often seemed annoyed. The food is very good and the dinning facilities are great, open right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michelle from Nashville, TN

Perfect for a romantic trip

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Adults-only, very peaceful and quiet. Beautiful landscaping. Amazing food. King-size beds and WiFi available (others I'd looked at were only queen)
Cons: Expand the jogging/walking track. 1/2 mile track is great, but there is more room to make it longer. Not a downside just a suggestion!
Location: Perfectly sized beach, plenty to keep you busy for many days at the resort.
Perfect resort for a romantic trip. Quiet, soothing surroundings. The food was amazing, every bite was delicious. Beachfront suites are a must-book. Get a 1st level room if you can, your back patio will be only steps away from the sand and water. Couples massage in the treehouse is a must-do as well. We had tentative plans to book a few excursions while there, but were so happy staying on the resort that we did not leave until time to catch our flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jenn from NY, NY

Nice room on a great beach!

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: It has a very relaxing atmosphere, great beach. The staff was very accommodating. We didn't have to rush out in the morning to reserve lounge chairs!
Cons: No complaints. If we did, the managers were often walking about the restaurant areas and checking in with the guests.
Location: It was a short ride from the airport (no more than half-hour). The resort is gated and we only left it once to check out Hawksbill beach.
I had Googled "child-free" and "direct flight from NYC" and Galley Bay was a search result. Was extremely pleased overall with our four night stay here. Our beachside room was clean and nicely-done. Liked that we were just steps away from the water and had chairs and an umbrella/table in front of our room; it felt as if we had our own bit of the beach. The beach is wide so the guests are spread out. Also, the beach isn't easily accessible to the general public. The sand was soft and clean. Was impressed with the food and service at the restaurants; the menus had a nice selection. Tried the spa, very nice! Favorite part was the snorkeling - used the resort's gear and just went in the water off the resort's beach, there is great coral just a short swim away. We swam over to Deep Bay and on the way there and back saw loads of colorful fish, sea slugs, starfish, lobster and rays (+ goats on the rocks). We were very happy with the resort. We wanted relaxing but also wanted options in case we got bored; the resort offered plenty to do on-site or off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great rooms, excellent food, but don't expect a go

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The food was fantastic, the gaugin cottage a dream, but the staff at reception, help desk, the restaurants and water sports were not interested in any service. Some were downright rude. I am not someone who expects a lot, but a genuine smile is what I want to see when I go to breakfast. Here most women looked just sullen. The men were far nicer. Despite the great rooms and the outstanding food I would not go there again, as their laissez faire attitude really ruined the experience at times. I know all about island time etc, but they were just slow and couldn't have cared less!
3 out of 5
by Michael

expected more

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: the resort is super quiet
Cons: refill the minibar everyday!!! add free transport to and from airport.
Location: resort is 20 mins from airport
The best thing about this resort is it's very quiet, perfect for relaxing. Stayed in the premium beachfront suites on the first floor. The room was huge and comfortable. We did hear footsteps from our upstairs neighbor, they were quiet by 11pm. Majority of staff were polite. The service at the restaurants and bars were slow at times. The food was good. Housekeeping did a great job. The minibar was not refilled everyday, two thumbs down. The pool is small but didn't really care much since I preferred the beach. Bug repellant is a must!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach in your backyard

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Beautiful beach just steps off the back porch. Quiet, private, and very romantic. First trip to Antigua, and we can't wait to go back. Good food, great drinks and fabulous service.