Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Honeymoon

Posted Nov 3, 2014
My fiancé and I spent a week at Galley Bay for our honeymoon and we loved it. We specifically looked for an all-inclusive resort that was smaller and more intimate. Pros: Beautiful beach Great beachfront suites Above average food Quiet Good activities such as biking and kayaking Cons: The pool is a bit boring Wish there were more restaurants to choose from
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

Good choice for a relaxing couples vacation.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Wine list. We only drink wine and had to go to town to find variety.
Location: Not much attractions aside from water tours/activities for sale.
The resort was just what we wanted, a quiet plqce to relax. We we're disappointed with the island as a whole as we like to venture out in our rental car but the lack of road signs and places of interest signs were practically non-existant. I assume they'd rather you use taxis or local tour companies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great luxury hotel on beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, food, friendly staff. Large rooms on beach. All inclusive means just that with all drinks included. Adults only hotel.
Cons: In dining room service and fully stocked mini bar.
Location: All water activities included. Trips around the island can be booked from the hotel.
We were returning guests and were treated like family. Stayed in premium beach room which have views of the bay and are just a few steps from the sea. Amazing how hotel responded to the latest hurricane. Whilst other hotels were closing their doors to cope with the aftermath, hotel staff at Galley Bay took just 72 hours to get all facilities back up and running and debris cleared. They made sure we had food and water immediately after and even had a five course meal on the table the same night. All down to being well prepared and having dedicated staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weathering the storm

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The staff is great.
Cons: Since it wasn't high season the restaurants were sometimes limited in their open times.
We got hit by an unexpected tropical storm during our stay here. The staff at a galley Bay did an amazing job at taking care of us during this time. They ensured we had food, and even brought it to us in the rooms so we wouldn't have to go out into the storm. The clean up was very quick as well. I found this remarkable given that the staffs family homes would have been impacted by this storm as well. Really impressive.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Rooms are steps away from the beach

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Room location, food was good at all restaurants.
Cons: Pool Service, some of the staff may need a long overdue vacation.
Our experience at Galley Bay was just OK. The room was steps away from the beach and was a beautiful setting. The pool area was a little disappointing with no pool service to speak of. The bar staff did come around and collect the empty plastic cups but we never saw them ask any guest if they needed anything. Most of the bar staff seemed a little unfriendly and would only respond if spoken to first. We usually do not stay at all-inclusive resorts and may not again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Idyllic setting for a first visit to the Caribbean

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The location, the room and the staff. You could do as much or as little as you wanted. There are day trips and boat trips available.
Cons: As with any holiday there were a couple of minor niggles but nothing that requires a comment that could be blown out of proportion.
Location: The location is about half an hour from the international airport by taxi ($20-$25) Day trips and boat trips can all be booked at the hotel.
Having never been to the Caribbean before or in fact an all inclusive resort we were a bit concerned about being 'trapped' in one location. On the other hand we wanted a week to do nothing in nice surroundings. The accommodation was amazing, being right on the white sandy beach and within 20 feet of the sea. The room (we stayed in a premium deluxe suite) was spacious and spotlessly clean. The manger Cedric was always around and very friendly. The staff were all very friendly and basically what could make or break such a resort. They are an asset to the hotel. You could do as much or as little as you wanted. We choose the latter and spend most of the time just relaxing around the pool or on the beach. We did use the tennis court a couple of times when the weather clouded over and had a massage in the spa which was very good. There are day trips and boat trips available. We only visited the capital St John's for a morning. There isn't much to see or do in the capital and it does get very hot being inland. 1.5 to 2 hours would be plenty of time. Overall a fabulous experience and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Peaceful retreat.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Lovely beach, very friendly staff, peaceful stay in a lovely location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lincoln

Perfect holiday location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The hotel is small and quite rustic whilst maintaining the required level of luxury. The staff are great and the management caring and approachable
Cons: Nothing
For us this was a pretty much perfect holiday, with friendly, efficient, attentive staff and hotel management. The location was perfect (could not be improved) and the food excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donfrom San Francisco

Beautiful Galley Bay

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Galley Bay is paradise. Beautiful surroundings, lovely private beach, total service. If you want a beach vacation and want it private this is the place. If you want activities, most of the boats come to you and pick you up. we had a suite right on the beach. We left the doors open at night so we could hear the ocean, great. I give the resort. 5 stars. This is an all inclusive resort so the food has to be rated also. We do live in the San Francisco Bay area so admittedly our standards are high. we give the food 3.5-4 stars. Mostly the food was good and at the high end it wasn't great. If you live in a food haven like we do, you might be disappointed but at the same time, I didn't come to Antigua for the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Right on the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Not really a four star resort, but was nice comfortable and clean. The best partm s about the resort are the awesome staff and the food.