Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest USA

Not quite the Bates motel, because nobody dies

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This hotel is in a beautiful Caribbean country - my mother said to say something nice or not at all. My wife and I were the only guests for most of our stay. The hallways were dirty, scary and abandoned. Just like the rest of the place. The beach is beautiful, but there is no staff to help you with a beach chair, as they are all chained up and no staff to be found! A non-guest remarked about the beach "what stunning beauty". And the hotel - "what stunning neglect"! Very disappointed and not worth our substantial cost to stay. Find somewhere else to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

confusing experience but not without it's charms

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Beach was nice and clean. Staff was helpful and got to know us during our stay. The hotel had an official taxi driver who they would call, he was nice
Cons: overall condition of most things was shabby, facade of building was dumpy, menu too limited.
Location: Close to St. John's by taxi, some boat tours will pick you up on the beach at the hotel, Ft. Barrington ruins close by, not much walking distance....
Simply put. This hotel which looks like it holds hundreds of people had between 8-15 guests the entire time we stayed -which was one week. This was during the busy season ( Feb, dry season ). Other hotels like nearby Sandals were teaming with tourists of all types. Now this was utterly weird to us, especially on our initial walk around the hotel and beach. There are 3 restaurants, but only 1 will be open a open once a day for a few hours so- if your hungry before 7pm but after 4pm- you're out of luck. Arranging for a taxi isn't as easy as you might think and they encourage you to book the driver in advance through the front desk. Not what I was expecting with a hotel of this size. The two biggest bummers where there were two menus at the restaurants and we got tired of the food, and the condition of the hotel is noticeably bad. Broken ice machines, bathroom door in our room didn't close or lock, wobbly railing on our ocean view room on the top floor (8th), outdated non HD tv with annoying lines across the screen, limited drink options. The whole place was operating on a shoe string budget. We popped for the ocean view room with a breakfast plan at around 300 US per night so overall not the fit and finish you'd expect for that cash. Redeeming qualities were the vacant beach, which is gorgeous! Felt nice to have it all to ourselves seemingly. If you plan on spending your entire trip at the hotel you might want to reconsider, the limited food options will bug you quickly.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Terrible hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: The beach
Cons: Everything
This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, my first stay was during carnival it was ok the beach was great. My 2nd stay was horrible. 1st there was no hot water for 3 of my 4 days, the phone in the room did not work for the 4 days we were there. The ice maker did not work for the 4 days we were there. The food was expensive and awful. The hotel staff could care less when u complained. From one staff member to the next everyone kept saying I left a note for the next person. I was glad to be gone from that place. Totally disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Secluded Hotel, challenging to get to without car

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Impressive entrance way.
Best hotel on the island for a place in the 1980's. Beach nice, secluded.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Benitofrom PR

fatal

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Fatal...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ann Mariefrom New York

THE BEACH

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel needs renovations BUT the room has wonderful views and very clean and spacey. Friendly staff. The BEACH is one of the most beautiful beaches.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tobiasfrom Stockholm

Antigua

Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ett mycket märkligt hotell. Tydligen har det varit väldigt populärt längre tillbaka i tiden men nu är det helt öde. Vad man jobbar mest med är konferenser och företagsevenemang. Dock finns en mycket fin strand och fina omgivningar. Hotellet och anläggningen börjar bli något förfallet. Pris per rum var dock mycket lågt.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Vitaliyfrom Canada

Worst experience. Need refund for stay there

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Worst experience ever. All started with area where hotel was located. Ghost town. Not a single guest around except 3 of us: me and two of friends of mine. Second, our reservation was not in their data base and they questioned it at the Reception of Hotel even after i presented email with all info about it: Booking reference number, my name, price, whats included,etc.After all however they confirmed the reservation, but it took forever to do it. Service was on a very low level.Food i wouldn't recommend to anyone. Weird taste, small and overpriced. Hotel was only close to a beach, but far from everything else you would need. No life in it. Had to fight with manager of hotel over the phone to have Continental breakfast as it says its included in price for staying in this hotel. Water in tap was yellowish...In fact I would like to get a total refund for such a bad experience of staying in this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel from hell

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Place should be condemned. All amenities where closed and padlocked. Horrible hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Beach and the pool are excellent
Cons: the grounds has so many fallen trees, maybe because they just had a hurricane few days before we came. The grounds are not well- maintained.
Location: St John;s shopping area is just maybe 10 minutes away from the hotel.
This is our second time to stay in this hotel. I'm just glad that they put us in the ocean view side which is a lot better than the mountain side. The beach and the pool is excellent. The staff is pleasing. just wondering why not a lot of visitors staying there. I also noticed that there is no guard posted in the guard house by the gate.