Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by b from closter nj

Not good choice

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: close to airport
Cons: food
same food everyday, they have one restaurant on the water called " warrie pier" , you can only eat once a week, and menu of that restaurant not all inclusive, you have to pay for some food, otherwise only one rest. for dinner and one for lunch SAME FOOD EVERYDAY, if they run out of some food 30 min. before closing , they won't refill it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvie from London

Nice enough hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The guests
The hotel is the equivalent of a European three stars. It is very well run and the staff was very good and efficient. It is a package tour hotel and I am glad I only had to stay a few hours as I missed my connection. I certainly would not choose to spend any holiday time there.
3 out of 5
by Jim from San Antonio

Old is normally OK, but rundown better describes

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Cost to value for a first time Island vist
Cons: seating, & more trained staff for the bar and restaurant.
Location: The Day trip on the sailing Cats around the island is not to be missed
The package deal was a good value, but be ready for many things not working. like only one time did I have "worm" water for a shower. yes cold showers even in Antigua are no fun after a day in the sun. only one sail boat worked part of the time. And they skipped over my appointment four times when it did work. I only used the sail boat one time my entire stay. Seating at the beach side buffet was too little for the amount of guest. shade on the beach had every spot "staked" out with people going our at 7am and putting towels and personal items on them to hold until they were ready to use them at 10 and 11 after breakfast. Some of the staff could have gotten jobs as prison workers on movie sets. not scary at all just they moved slow at a controlled pace. The Chef was fantastic in his ability to produce quality food at production speed. But after 5 days I was happy to head home. even with a full day away on a boat trip.
2 out of 5
by All nine of us from Canada

disillusioned pictures in brochure & online

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Being honest, the rooms are a nice size. That is the extent of it.
Cons: The menu is in drastic need of change and upgrading the quality of the food. The cleaning staff needs to be fired and start fresh with proper workers
Location: The location is great and there is quite a few things to do nearby since the island people are also trying to attract the other resorts also.
The rooms were not properly cleaned to the point of requesting toilet paper and 2 towels 1 hour after room was supposedly cleaned, The floors were not wiped down or the garbage taken out of. The alcohol was watered down and all juices at the bar were actually sugared syrup not real juice. The food was so repetitive. Nothing creative or of good quality. The only two meals good were the roast beef and barbq. Balance of 5 days were just filler food ie. meatloaf, gumbo etc. The wari pier restaurant is not all inclusive if you order anything other than chicken such as steak or seafood. The staff was very unorganized. Left you sitting without letting you know that the salads/breads are buffet and serve yourself. The beach was rocky and is NOT recommended for seniors or children. An adult would have a hard time getting out of the water without falling on the rocks. The towels were always on shortage and only open 4 hours out of a full day and depending on the arrival times or sleeping in, there were no towels available. The nursing station does not exist. It is a first aid kit do it yourself at the front reception. The kids club was only open a few days for short amounts of time and did not allow for the kids to use the pool. The pool pump is portable and only cleaned for a short while in the morning. No jets to clean it. The staff was borderline rude at times and did not offer any assistance except for the main restaurant. A few of the ladies there were great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Brooklyn, NY

Better than the worst review, but...

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Location, vibe.
Cons: Service in restaurants. Facilities.
Location: Great supermarket close by (Epicurean Fine Foods), with pharmacy!
After reading the horrible reviews from the Christmas 2013 week, we were concerned about our booking. While we were generally satisfied with our stay at Halcyon Cove, the need for improvements (both physical and managerial) are quite obvious. The location is wonderful, the lay out of the resort is well done. We wanted a smaller resort, that felt manageable, and this one did. The pool was centrally located, and close to the beach, which is great for a family like us. The food was mediocre. The service in the main restaurant left a lot to be desired. While they could benefit from additional staff, they should also focus on revamping their systems to improve efficiency. For instance, there is no reason to wait for a table, when half the restaurant is empty... The room was clean (but the lamp shade was not). The A/C worked well, but the remote control was practically useless. If you look closely, you will see tons of capital projects that need attention/repair. While we would consider returning, we would hand pick our room (pool view, DEFINITELY), and prepare to eat a few meals off site!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bex from Hants UK

Right on the beach .

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Being near the beach
Cons: Some areas need a bit of updating
Location: Just a short taxi ride to town Lot's of good tours would recommend Shelley's Island tours a more private tour that shows you the real Antigua.
A great time weather was good and enjoyed the whole experience , the food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location but in need of a lick of paint.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
3 out of 5
by Dave from New York

Mixed Bag on a Nice Beach

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Location on Dickenson Bay, the friendliness of the staff, the flexibility to eat a meal almost anytime on the all-inclusive plan.
Cons: The facility has seen better days. out of date services list in each room, staff sometimes seemed confused on what was available to guest.
Location: Walk up and down the beach and use the beach of other resorts like Sandals, beach bars like Coconut Grove or the nice deserted beach further down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2013
I already left the hotel from my second day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Toronto

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Stayed there with 4 kids and had a great time the staff was amazing, food was great I would stay there again. One slight problem the sink and tub didn't drain properly.