Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Halcyon Defined

Posted Feb 23, 2015
My Spouse and I were looking for some much needed R&R for our Anniversary and hoped Halcyon Cove would live up to the definition of it's name and provide just that. This was not to be the case however, from the outdated furnishings to the mosquito infested rooms and grounds our anti-Halcyon nightmare began. Though on the beach the beach chairs were so worn most were broken. The Wooden Beach shades unkept to the point of offering very little shade. We were extremely disappointed to say the least.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newport,RI

Disappointing stay

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and my bed was comfortable .
Cons: This hotel needs so much I don't know where to start.
Location: The location is some what isolate there are a few restaurants nearby but that is it . You need a car to go any where.
When I pulled up to the hotel in the taxi I was very surprised and disappointed on how old the property was . When I got to my room and saw the condition of it I went to the front desk to ask for another room which turned out to be better. Everything about this hotel is old including the beach chairs. The staff works hard but I think that the ownership does not spend much on . The grounds are not very nice . Every night we would eat some where else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Love the location Love love the staff But the hotel is run down and needs some updating badly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex UK

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Most of the points are above. I have had many overnight stays in Antigua before I travel on to Montserrat where I have a home and this was one of the
Cons: After swimming in the sea it would have been useful to have a beach side shower. There may be one but I didn't spot it.
Location: A one-night stay so things to do didn't apply to me.
Clean, excellent air-conditioning in my room, friendly staff, good well appointed room too and sited next to one of Antigua's best beaches at a reasonable cost...my one night stay was far too brief .I will certainly stay there again and for hopefully for much longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bourne

Tired hotel but lovely beach

Posted Nov 3, 2014
This hotel is in desperate need of some TLC! We heard rumours Rex wants to sell it so it seems they've left in to ruin with empty shops and very tired decor. It is however on one of the nicest beaches in Antigua.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Good and bad

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Positive: location on great beach, staff, clean and tidy resort Negatives: very dated resort and in need of moderation, very few guests around and very few dining options, lacking atmosphere
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrewfrom Montserrat

STILL GREAt

Posted Apr 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Slightly dated archeturally but in first class location. Fabulous staff..nothing is too much trouble. Food is acceptable but if you want lobster tails you need to go elsewhere .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AMfrom New York City

Best Friends Trip

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
My best friend and I met in Antigua for our birthdays. We stayed here and it was pretty decent. Loved the location, the staff and the beach! The rooms were a little outdated and stale but for the price it was definitely expected. The island and the hotel is very organized. I would recommend this hotel to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by MTfrom Toronto

Overnight stay

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is tired and showing its age rooms need updating. Food good and bar service very good. Beach is great . The outside areas are well maintained. Depending on what you pay it can be a good deal,however if you are paying full rack rate there are probably better properties. However overall it was a pleasant overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com