Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our cabin was next to a beautiful beach.

Posted May 24, 2014
Definitely caters to an older crowd - don't expect loud music and partying. A quiet piece of heaven for us. Needed way more mosquito control
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dom&Laurie from Plano, TX

Perfect quiet get-away

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Location, food, staff, ocean-view rooms, 4 beaches (one clothing optional), live entertainment, drinks, and on-site snorkeling.
Cons: The mattresses are extremely firm. It does take a little while to adjust if you are used to a softer bed.
Location: The bay is quiet on the main beach, there is a rain forest zip line, down town St. John's has dining and shopping, Devil's Bridge, historical museum.
We stayed for 8 nights at this all-inclusive, 4 beach resort. With a wonderful staff, excellent food, great location, and lovely beach front (as well as garden facing) rooms; this resort was fantastic. The buildings are showing their age, they have been open since the 1960's, but they are not claiming/charging for a brand new 5 star hotel. The beaches are extraordinarily beautiful. We went during the off season. There were always plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. The grounds are very clean. There are some great corals in the little bay to snorkel around and there was always something interesting to see around the dock. They have small sailboats, canoes, snorkeling gear, and beach towel rentals. They had live entertainment most nights even a band that made all of their own instruments and a steel band. You might get to see some animals from the farm that the resort rents the land from, we saw goats our first day there! Their food was better than most hotels/resorts that we've stayed at in the past; the cooks are pleasant, informative & born to cook. The buffet had bold local flavors. Drinks were made with local juices by bartenders who went the extra mile to get it just to your taste. Overall, this was the best place that we have stayed on an island. We like things more simple and don’t like to feel like we just went to the beach and never left America. We’ve been to Aruba, Trinidad & Tobago, and Antigua. We are planning our next trip back here now!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

colonial style hotel, old fashioned and restful

Posted Mar 23, 2014
very relaxing excellent ambience great sea bathing and outdoor restaurants. Take mosquito repellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aidan from Leicester

lovely staff in great location

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and nice, drinks flowed nicely and the room was right by the beach
Cons: maybe a larger selection of food in the evenings and the bar closed early at around 11pm
Location: we went to watch the cricket while there, the actual hotel grounds though are in a very nice quiet area
Great overall all hotel. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and very helpful. The location is fantastic with 2 nice beaches. There are quite a few steps to get to the bar and restaurant though but it was never a problem for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jill from London

A beautiful place

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely fell in love with Hawksbill. Not luxurious, but in a perfect setting with fabulous staff. And superb roast beef and roast pork at dinner! (As well as local specialities). Can't wait to return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy from New York

Fabulous location, lost in time.....

Posted Mar 3, 2014
The location is better than anywhere I have stayed in the Caribbean with no visible buildings in sight that did not belong to the hotel. Swimming for a mile a day across three bays and seeing a turtle twice were the highlights of the trip for me. The cabanas are charming but desperately need updating: beds not comfortable after a night or two, worn linens, chipped bathroom tiles etc....The food is not even worth mentioning and it took a couple of days to work out what was edible but we will leave it at that. The live music in the evenings was fabulous and happened every night but one, which we really enjoyed. The staff were all charming and very helpful. The price for this hotel explains the fact that it needs to be totally refurbished and the kitchen would need a total rethink. But for us the price worked for a week and we were happy to be able to spend our time lying on the most beautiful beaches and swimming in crystal clear waters. We met some charming fellow travelers there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were amazing, the beaches beautiful, and the guests friendly and laid back
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms and a better menu or more dining options. Also the snorkeling gear is very old and most of the masks don't seal properly
Location: It is fairly isolated but with the water activities there was plenty to keep us entertained
This resort has multiple beaches. It is very laid back and relaxing. This is NOT a resort for people with children as there is not a lot of activities to keep them busy. However, for the overworked, over stressed resort it is exactly what you need. The staff greeted us with a cold drink and cool washcloth which was greatly appreciated after traveling for so long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S

Great beaches, awesome views, food needs improving

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Location: We booked a day on Montserrat and had a wonderful time. Shirley Heights was worth the trip. We found some nice gifts in St. John's
Our third visit in 6 years. We love the location and the beaches. Our room was always clean and the staff was friendly. This is a no frills resort, but if you want to relax and be left alone, this is your place. We were disappointed with the food. Huge difference from last two vacations. The canned pineapple rings were the last straw. It's the Caribbean- I want fresh fruit! Last two visits we ate a variety of fresh fish. This time it was Grey Snapper at almost every meal. It was so full of bones we couldn't eat it
1 out of 5
by Johnny from worldwide Ex-Pat

Worst food ever

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Nice gardens and very well maintained by excellent, friendly gardeners, good maid service and very friendly maids
Cons: Staff attitude, all food, some beach drink service, better information, entertainment for a full week
Location: nice beaches but very rocky, nothing to do nearby unless you spend $40-$80 on a round cab trip
Me and my girlfriend booked in to stay from the 13th of Jan 2014, we were kindly greeted at the desk and booked in , after that everything went down hill. firstly the porter dragged my partners expensive case down every step, at which point I had to take the case off him and carry it my self to avoid damage. The rooms were very basic when we got in, but clean. we were invited on the first night to the "managers cocktail party" which we got dressed up very smart as we thought we should be. only to discover that this is no more than a very small buffet and regular cocktails. this set the precedence for the rest of the meals. Very small selection at all meal times with nearly everything containing curry or very sweet, hardly any local fruits and veg, no seafood except the same 2 types of fish constantly (snapper and butterfish) this is the Caribbean, we went for good seafood ( which we got by eating out) lunch was the same thing everyday (sweet chicken, curried fish or cheeseburger) with the same salad and coleslaw everyday and breakfast was identical everyday. there was supposed to be ala-carte options which we never saw or got offered and they say they have 2 restaurants but only 1 is open at any given time. Most of the staff seemed very hostile and not 1 of them gave us any advice on things to do and the tours desk women were never off the phone, all our advice came from friendly cab drivers, but off coarse they would be because we were spending with them
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014