Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainfield, IL

Nice hotel on a great beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
My family of four (2 adults & 2 teenage boys) recently stayed at the Jolly Beach Resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful, large and clean. The large pool was also very nice. We didn't use the quiet pool, but it also looked nice. The grounds are pretty. The rooms are average, but are clean and comfortable and the AC worked well. The restaurants were pretty good but the buffet restaurant at dinner was a little disappointing but the breakfast there was good. The poolside grill was very convenient for lunch and snacks and the jerk chicken was very good. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We’re delighted to hear that your family had such a great visit at Jolly Beach! Thank you for taking the time to tell us some of the things you loved about your stay - our beautiful beach, the resort grounds, the staff, the jerk chicken, etc. These are the things that many of our guests comment favourably on…but we never get tired of hearing about them :) We also appreciate your feedback regarding the buffet. While I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with the options at dinner, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed the many offerings at breakfast and that you were also able to take advantage of the convenience of the poolside grill for lunch and snacks. Hopefully you also had a chance to try out one or more of our a la carte restaurants while you were here, too. We hope to see you and your family return for a second visit. General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Max from M.

Great location, mediocre hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Outstanding location but if you decide to stay at Jolly Beach set your expectation low. The personnel is not friendly with a few exceptions. However, locals are not too nice in general. The food at Jolly Beach is mediocre but rooms are clean and convenient for the beach. This resort is close to some other great beaches like Darkwood Beach.
3 out of 5
by M & K from Northern NY

Amazing beach

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The beach is absolutely amazing! The food is pretty good, but not a lot of variety. The resort is kind of run down. Pools are clean and nice areas. Weather was fantastic. Staff's attitudes were very annoying, a real disappointment. Truly loved the many beaches we visited. Will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marty from St. Pete Beach, FL

Wonderful Jolly Beach!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Charm, character, romantic (in the broad and the narrow sense) setting--but mostly THE STAFF!
Cons: Again, better WIFI connection would improve things for some.
Location: The beach is second to none (I live in a U.S. beach resort community, and this beach is equal to ours). Loved boat tour around island and snorkeling.
The best thing about our stay at the Jolly Beach Resort was the staff. They did everything we hoped and even more to make our stay easy, relaxed, and comfortable. Every bit of food and drink we had was perfect. We celebrated a wedding there, and from the hair and makeup for the bride, to the accommodations, to the dinner afterwards, to the ceremony itself--all we picture perfect! The one minor thing I would recommend (not for me, but for some) is better WIFI access. The grounds were gorgeous and beautifully kept, and I loved my little private, cozy balcony! Also, the concierge did a wonderful job of familiarizing us with the amenities and local possibiilities. I hope to go back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marty, How great to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended at Jolly Beach and felt so well-looked after by the staff! Customer service is a really important priority for us, so I love to hear feedback like this. I know our gardeners will also appreciate your comments about the resort’s grounds. Thanks for letting us know what you thought about the beach, food, and other details that created an easy, relaxed stay for you. We hope to see you back in Antigua soon! General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kenya from Jersey City, NJ

Beautiful hotel right on the beach, nice....

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The drinks, food, the service that was provided by hotel staff.
Cons: Improved the casino and get dealers for the tables instead of providing cab service to the King Casino.
Location: Its in the middle of the city and everything is about 15mins away for some activities but overall great location with some activities included.
My 1st time in Antigua at this hotel was a Great Experience. I would recommend this hotel to all (i.e. couples, families with kids, single people etc...) and include the all inclusive package food & beverage. Its a great place to relax & enjoy your time away from everyday routine life style. The Spa services is well worth the experience, reasonable prices for great massage.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Dishonest!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing
I booked my stay at this place thinking that food and amenities would be included. Imagine my surprise and disappointment when I was told that, although the legal name of this hotel is "Jolly Beach Resort and Spa Antigua-All Inclusive," nothing but the room itself is actually included. This is dishonest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jolly Beach Resort offers both room-only and all inclusive rates/packages. These rates were labelled as clearly as possible through our listing on Expedia, so I’m sorry to hear you felt misled. In light of your situation, and to reduce confusion for other guests, we have changed our policy and are now selling ONLY all inclusive packages on Expedia. Thanks, General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from NJ

Fantastic location on the beach!!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
It was exactly what I thought it was going to be. The resort was dated but clean. The room was small but accommodated me for the time I was there. The room would have been too small for two people. The food was exceptable but not four star. Breakfast was the best! Hotel staff was friendly and inviting. The staff at the bars had a "I don't care" attitude which really surprised me. The best part was the beach and location. I would recommend this resort as long as you have your eyes wide open. It is not the Ritz. If that is what you are accustom to then this resort is not for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are very small and very old construction

Posted Apr 7, 2014
What I paid for this hotel is ok the rates are very high but I got this deal from expedia it was excellent
2 out of 5
by Kaniz from Queens new York

Not the all inclusive I was expecting

Posted Apr 1, 2014
We stayed at the hotel from 27 - 31st of March. Hotel isn't all that make sure you do all inclusive cz food r crazy expensive. I've been to so many all inclusive hotels but this wasn't what I expected. The hotel staffs N people on the island are amazing and extremely helpful.feel free to take the local bus it's safe N cheap. $2 a person. We stayed in the superior king it was very small . shower is even smaller 1 person can't even move around easily. Shower head was horrible but they fix it when we asked to. Food wasn't so good almost same children N rice everyday for lunch buffet. Same thing for dinner unless you make reservations but the Indiana restaurant Utsav was good but in our 4 nights stay we only had it 1ce. beach was beautiful, you can negotiate with the locals for activities. Overall it's a nice place but it's like 2* hotel not what I paid for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Kaniz, It sounds like you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us! I’m so happy to hear you had such a great experience with our staff and with our maintenance team, as well as with the people of Antigua. I’m also happy to hear that you loved our beautiful beach and your meal at Utsav, our Indian restaurant. On that note, I did want to be clear that we don’t serve “children” on any of our menus (I believe you meant chicken). :) In order to offer our guests a wide range of options, we do have 5 restaurants on site, and I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have a chance to try some of the others. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! General Manager Jolly Beach Resort & Spa
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by katie from upstate, NY

Nice time, beautiful beach

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Not clean. There was hair in the shower from whoever stayed in it b4. There are only 12- 1980's slots in the casino. No dealers. The beach is absolutely gorgeous. The best quality food is at bocciolos. Don't get Joice as a bartender very unfriendly and rolls her eyes. Neil is the best bartender.