Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely apartments and wonderful staff but ...

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Wonderful staff and beautiful grounds. Very good restaurant with excellent food.
Cons: Perhaps a better choice of food in the shop - otherwise to buy food for self-catering one has to drive to St John's which is over half an hour away.
Location: Lovely bay with good sailing but sadly not swimming in the sea because of the seaweed. Three infinity pools, which were very good.
Lovely apartments with very well equipped kitchens. Beautifully maintained grounds. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and willing to do everything to make the stay enjoyable. Sadly, much of Antigua, especially on the Atlantic side, which includes Nonsuch Bay, was covered with seaweed, which mean that swimming in the sea was not really possible and there was a very unpleasant smell for much of the time. This is a major issue for the island and the locals are rightly very worried about the implications for the future of the tourist trade. Because of this problem, I could not recommend this resort or any other on the Atlantic side of the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Wonderful

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The facilities, apartment is large and clean,very modern with balconies to sunbathe on if you don't want to go to one of the 3 infinity pools or beach
Cons: The provision of mosquito nets and removal of water baths outside payments which encourage their breeding. Also greater choice in the restaurant.
Location: Half moon bay is a must see
This hotel surpassed our expectations, our apartment was beautiful, home away from home. The staff were friendly, the facilities great. The sea is a bit choppy and the restaurant if you aren't going to self cater is pricey, my husband and I had dinner one night, two steaks, no starters, deserts or wine and it was $150. It would A&O help if they had mosquito nets because the Mosquitos are huge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful room with sailing on the side.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms, reception/restaurant, and layout to the resort. Sailing facilities were great. Very friendly staff throughout.
Cons: The road into the resort, which is already being done. More perishable food available at the store (fruit, mainly).
Location: If you want to go to a good swimming beach, Half Moon Bay is close by, but does require a car to get to. Harmony Hall is on the same road.
Nonsuch is fairly remote, but it seems most resorts in Antigua are a bit off the beaten path. The road into the resort is being repaved (cement!) now, and from the rate they were working on it, I expect it will be done by sometime in November/December. It was passable with our little low rental car as it is right now, but bumpy. The rooms are as gorgeous as they look on the website, and the view is beautiful. We gave the room comfort a 5 we used the air con at night, but the way the rooms are made, if there is ANY breeze, you really don't need it during the day, which was really lovely. We had the sailing package, and their sailing fleet and staff were fantastic - the boats were in perfect condition, with what looked like new sails on every boat we saw out (the resort was closed for September, and we went in mid-October), and everything in great order. We went out with a sailing instructor for the first few times to get familiar with the boat, learn the local reefs, and to even sail out to a snorkeling site. They were very accommodating. There are two sites for snorkeling that are reachable by boat from the resort, and the resort regularly will take you out to the sites twice a day, 3 days a week. The beach is not much of a swimming beach (sea grass on the bottom), but is well shaded with palms, and there are 2 very nice infinity pools. We were there during tropical storm Gonzalo - and were very impressed by how quickly they cleaned up a big mess on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Lovely modern resort with amazing food

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Amazing secluded location with brilliant food
Cons: The road into the resort is still a track at the moment but they started work on the proper road while we were there so it should be sorted soon
Location: Secluded location with snorkelling reef on nearby Green Island
We spent 8 days at Nonsuch Bay for our honeymoon in early August 2014. We had a 1 bed apartment which was right next to one of the three pools and had a lovely view down to the bay. The resort was lovely and quiet so we had a really relaxing time. There is a sailing/water-sports club on site and when your staying on the resort lots of the activities were free including sailing, kayaking, paddle-boarding etc. The restaurant on site (The Bay at Nonsuch) is amazing, looks right out over the beach and the bay, the food is BIG, we never managed more than one course but its great. Lots of local fish on the menu and had a big BBQ one night. Zoe on reception is so lovely, happy and helpful so look out for her!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peterfrom UK

Top value for money and excellent staff attitude.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Good layout of site especially restaurant. Always cooling breeze blowing giving a great feeling although actual air temperature around thirty
Cons: Main access road to the resort
Location: English Harbour, Nelsons Dockyard, Devils Bridge, Betty Hope plantation
Food was excellent with menu changing completely every two days
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karafrom Toronto, ON

Beautiful location, friendly staff!

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nonsuch Bay Resort is beautifully kept and set on a scenic hillside with great views. The resort is 5 star - modern units are FULLY stocked (everything you could want in the kitchen, washer/dryer, hair dryer, wifi, and very clean). I was there with my mom for four nights. It was low season, so the whole island was pretty quiet and Nonsuch was no different. There were a few couples there and some young families, but this is not your place if you're looking to party. The pools are amazing, the beach is not. We knew that ahead of time from the other reviews, and rented a car. We drove the whole island and saw many of the beaches, and in my opinion Half Moon Bay (which is 5 minutes from Nonsuch) is the best beach on the island. The staff at Nonsuch is super friendly and will go out of their way to help you with any request. If I weren't the type who likes to travel to new places, I would go back to Nonsuch Bay Resort in a heartbeat!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by conettafrom scotland

huge rooms

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel staff were very pleasant , but the location is poor. The beach is very small and not kept in good condition. the road to the hotel is awful , room cleaner was not too good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by martha hamiltonfrom NYC

a missed opportunity by management

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nonsuch Resort is quite remote from English Harbor and Nelson's Boatyard, the nearest center for restaurants and stores. Added to the distance is quite a long stretch of unpaved and potholed road. The result of the resort's isolation would be an impulse to hang out at the resort's beach and eat at the restaurant -UNFORTUNATELY, the beach is quite unappetizing: excessive seaweed and algal growth - and the restaurant is ridiculously expensive and nothing to rave about. We took daily taxis to beautiful Half Moon Bay to swim - and additional taxis to English Harbor for dinners and spent less money than if we chose to eat in at the resort restaurant. The best thing about Nonsuch was its contracted car service with VERNON'S - and the incredible kindness of Antiguans in general.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by we are newly refrom new city, ny

A wonderful gorgeous place.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
It was a fabulous place ! Quiet, idyllic, food and service excellent. Pool and beach well maintained and lovely,. Bay has seaweed unlike other beaches in Antigua. Go to long bay for a pretty beach. Nonsuch could use another restaurant for variety. There are activities like sailing and snorkeling and kayaking. But no night life which was fine for us. All the activity is on the other side around St. John. The apt was lovely. A little pricey to stay but worth it. And cabs can take you everywhere, forget Harmony Hall for dinner, we heard so much about it and the food was subpar. The restaurant and bar at Nonsuch was superior. We loved it and hope to return soon !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annettefrom Toronto, Ontario

Just what the Doctor ordered.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Tranquility, luxurious suites, quaint beach and high caliber dinning.
Cons: A small, beachfront grille would be a great addition by providing a simple lunch and beverage on the beach.
Location: Like most Atiguan properties of this caliber, it is a bit off of the beaten path. Several beaches and landmarks are within a 15 or 20 minute drive.
The entire property was well kept, well managed and an absolute delight all around. This trip was booked for the purpose of being in the sun, fully relaxed, away from the crowds and with some self pampering in mind. Nonsuch Bay Resort provided everything that we had hoped for. Hats off to the chef for the amazing and creative meals.