Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice, relaxing and entertaining resort.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: I really liked the closeness to the beach. I also enjoyed having the delicious food.
Cons: The construction during the day.
Location: There is a tourist site to visit and plenty of beaches. The town center has shops and restaurants. Water sports are popular too.
Came here as a guest of a wedding. It was a fantastic experience overall. There was some construction going on outside of my room and my area that was interrupting a little bit to the stay but was manageable as I was not in the room most of the time. The beach is lovely and the pools are plenty! Restaurants were quite long to wait for the food to come unless buffet style so made sure to get to the restaurant early. The food was delicious but hot food could have been hotter (temperature wises). Weather was perfect and not too hot during the day and still stayed warm at night. Sandals Grande Antigua is a couples all-inclusive resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheeseburger in Paradise

Posted Dec 15, 2014
It is hard not to have a good time in a place as lovely as Antigua. But we had more than a good time at Sandals, it was an excellent time. The food was very good, with our favorite dining at Barefoot by the Sea. Great jerk chicken, broiled lobster and, of course, a cheeseburger in paradise. It met our standards for fantasy dining at the beach. We had to restrain ourselves at the various bars around the property because the bartenders did such an excellent job of mixing interesting tropical beverages. Excellent food and beverages everywhere at Sandals. We tried to keep from gaining weight by participating in the different water sports that were included, including free boat transportation to snorkeling spots, as well as walking around the property to enjoy the tropical splendor. The staff was always friendly and helpful as well. Seven days at Sandals and we never felt compelled to leave the resort. A great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New jersey

Just bring pretzels!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Cons: at check-in i ordered candle light dinnerbut did not get call until last day.
We went for my wife's 50th birthday, just wanted a nice, no-stress, romantic get-away. ( and we got it!) The mediteranean suite was beautiful. We had a great view of pool and beach, the private pool bungalows don't have perfect privacy,and have no view at all. All rooms have a fully stocked (free) bar, which was great, but would have been perfect with a bag of pretzels every day. The pastry shop had pastries and gelato, but no chips, or munchies. the lunch counter (next to caribean lobby) had a few sandwiches, some nachos (eh) was only open 11-5. other than that it was all sit down restaurants or lunch buffet. The restaurants were good, food was tasty and well presented, they didn't rush you, which was nice because 7-10 there is not much to do but eat. they have music groups playing, strolling guitar guy,or a steel drum band ( very romantic), but your suppose to giggle and cuddle a-lot. We met other nice couples and would have dinner and talk with new friends. during the day we sat at pool or beach and just decompressed. the pool bars and jacuzzi's were great. Always some caribean music playing in background. Be sure to order appetizers (free anyway) some portions are small but most were fine.( you can always order another dish if one was not enough). Overall, the resort is exactly what they tell you it is, romantic, all-inclusive, and relaxed. p.s. you only have to wear pants and shirt at eleanors, they rest you can wear shorts, sandals and any shirt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle Wa

25 anniversary

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The food was great, the beach was excellent.
Location: not a lot to do on the island, the shopping trip to downtown where the cruise ships dock was to short and not that much to see.
This is the 3rd Sandals we have stayed at. If you want to relax and not do a whole lot, this is the place for you. if you are looking for lots of activities and night life go to a different one. The diving was good, the beach was excellent, the food was very good. everything was clean. not a lot of playmakers like at some of the others. we have been to some where the list of daytime activities was long and night time shows and dancing was plentiful, again not here. This is best for a relaxing trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Great amazing cleanest hotel I stayed"!!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Everything all close by
My husband I loved it they were so friendly food is ok not bad... The cleaning crew cleaned ur room 2 a day amazingly clean!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

nice hotel staff could of been a bit more outgoin

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Overall awsone trip great food beautiful weather i would recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Markfrom UK

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Restaurants and staff were fantastic and good not go enough for you pity the same cannot be said for the reception staff who always looked put out and were less than helpful at any request
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Bello...ma solo per coppie in luna di miele

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Il resort è bellissimo,molto curato e su una spiaggia paradisiaca.E' importante però sapere che è solo per coppie e non c'è la minima organizzazione di attività ricreative. La cucina è varia ma non il top
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Pretty resort to relax

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We have been to sandals Montego bay and sandals Antigua. We thought the service and nightlife were better in Jamaica but Antigua resort was prettier. We didn't care for the solicitors on the beach in Antigua. If you are going just to relax its great if you want to party go to Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mikey B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com