Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Pretty resort to relax

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We have been to sandals Montego bay and sandals Antigua. We thought the service and nightlife were better in Jamaica but Antigua resort was prettier. We didn't care for the solicitors on the beach in Antigua. If you are going just to relax its great if you want to party go to Jamaica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Fantastic resort.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Louisiana

Sandals Grande Resort Antigua, West Indies

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: I LOVED everything, absolutely no complaints!
Location: We only left the resort one time for a shopping adventure in St John's. There are numerous tours available if interested and many excursions offered.
We celebrated our 21 wedding anniversary here and had a remarkable experience! From the minute we set foot on the resort we were treated like royalty. The hospitality, the restaurants, the staff, the entertainment and everything else on the resort was the most wonderful! The staff went over and beyond to please us and everyone was so happy to see you, greet you, hug you. The restaurant choices and food was AMAZING!! There was never a time that we had a bad experience in any restaurant and we had so many choices, almost too many. I have never been treated so well on a vacation like the staff treated me here. They were as happy to see us as we were to see them. It was the most relaxing place I have ever been and do plan to go back. During the day, the sounds of nature(birds, ocean) and the sounds of blenders mixing drinks is what you heard. In the evening, the sounds of crickets and frogs chirping is what your ears were tuned to. We did a photo shoot on the beach which was (extra $$) and had the best time doing so. We also enjoyed Red Lane Spa and had couples massages. Literally all you need to do each day is get up and get dressed, everything else is done for you! We enjoyed it and will be back. I highly recommend Sandals Grande Resort Antigua, West Indies to anyone for vacation or whatever it is you are celebrating! Before leaving, you will feel like part of the family there. Prepare to gain a few pounds while there but keep in mind there is a very nice gym on site.
2 out of 5
by Joseph from Huntington, WV

Over-Priced, Sub-Par at best Resort in Caribbean

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The best part of this hotel was the pools and beach, and when it was time to check-out and head back home...
Cons: Room decor, room maintenance, dining, activities,
Location: We didn't leave the resort after learning from our airport shuttle driver that it was election week and it was in best interest to stay on property
This was an extremely disappointing vacation to this particular Sandals destination. The room was very dated with pink and green tile in the bathroom, along with the mildew that was in all of the tile joints. The toilet was loose at the floor, and it looked like my 4 year old attempted to caulk the gap that was between toilet and floor. The hair dryer was from 1991, and could only be used in the living area, as there were no plug-ins in the bathroom. The furniture in the living area was dated. The dining was nothing more than your typical all-inclusive type food. Breakfast was the same daily at all restaurants but one, which was at Eleanor's, and this restaurant was by far the best at resort. All other restaurants were OK at best, except for the OK Corral which was by far the worst on the resort property. The beach was beautiful, after all it is the caribbean, but the amount of "salesman" type people was annoying. Everything from cheap-made goods to overpriced excursions was offered to us more than a dozen times in one beach sitting. The pool was by far the best pool experience that I have had at a resort. There were many pools to lay at and each one had a different atmosphere. If you go to this resort stay on the "Mediterranean" side of the resort, as this is the side that is modern and has the best pools and restaurants. It is hard to say if a Sandals resort would be my choice again for our next vacation. After this experience, it would be hard to return to...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Giuseppe from Gaitherbsurg MD

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I had a really wonderful time there. The resort is really beautiful with lots of things to do nice beach, lost of restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable. The stuff was always ready to help smiling and welcoming you so 100% satisfied. The only little suggestion maybe could be to have more people involving you in day activities like playing games or arrange pool parties and so on at day time too. But this is really being picky
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew from Boston

Perfect for a romantic / relaxing vacation

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful, quiet location with plenty of space for guests. I was impressed that, despite the resort being fully booked, we had no issues finding available lawnchairs, finding quiet space to relax, renting equipment for watersports or being seated for meals. I highly recommend staying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Boston, MA area

Beautiful property

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Property was great.
Cons: No chairs on beach - I'm guessing because beach is public.
Location: The only time we left the resort was to go shopping in St. John. Heard the catamaran cruise around the island was good.
The grounds were excellent - very tropical and expansive. Main pool had plenty of chairs and swim up bar. Fire pit areas were a nice surprise. Food and drinks were good and plentiful. Entertainment was good from bands playing to trivia games and activities in the pool. We had a first floor room in the Oleander building of the Caribbean side next to one of the small pools. Nothing fancy but was sufficient and very clean. The rooms on the Medditeranean building we heard were newer but that building is further back and had several floors. It was nice to be able to walk out from first floor. Had to pay extra for WiFi in this room type - $42 for the week. We came here for rest and relaxation and we got just that. No complaints at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dean from UK

Beautiful Beach

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Location and beach were excellent Layout,pools and gardens really nice All sports, water, gym, tennis very good
Cons: Quality of the food, lots of choice, but only average quality Some communal areas need improvement
Location: Not much to see, St John's very limited for shopping. Boat and Helicopter trips excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark W from London, UK

High quality all inclusive

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall we had a great trip to Sandals Antigua. The hotel complex is large without being onerous to get around, and you soon get your bearings with everything that's available. The resort is well-maintained, and only a short trip from the airport, with transfers taken care of efficiently. The service for the large part is impeccable, and the choice of food and drink is extremely good for an all-inclusive resort. At no time do you get the sense that Sandals is trying to "cut corners" or save money with sub-standard food/drink, as you might get from lower-quality all inclusive places. Overall, the experience was excellent and very relaxing. My gripes are fairly minor; such as on occasion the pool area can get busy and finding a good spot can be tricky. Also, the evening meals tended to be almost too "efficient", with courses served very quickly after each other such that having a long, relaxing dining experience (as you might in a typical restaurant) is difficult to achieve. Overall, I'd highly recommend Sandals if you're looking to unwind in the sun with a few cocktails!