Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Stayed at ST James Royal Suites November 2014

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Location and rooms.
Cons: Service. Both at breakfast and dinner. On 2 occasions we were on desert before our drinks arrived.
Location: Great location, 2 beaches. Golf at Cedar Valley, nice course. Shirley Heights on Sunday. Trappas for food and OJ's for food. Both worth a visit.
Great rooms, on the quiet area of the resort, access to pool and decking where no children allowed. Resort kept very clean and overall staff very friendly. Breakfast in Rainbow can be slow to be seated. Overall food good. Great bar for evening. Entertainment provided during day and evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great place to escape from it all

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Pools - plenty of seats in sun & shade. Staff - very helpful and friendly. Rooms - spacious and comfortable with great showers
Cons: Wi-fi Food (apart from in Piccolo Mondi)
Location: Nothing within walking distance but if you have a car it's very easy to get everywhere. Car hire is quite expensive though.
Just returned from a week here and would happily go back. This is a lovely, well maintained resort with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The beaches and pools are kept clean and the staff go out of their way to help. I requested feather pillows on booking and there was one there on check-in. I asked for a second & it was there in time for that night. It is a lovely hotel with lots of facilities - it is easy to participate in the watersports and there are exercise classes during the day, nightly entertainment (very low key) and even a small cinema with nightly screenings. I would highly recommend it. The only reasons I haven't given it a score of 5 out of 5 are: 1. The wifi is terrible (even in-room which you can pay extra for) although I believe they are currently working on upgrading it as they were cabling while we were there 2. The food is pretty average. The breakfasts are good but the dinners were not as good as others I've had in the Caribbean. We didn't have lunch but instead had afternoon tea which was usually quite tasty. We splashed out on the last night & went to the Piccolo Mondi restaurant where you pay a premium of $35 per person. That was a whole different matter - it was delicious!! The ambience was also a notch up from the other restaurants on the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Good hotel, incredible beach and sea, hard working staff. Food and food service could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chester

Ideal for the energetic

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: food and drinks.space. choice of swimming pools.size of bedroom.
Cons: spraying to reduce sand flies and mosquitoes. Not have loud music outside past 10.30 pm.nailvarnish and cheaper gifts in the shop
Location: South East of Antigua. Nelson's Dockyard and English Harbour.Falmouth bay. Shirley heights.
We spent 4 days here in September. The hotel was not full so plenty of sunbeds on the beach and by the pools.Aqua aerobics each morning was brilliant. Evening entertainment fine except for on a Wednesday when it went on until midnight.Cinema each evening.Loud and unpleasant right near our room (714) which was great in every other respect.A choice of 2 beaches one breezy the other sheltered and fr too hot for us. The sea was warm but visibility poor. Snorkelling worth while a saw rays,octopus,thousands of conch shells ,fish and 2 lobsters.Food and drinks good with a choice of restaurants which opened at different times.Mainly British guests .Warm and breezy with occasional showers.Large room with large bed. Air con and ceiling fan.outdoor seating area overlooking the reef.lots of boating activities. Nothing outside the resort so need a taxi which were plentiful.30 minute drive to st Johns for shopping. WEi fi free at reception but variable signal strength. 10 $ a day in the room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle upon Tyne.

Lovely relaxing holiday, beautiful island.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Clean, reception staff very helpful, Piccalos restaurant gorgeous food. Friendly staff, golf buggys great to ferry us around if needed.
Cons: had a problem with a blocked toilet, had to be sorted 3 times, they just bodge things and make do rather than fit a new part, had to eventually!
Location: The island is small so you can get anywhere you like fairly quickly.
The hotel was clean, staff friendly and well maintained grounds. We had a beachfront room, lovely sunrises (6am). Breakfast served in the Garden room restaurant, buffet or something from the menu, they serve lunch there too, but we only ate twice a day as it was too hot and breakfast was enough to last until dinner. The Docksider food I thought was a bit disappointing, CoCo's is great for a relaxed burger, ribs etc. Piccalos restaurant is fabulous, costs $35 dollars each but so worth it!! We hired a car, £350 for a Toyota SUV, the roads are in poor condition but its well worth getting around the island, lots of places to visit, Nelsons dockyard a must, Shirley Heights for a fantastic sunset but I wasn't impressed with St Johns, overpriced and a hassle especially when the cruise ships are in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel and grat food. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I had an amazing vacation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ny

NICE PLACE

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The resort is pretty spacious. ocean on one side bay on the other.
Cons: the beachfront rooms are old and antiquated need major upgrades. room keys needs to be upgraded. big bulky keys to carry around
Location: location nice. st johns, nelsons dock yard
Royal Suites are very nice... Staff are extremely friendly & accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful Suroundings/ Very clean

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: the beautiful grounds, the maid service was great, the guys driving us in the golf carts, the food was mostly very good, reception girls were helpful.
Cons: Would like to have more entertainment in the evening for those who don't just want to drink. Needed more information on what activities were available
Location: We found some snorkeling off premesis on our own. And we enjoyed "Devil's Bridge" We liked the tour around the island
Everything was nice, except the girls at the booking of activities did not seem knowledgeable about the thing available on and near the resort. We asked 2 different girls where and how to get to snorkeling ( which was a big reason for us to come to your island) and the only thing they told us about was the two catamaran tours around the island. We did the one with "Excellence" and enjoyed it. We found out later that your own facility has snorkel trips every day ! That would have been nice to know. We found out on the day before we were leaving and had other trip planned for the last dayl We found a snorkel trip out on the road as we were traveling around by our rental car. Beautiful grounds and most of the staff was very friendly. Would still give it another try with the knowledge we found on our own. PS .The dive shop was closed for the week we were there. Perhaps if they were open , we would have found the information we were looking for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family Maistre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Amfrom New York

Outdated resort...slow service...no entertainment

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outdated resort, rooms need updating. Your room key is an old fashioned key attached to a piece of wooden board that you have to drag around with you. Safe is also a large key that you have to drag around with you. Updating to a swipe card and a password operated safe is essential. Food is eatable...not the best. There are only 3 restaurants, (one not all inclusive..piccolo) one was only open 3 days a week. Breakfast was Buffett only at rainbow and everyday it was the same food. Docksiders was Buffett, had a.good grill going, only open 3 days a week. Coco had the same exact menu for lunch and dinner, everyday there was a special dish. Was happy that rainbow had a la carte for dinner, but service was extremely slow.. 3 hours from start to finish...food not the best, just ok. The staff was obviously very disorganized and a flawed service system, even though I believe there was no system in place. No music throughout resort, sometimes they may have music on very low volume at reef pool, if you want a completely quiet vacation, this is the place. extremely slow restaurant service. Staff was not knowledgeable about what was going on in the resort. One night there was a fire eating guy, with a few girls dancing, one night a steel band at docksiders which was nice while you ate dinner, but only one night. Reception did not provide all the necessary information...about restaurants and activities...you couldn't get a printout of them either, you could only walk to a glass case where they pinned up the info...not very convenient. Bars were not stocked...very few choices for drinks. Some staff members had an attitude and not helpful,but most were very nice. Good things...great location, bay side and ocean side. We loved the bay side, since we have a small children. Views were beautiful from the room as well. Resort is cleaned and well maintained.