Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: General atmosphere, staff, rooms, very civilised system of letting you use a room to shower and change in post check out.
Cons: Just personal taste but we'd have loved Docksider restaurant to be table service. Otherwise nothing.
Location: English harbour, Nelson's Dockyard and Shirkey Heights worth visiting. We were only there a week and pretty lazy.
We had a very relaxing stay at St James' resort in January. Lovely ocean view room, would recommend - it was very quiet as only one storey building and directly overlooking the ocean so no people passing the balcony. Food and drinks were consistently good, service always very friendly and generally very good. Shame Docksider restaurant is a buffet, but it was good to at least have one table service restaurant, and we enjoyed the food at both Docksider and Reef. The beach (Mamora) was lovely and very quiet - ideal for relaxing at the far end - and we had the adults only pool to ourselves when we fancied a change. The only disappointment was that it was so windy we couldn't even sit on Coco beach, but that wasn't the hotel's fault! Take a trip to English Hatbour and Nelson's dockyard, as well as Shirley Heights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Lovely resort

Posted Jan 1, 2015
I always check out the bad reviews but wasn't put off by them as you sometimes have to read between the lines! Staff couldn't have been more friendly including maids, porters & security. Food was great and a good selection of places to catch the sun. Beautiful well kept clean beach and pools, beautiful jetty on Mamora beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cortlandt Manor, NY

Great family vacation!

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Options for food and activities.
Cons: The beverages and an ATM on site.
Took the family of four to St. James in Antigua and had a fun and relaxing time. The staff was just very welcoming and attentive and friendly at all times. I can't speak highly enough about what a great team they are. There are many activities for everyone — swimming in the ocean or bay, kayaking, catamaran sailing, paddle-boating, beach sports, etc. There was plenty of food choices — some restaurants were better than others, for sure, but there was quite the variety. The drinks were my only criticism. Not very strong and the wine was simply terrible. And they do need an ATM on site!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cyprus

Lovely resort

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly. We also met some really nice people on holiday there. Very good atmosphere.
Cons: Just small things like bowls of water for feet on your terrace coming off the sand. Maybe beach attendants to serve drinks and keep beaches clean.
Location: The scenery is beautiful. There are masses of bays and beaches to visit. St John's is the capital and main town to visit. Swim with stingrays!
Wonderful 10 days in the sun. Two large beaches, one for watersport the other for lazing in the sun. 3 swimming pools and several bars and lots of activities organised daily. We used 3 of the restaurants regularly and the food was excellent. Couldn't fault it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Stayed at ST James Royal Suites November 2014

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Location and rooms.
Cons: Service. Both at breakfast and dinner. On 2 occasions we were on desert before our drinks arrived.
Location: Great location, 2 beaches. Golf at Cedar Valley, nice course. Shirley Heights on Sunday. Trappas for food and OJ's for food. Both worth a visit.
Great rooms, on the quiet area of the resort, access to pool and decking where no children allowed. Resort kept very clean and overall staff very friendly. Breakfast in Rainbow can be slow to be seated. Overall food good. Great bar for evening. Entertainment provided during day and evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great place to escape from it all

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Pools - plenty of seats in sun & shade. Staff - very helpful and friendly. Rooms - spacious and comfortable with great showers
Cons: Wi-fi Food (apart from in Piccolo Mondi)
Location: Nothing within walking distance but if you have a car it's very easy to get everywhere. Car hire is quite expensive though.
Just returned from a week here and would happily go back. This is a lovely, well maintained resort with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The beaches and pools are kept clean and the staff go out of their way to help. I requested feather pillows on booking and there was one there on check-in. I asked for a second & it was there in time for that night. It is a lovely hotel with lots of facilities - it is easy to participate in the watersports and there are exercise classes during the day, nightly entertainment (very low key) and even a small cinema with nightly screenings. I would highly recommend it. The only reasons I haven't given it a score of 5 out of 5 are: 1. The wifi is terrible (even in-room which you can pay extra for) although I believe they are currently working on upgrading it as they were cabling while we were there 2. The food is pretty average. The breakfasts are good but the dinners were not as good as others I've had in the Caribbean. We didn't have lunch but instead had afternoon tea which was usually quite tasty. We splashed out on the last night & went to the Piccolo Mondi restaurant where you pay a premium of $35 per person. That was a whole different matter - it was delicious!! The ambience was also a notch up from the other restaurants on the complex.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Good hotel, incredible beach and sea, hard working staff. Food and food service could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chester

Ideal for the energetic

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: food and drinks.space. choice of swimming pools.size of bedroom.
Cons: spraying to reduce sand flies and mosquitoes. Not have loud music outside past 10.30 pm.nailvarnish and cheaper gifts in the shop
Location: South East of Antigua. Nelson's Dockyard and English Harbour.Falmouth bay. Shirley heights.
We spent 4 days here in September. The hotel was not full so plenty of sunbeds on the beach and by the pools.Aqua aerobics each morning was brilliant. Evening entertainment fine except for on a Wednesday when it went on until midnight.Cinema each evening.Loud and unpleasant right near our room (714) which was great in every other respect.A choice of 2 beaches one breezy the other sheltered and fr too hot for us. The sea was warm but visibility poor. Snorkelling worth while a saw rays,octopus,thousands of conch shells ,fish and 2 lobsters.Food and drinks good with a choice of restaurants which opened at different times.Mainly British guests .Warm and breezy with occasional showers.Large room with large bed. Air con and ceiling fan.outdoor seating area overlooking the reef.lots of boating activities. Nothing outside the resort so need a taxi which were plentiful.30 minute drive to st Johns for shopping. WEi fi free at reception but variable signal strength. 10 $ a day in the room .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle upon Tyne.

Lovely relaxing holiday, beautiful island.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Clean, reception staff very helpful, Piccalos restaurant gorgeous food. Friendly staff, golf buggys great to ferry us around if needed.
Cons: had a problem with a blocked toilet, had to be sorted 3 times, they just bodge things and make do rather than fit a new part, had to eventually!
Location: The island is small so you can get anywhere you like fairly quickly.
The hotel was clean, staff friendly and well maintained grounds. We had a beachfront room, lovely sunrises (6am). Breakfast served in the Garden room restaurant, buffet or something from the menu, they serve lunch there too, but we only ate twice a day as it was too hot and breakfast was enough to last until dinner. The Docksider food I thought was a bit disappointing, CoCo's is great for a relaxed burger, ribs etc. Piccalos restaurant is fabulous, costs $35 dollars each but so worth it!! We hired a car, £350 for a Toyota SUV, the roads are in poor condition but its well worth getting around the island, lots of places to visit, Nelsons dockyard a must, Shirley Heights for a fantastic sunset but I wasn't impressed with St Johns, overpriced and a hassle especially when the cruise ships are in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel and grat food. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I had an amazing vacation!