Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

St. James Paradise

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: We liked that it was a family resort with lots of children of varying ages. Our children found a group of friends that they enjoyed being with.
Cons: Our rooms were a bit dated. Perhaps painting them in brighter colors and investing in new pillows would help.
Location: Everything was easily accessible. There was always something going on from volleyball to bingo to nightly entertainment.
Overall the trip was enjoyed by all 5 members of our family. We had upgraded to a room on the ocean side which was a much cooler, breezier and quieter part of the resort. However most days were spent by the bay side enjoying the water sports. The staff was great. In fact upon our arrival, after eating, we headed to the sailing area. Even though it was about 4:15 and they closed at 4:30 they invited us to take a catamaran out. Very accommodating! The food was delicious and drinks plentiful. The time it took to get our drinks with our meals is one of the complaints we have. But you are on island time. The only other complaint were the pillows in our room. They were hard and some seemed to have been washed and dried making them lumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens NY

Nice family oriented hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and well maintained. Excellent staff
Cons: The wait time for transportation from the villa to the main was lengthy. Sometimes we had to call twice however the drivers were friendly and kind
Location: The location is about 45 mins from town. We enjoyed a brunch cruise that included snorkeling and time at the beach. Plenty of small shops
I booked the club room for myself and my daughter to attend a destination wedding and spend some quality time with my daughter for 6 days. We had a great time. The staff were extremely friendly to begin we were upgraded free of charge to a 2 bedroom villa. Very spacious and clean. Very good food and many activities. There are several pools and 2 beaches. My daughter had a great time with the water sports. Enjoyed some awesome mixed drinks and good music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Beautiful resort

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Great experience. It was clean, safe, private and beautiful. It takes a little while to check in so be patient. I recommend the beachfront room, the catamaran and going to piccolo mondo for dinner one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, ny

no activities

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: rooms and the beach area is good
Cons: more activities so the young people like the teenagers won'y get bored
Location: you have to go 40 mins away to jetski
this is a dull resort, no nighttime activities, nothing to do, people even complain about music in the pool area, i think this hotel won't be good for the young at heart
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The service was not very good. Very unhappy😠😡😠😡
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Beautiful Resort; delicious food & drinks.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
My overall experience at the St James Club was excellent. The food and drinks were delicious (combination of traditional and island flavored). My room was spacious with a comfortable mattress and nice view of the ocean. For the most part the staff were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trudy from London

What a place to relax.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The variety of food over the different restaurants from the formal to the informal style.
Cons: The in room wifi was a bit intermittent - it was just slow.
Location: We went to Shirley heights on the Sunday evening for Steel Bands and BBQ. Amazing sunset views. Shopping is only 30mins away by taxi in St Johns.!
The hotel and staff were all wonderful. Our room had amazing views over the bay side of the hotel and after a few days it felt like my husband and I had been there forever!. The food and entertainment was really good and made for a very very enjoyable holiday. I thought the photos on the hotel website were pretty accurate and represented what we got! Overall an amazing place and a good example of an excellent All Inclusive hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stan from London UK

St James - What a Wonderful Resort

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Everything - location, Staff, Restaurants, the personal approach they take to make your stay that whole lot more memorable.
Cons: jet ski's - only thing i can think off is they don't have jet ski's, they got everything else but a jet ski would of made it perfect.
Location: Shirley Heights - on a mountain watching the sunset over a spectaluar view whilst live music and food is available. Exellence Tour - a MUST do
This is an HONEST review - quite simply i can't fault it! ( and i would if i could ) Great location, Staff were amazing to the point we had checked out already and because we were waiting around for a friend we had met on the island luck was on and they kindly looked after our luggage and offered us lunch for free, there's customers service then there's that St James service, First Class all the way !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by martin

Great 4 star hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Stayed here with our children, the location was fabulous, and the food and drinks were good. We felt we got excellent value for money for this holiday and on this basis will hopefully return. I would however upgrade the room to a beachfront room next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from London

Great Hotel but not Five Stars

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: The great location. Superbly set-out. Great beaches. Good water sport and tennis facilities. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.
Cons: The rooms could do with a lack of paint. Safes with pin codes instead of the cumberson keys would be useful. Stronger wifi signal in the lobby.
Location: The complex is so large you don't need to leave, but if you do, go to the historic Nelsons Dockyard 10 mins drive away for a drink and walk around
Great Hotel with great facilities spread over a huge area and fantastic friendly staff. Overall I would recommend this Hotel if you want a 'value for money' All Inclusive break on the island. For the price paid, the Hotel facilities were great with two beaches (one ocean and one quiet bay), good watersports, excellent tennis courts, pools, and a good range of restaurants. However, it cannot advertise as a Five Star Hotel as several points let it down in this regard. The food was what you expect for an All Inclusive, but not very varied and not great for vegetarians. There was often long queues for tables in the restaurants as well which could easily be improved. The dress code for the restaurants was not advertised in advance or signalled in the booking confirmation. For men, a collared shirt has to be worn at three of the four restaurants so make sure you pack enough as I only had one (smelly by the end of the week). No water bottles are provided in your rooms which is quite unusual these days and in this standard of hotel. You were forced to buy your own bottles of water from the on-site shop... which frustratingly was closed at times when you wanted to buy some water. There is no wifi in the rooms which has its pluses and minuses depending on whether you want a relaxing wifi free holiday. You were told to use the wifi in the Hotel Lobby, but the signal was so weak with around 15-20 people trying to access at all times, that it was frustratingly slow.