Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet resort

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Here are some of my observations: 1. It is not on the beach. You will have to wait for a beach shuttle, take a taxi, or drive yourself to the beach. In low season, the beach they took guests to was Turner's beach which was about a 5-7 minute drive away. There is a restaurant, washroom facilities and free beach chairs for sugar ridge guests. During high season they also take you to Nest beach which is much closer. 2. Food: we only ate breakfast at the resort and I had no complaints, it was great with many different options. There are two restaurant options for dinner. 3. The accommodations are built into the mountain, sort of a sugar plantation feel about the property as opposed to a large beach resort. If you have any issues with climbing stairs or just don't feel like exerting yourself when going back to your room, either ask for a low numbered room (closer to resort but won't have the same views of the higher rooms) or you could wait call the golf buggy to being you up and down. The rooms were a little small compared to other Caribbean resorts but bed and pillows and patio and shower were all great. We were a little disappointed with the size of the plunge pool, which was the main reason to stay at sugar ridge. The plunge pool is tiny! (or maybe we were spoiled with ours in Manzanillo!) 2. Pools: we were a little disappointed - a few pool loungers were broken, they did not often clean the bugs out of the pool and the pools are on the small size (fine for low season)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing Stay!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
It was a beautiful experience and, being the offseason, we felt like we had the place to ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Berwick

Dream stay

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We did not do all inclusive and would rather take in the local cuisine . Everything was very easy, relaxed and met our needs. However, it's the low season and the entertainment in the evening was disappointing. Not the acts but the empty audience at the sugar club. However, loved our holiday and will be rebooking soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A very nice resort!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: There are 2 beaches within a 5 to 10 minutes drive and they're very easy to get to. There are 2 very nice restaurants located on the resort property.
I spent a week at Sugar Ridge and thoroughly enjoyed it! The entire staff was very friendly and accomodating; they went out of their way to make my stay memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

50th Birthday celebrations

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Quiet with great views. Excellent staff who could not have been more helpful.
Location: Shuttle to some great beaches was a bonus.
Had a fantastic time. Steps a little tiring but well worth it for the views. Staff very friendly and cheerful. They made my Birthday one to remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Honeymooners dream!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This boutique style hotel is fabulous. Tucked away on a mountain with ample privacy per each little room/bungalow. Rooms are spotless and the king size bed is so comfortable. Beach shuttle service allows you access to explore more than one beach. Pools are spectacular and the staff is the nicest I've met of all my travels. So accommodating. Food in the sugar club restaurant is great also. Definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel and very clean

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful place that is beautiful. We will recommend this to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paulyg from Chandler, AZ

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The infinity pool was great. Restaurants are nice but definitely after a couple days you want to start exploring other options. Jolly Harbour is close by which is a good alternative. The beaches are absolutely amazing. The hotel has some relationships with a couple of the beaches so that you can get a shuttle down to them with lounge chairs included. It's only a 5 to 10 minute jeep ride to the beaches. The hotel was very nice for Antigua. Minor repairs were probably necessary in certain areas, maybe not a five star in comparison to other luxury hotels you can find in the US. But overall we had a great time and it was a nice spot to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from South Lyon, MI

Relax in luxury!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Sugar Ridge Hotel/Resort was fabulous. My wife and I stayed for our honeymoon. The staff was extremely friendly and more than accommodating. The FOOD was unbelievably great!! We had the all-inclusive and ate well every day. It was very relaxing and pleasurable. In 9 days, there were only 2 little things to 'complain' about - one was not having a clean set of hand towels one morning and the other was a beetle crawling on the floor, but that's to be expected over there. Overall, this is still a FIVE STAR place. Would totally recommend to anyone!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diva from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Awesome place to stay with spectacular view

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: more room service options.
Location: Jet ski, horseback riding at Darkwood beach, Turner Beach, OJ's restaurants on the beach for native meals, zip line towards the end of Sweets.
I checked in with my kids and the hotel staff were only helpful but totally considerate towards my family. The breakfast was more than enough and however, I would have preferred they offered more in room service. By the way, the restaurant at the top of the hill, I believe it's called "CarMichael's" is a MUST highlight, though its a little pricy. We had a great experience, thanks to the hotel manager and the wonderful staffs, will definitely return soon!