Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Everything at this hotel was wonderful!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Hotel, rooms, food, staff, pool, drinks, beaches all perfect. The only downside was that the hotel allows people to reserve sunbeds with towels in the morning. This was most frustrating as there were sunbeds with no one on them for most of the day. People would often reserve a sunbeds by the pool, go off to the beach for the morning and come to their sunbeds mid-afternoon. The hotel should ban this behavior to make it fairer for everyone. Apart from this everything was lovely and I would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Cute hotel with beautiful beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We enjoyed that it wasn't a hotel and was more of a resort. There are a lot of activities to do during the day- kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, mini golf, tennis etc. There are porters who take you around the resort. It was very peaceful with the balcony of your room overlooking the water. Our complaints were that there is not an ATM on the resort grounds and wifi is not available in all rooms. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very pleased

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Very clean and very organize.
Cons: More seafood selection at the beach bar
Location: Do take the extreme antigua tour or the eco antigua tour
It was a very good place to visit, hotel staff was friendly very accommodating food was excellent....although I wish it would include more seafood and less chicken and burgers but the buffet was excellent. ALSO a bit more alcohol in the beverage wouldn't hurt anybody lol......overall 9 of 10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Minneapolis

Nice hotel with extras--everyone was entertained!

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Everyone was friendly and the hotel grounds are nice. Always plenty of drinks/food. Never felt crowded even though there were plenty of people there.
Cons: Nicer pullout couch.
Location: There is another nice beach within minutes of walking. We also took a taxi a couple of times that guest services arranged and that worked out well.
My family stayed and had a great time. The beach was nice and it was easy to use the kayaks, stand up paddle boards, etc. The mini golf course and tennis courts were also nice. The restaurants served great food. Usually buffets get boring but they continued to have many different choices each day. All of the staff were very pleasant. Overall we enjoyed Anigua and staying at the Verandah!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Vacation

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Quietness
Cons: not giving us a number
Location: beautifull everything close to do
Very nice resort did not like having to give our room # everywhere we went
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Texas

Great resort that didn't feel crowded.

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I decided to take a vacation without our 10 months old. Since Antigua is further than a few other locations we could have picked we weren't looking forward to the longer flight. But once we got to the resort we decided it was well worth it. The owner of The Verandah has the philosophy of creating a spread out concept for his resort and it makes all the difference. Even though it was spring break time and the resort was at 100% occupancy, we never felt crowed and were always able to get seated at the restaurant or grab a lawn chair on the beach. Great resort and service.
4 out of 5
by Diane and Ron from NJ

Nice villas but...

Posted Mar 6, 2014
This property was way too hilly for my husband and I. We are in our 70's and we were quite a walk to the beach . The bistro was 25 steps up from the beach as well. We enjoyed ourselves but our next vacation will have less hills to climb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Spectacular setting

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved our stay at the Verandah. Two small but perfect beaches, very quiet adult pool area, large main pool area and lots of space to walk around. All the staff are efficient and great fun. Excellent food, especially in Nicole's and great cocktails. We also loved the mini golf, pool, table tennis and fussball. Fab-u-lous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Toronto, Canada

nice place

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Cons: Was surprised there was no basketball court.
Great views,easy to walk to any beaches,pools or restaurants. Drinking water was better than what other people have written, same quality as home [Canada] Buffet food was OK, Buccaneer restaurant food was great, but hard to get a reservation. You need to apply more than 24 hrs. in advance. Service was slow, but food was worth waiting for. the restaurant was never full in the time we were there 6:45 -8:45 p.m.. Makes me wonder? Mini golf course needs some work, but challenging layout. No BB court? Nice beaches, with loaded bars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Steve M from London UK

Loved our stay here! - Steve M

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has lovely grounds and the staff are very polite and helpful. Lauri was great and made sure that the level of service we received was first-class throughout. The New Year's Eve party was fun! The room was spacious and clean. The food and drinks overall are excellent - I particularly liked the Beach Bar for lunch and Nicole's for dinner. I could happily have stayed longer than a week.