Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, UK

A beautiful place and a richly rewarding holiday

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Quiet location, comfortable cottage, lovely views and our hosts made this an idyllic setting for a richly rewarding holiday.
Cons: Nothing - just perfect as it is. Even the drought did not spoil our pleasure.
Location: Watch the wildlife by the lagoon, enjoy the beach, explore the history of the island, meet the people and see the sun go down.
Trust the very positive reviews. A welcoming phone call from Gabriela after we had booked assured us that we were in good hands. She and Douglas are delightful hosts, well-informed about the island and the people – whom we found good-natured and always helpful. On arrival we were presented with a complimentary bottle of wine, and taken to a well-stocked supermarket. Douglas, with map, directed us to good beaches and the many places to visit, including historic sites, beach bars and restaurants. A car is needed to explore, as well as to shop, but Yepton is well-placed, in a quiet area on the north-west coast, yet close to St John’s from which all roads across the island lead. It was also deeply rewarding just to be on the Yepton estate. Six comfortable cottages, with air-conditioned bedrooms, are well-equipped for self-catering and spaciously and attractively set out on the estate, adjacent to a small but welcome pool. Our cottage combined a spacious living room and kitchen. Always we ate outside on the veranda, attracting beautiful small birds and gorgeous green lizards to our table. It was enriching just to sit, relax, and take in the view. A few metres from the cottages across the lawn lies a lagoon, surrounded by shrubs, endlessly fascinating. The water is alive with brown pelicans, egrets, herons, terns and much else, with frigate birds overhead – and in the twilight small bats flit past. A ten-minute walk leads to a white-sand, blue-sea beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint Antiguan Cottages

Posted May 10, 2015
Nice, peaceful stay. Beautiful beach within 5 minute walk---pleasant pond on the property with a variety of bird visitors. Wonderful hosts (owners), who reside on the property. They took us to a supermarket our first day and had great recommendations for restaurants. Although the location was off the beaten track, you could participate in day excursions or get your own car and explore the island. There are a ton of beautiful beaches to explore. A real Antiguan experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Honeymoon in Paadise!!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Peaceful location and perfect hosts.
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: Peaceful and romantic. Car hire is a must if you want to explore the island.
From the very moment we arrived Gabriela and Douglas made us both feel at home. Arranging car hire and giving advice on places to visit and eat etc their personal touch just added to our experience. Forget about all inclusive deals, this is the perfect place to relax and unwind in a truely romantic location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely setting and very quiet

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Setting
Cons: More air con in main room would be lovely
Location: Quiet but that was what we liked. Villas look across a saltwater lake with many wild birds.
The villas are lovely but did get very hot particularly at night. The owners Gabriel and Douglas are very helpful with ideas of where to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rainer from Sudbury, MA

Great hospitality and fun place to stay

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
We spent a week on Antigua and very much enjoyed our stay at Yepton Estate Cottages. We can definitely recommend it, unless you're looking for a big resort experience with beach bars etc. Douglas and Gabi were excellent hosts and always available for help, starting with a grocery shopping trip on the day of arrival and an in-depth explanation of the island's attractions, all the way to help with reservations for rental cars and boat cruises. The kitchen was exquisitely equipped, which came in handy because we used the grill on the porch quite a bit. Cottage included sitting area with a comfortable couch, TV, stereo, a separate bedroom with AC, a breakfast area, wifi, patio chairs and cable, and a hammock. No problems at all with the solar driven water heating system, we had hot water at any time of the day. Obviously, this is not a five star hotel but the cottages are all well kept up. There is a small pool on the grounds, not big enough to swim in. Be aware that the cottages are not on the beach but overlook a large saltwater pond, which is a big attraction for many different kinds of birds. If you want to go to the beach, it's an easy, less than five minute walk to the adjacent Coconut Beach resort. Plus, you can walk for 15 minutes or drive down quickly to Deep Bay beach next door, which turned out to be one of the nicest beaches we saw. The prevalent winds can be strong. Made it a bit harder to use the grill, but hey,they keep the mosquitoes away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Michael from London

Cannot fault this place - just fantastic

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing! The cottage was in a beautiful setting. The lake and pool views were just stunning and hearing the ocean day a night was very relaxing. The cottage owners are amongst the most friendly people I have ever met and made our stay in Antigua fantastic. They welcomed us with a drink, took us to the shops to buy food for our cottage and told us all the places to visit on the island as well as having excellent restaurant recommendations. I was devastated when our stay came to an end. I will return one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Caribbean Cottages

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Peace and quiet. Doug and Gabby are like old friends. Helpful and knowledgeable, they will take the time to explain everything you need to know.
Cons: The location is a bit isolated. That's the nature of the island, with it's many peninsulas and bays but that means hiring taxis or renting a car.
Location: Yepton Estates is on the Caribbean side of Antigua, close to two beaches and historic Fort Barrington. It's a 10 minute drive to St. John's.
For Canadians and Americans accustomed to renting a summer cottage by the lake, Yepton Estates will be very familiar and comforting. The owners (and hosts), Doug and Gabby, have created a cosy oasis away from the tourist crowds, where you can hang out on your cottage deck and watch the multitude of birds that make the adjacent lagoon home. You also get a front-row view of the massive cruise ships - Doug calls them "accomodation barges" - as they silently glide past on their way to St. John's harbour. As others have noted, the cottages are clean and comfortable with fully equipped kitchens. We ate all our breakfasts "at home", and brought home dinner several times. On arrival, Gabby will take you to the 'Epicurean' supermarket, where there is a full selection of British and American goods (including prepared meals), at prices that are 20-30 percent above what you pay at home. This is NOT a beach resort but Yepton Beach is only a three minute walk away, while the spectacular (and empty) Deep Bay Beach is a 10-minute walk. However, there is not much else to see in the immediate vicinity, so you will need to rent a car for a few days at least to check out some of the island's other beaches, historical sights, and fine restaurants. We liked Ffryes Beach because it attracts local Antiguan families for picnics. You might even be asked to join a game of "beach cricket"! And on the Atlantic side, Half Moon Bay is the epitome of a tropical ocean beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, LA

Excellent experience!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the owners; the simplicity of the cottage; the peacefulness felt while there.
Cons: Nothing, it was all perfect.
Location: Gabbie and Douglas informed us of the nearby beaches and places to dine and shop.
My husband and I were guests at Yepton Estate Cottages in February and LOVED our time in Antigua, mostly because of the kindness of Gabbie and Douglas. We got lost getting to the cottages on our first day, but once we found it they greeted us as if their own family had been lost. The hospitality they offered cannot be compared with that of any hotel or resort we have ever stayed. Their knowledge of the island and suggestions of great places to eat and visit allowed us to make the best use of our short time on the island. The accommodations were perfect and we had everything we needed. We highly recommend Yepton Estate Cottages to all visiting Antigua.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Fantastic!!!!! Secluded, peaceful and lovely.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
We were expertly helped by the owners who constantly gave us excellent pointers. The island is amazing and we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south west England

A perfect peaceful location with kind hosts.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: The bird watching- pelicans, frigate birds, herons, finches, hummingbirds-fantastic!
Cons: Nothing comes to mind...
Location: Close to St John's. Antigua is so small that with a hire car, we easily saw everything we wanted to.
We had a lovely stay. The island's beaches are fabulous, the scenery wonderful and the Luerys did all they possibly could to make us welcome.