Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great accommodation although isolated location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Amenities, food and accommodation.
Cons: Inconsistent standards across staff.
Location: Nowhere within walking distance.
Great room, amenities, variety of restaurants, good food quality and staff pretty much really were interested in ensuring we were happy buy some staff need refresher training.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Resort! Lovely staff!

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Loved the staff. The Royal Suite room was wonderful! Most of the food was good too.
Cons: The food could stand a little improvement but overall it was good. We always found something we liked.
Location: The location was great! We liked the fact that there was a bay side and an ocean side to this resort. Lots of activities on the resort.
Our first Caribbean trip. Enjoyed every minute of it. The Royal Suites were roomy, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was so friendly. The food was mostly great, Especially the breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Kidz Club is the best. Most restaurants are okay. Only one wasn't that great but ok for grabbing something when coming straight from the beach.
Very pleasant experience. Definitely worth the value that I received from Expedia savings. Extremely helpful staff. a small problem with ants in the room and water leaking from the air conditioner every morning when the sprinklers would push water through the vents, but not that big a deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Great relaxing vacation !!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Multiple beach and pool options. Great variety of food and beverages. Beachfront rooms.
Cons: Bathrooms are a bit dated, but still comfortable. Some seaweed collects on beach daily but removed in timely fashion by staff.
Location: Great location with proximity to English Harbor, Shirley Heights, and natural attractions on South/ East of island (beaches, Devil's Bridge, etc).
Just returned from a week at the St. James Club that we thoroughly enjoyed. If you are looking for serious R & R... this is the place offering multiple beach and pool venues in a beautiful location. Antigua is a nice change of pace from the more crowded islands such as Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, etc.... where you can still find a bit of the "old" Carribbean. The beaches are beautiful (and there are many!). Getting off the beaten path is easy to do.. and highly recommended. The resort is large, but definitely doesn't feel like a "mega resort" with the way it is laid out across the peninsula --- this is one reason that attracted us. Snorkeling cruise to Green Island was a blast -- leaves from resort dock daily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel excellent beach choices

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Overall very pleasant experience. Staff is very professional and accommodating. Oceanfront rooms are large and comfortable. Bathroom tiling is a bit worn & appears dirty in spots. Food was good in all of the restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort with great location

Posted Mar 17, 2015
The hotel has large clean rooms and the quality of the food is very good. The resort location provides you with two separate beaches, an ocean side and a harbor side. ...the ocean side gives you a breezier location with waves and beauty and the harbor side is quieter and calmer. ...provides a great opportunity to bounce back and forth depending on mood and temperature. We went in early March and the weather was great. We stayed ocean side. ...turned off the a/c and let the breeze handle things - it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

A relaxing resort with wonderful views.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Overall great.
Cons: More activities like bingo or chess, a game room of some sort.
Location: Never left the resort I was comfortable with necessities.
I was pleased overall however one evening when I arranged a shuttle ride back from there Picolo Mondo Restaurant located up the hill to transport me back to my Royal Suite, it never arrived and I had to walk back, I'm an above the knee amputee so I was not pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, New York

Wonderful resort!

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Food.
Cons: The rooms could be decorated nicer. The beaches had quite a bit of seaweed - probably the result of water currents.
Location: The hotel is about 30 - 45 minutes from the airport. We went out on a catamaran and enjoyed it. We didn't leave the resort otherwise.
We were treated like we were in a 5* resort - not something you would normally find at an all-inclusive. The chef made us conch fritters one night as an appetizer because we made a special request! The buffets were fabulous and the wine was very good. We loved Piccolo Mondo (although there was a $75 add'l charge per couple). The room was adequate and cleaned daily. The staff were outstanding! The beach (both cove & ocean) were not what we expected. They were clean but we have been to Carribean resorts with much nicer beaches. We spent much of the time by the main pool, as a result. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: General atmosphere, staff, rooms, very civilised system of letting you use a room to shower and change in post check out.
Cons: Just personal taste but we'd have loved Docksider restaurant to be table service. Otherwise nothing.
Location: English harbour, Nelson's Dockyard and Shirkey Heights worth visiting. We were only there a week and pretty lazy.
We had a very relaxing stay at St James' resort in January. Lovely ocean view room, would recommend - it was very quiet as only one storey building and directly overlooking the ocean so no people passing the balcony. Food and drinks were consistently good, service always very friendly and generally very good. Shame Docksider restaurant is a buffet, but it was good to at least have one table service restaurant, and we enjoyed the food at both Docksider and Reef. The beach (Mamora) was lovely and very quiet - ideal for relaxing at the far end - and we had the adults only pool to ourselves when we fancied a change. The only disappointment was that it was so windy we couldn't even sit on Coco beach, but that wasn't the hotel's fault! Take a trip to English Hatbour and Nelson's dockyard, as well as Shirley Heights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elaine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com