Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ankeny

Some troubles with our stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We had a pretty good experience overall but there were a few problems. A new TV system was installed a few days before our arrival and it wasn't working in the living room. There was also a lack of hot water in the morning. The hotel staff only could say they were working on these issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Under reconstruction but still clean and quiet

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Large, clean suite easily accommodated a family of four.
Cons: If you like a firm pillow, take your own.
Location: We enjoyed the Mall of America and Science Museum. But just a few minutes south of the Twin Cities there are plenty of nearby attractions.
First impressions can be deceiving - as we drove up to the hotel the outside and main entry were covered with scaffolding and tarps. We found the parking lot tucked in the back and enter through a temporary entrance. Sheets of plastic hung from ceiling to floor in some spots. However, the staff was very friendly and the room (suite) was very clean. Included breakfast was good - neither the full buffet of some high-end hotels, but much better than a typical continental breakfast. Pool was small but enjoyed by the kids. Very reasonably priced. All in all, a good value for our family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Clean hotel and friendly helpful staff

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: Make people aware of building renovations ahead of time
Location: Mall of America, also took in a ball game
Unaware that there was building renovations going on. Workers started at 7:00 and as we were on holidays - it was way too early to be awakened
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and convenient.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Bedroom, kitchenette, and living spaces.
Cons: Carpet is baggy. It needs to be re-stretched or replaced.
Location: Apple Valley parks, shopping, restaurants, other amenities.
Repair work to the outside fa├žade is ongoing and unfortunate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Apple Valley stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious and clean.
Location: I was there for a job interview, didn't do anything else in the area.
The front desk staff was slow to come to the front counter. They were seated at a desk in an office each time I approached the front counter. The pop machine in the pantry was expensive and was not working properly. Fortunately, the staff refunded the money I lost in the machine. The stucco on the building was being replaced. I had scaffolding outside my window and the crew started working at 7 a.m. so I had to leave the window drapes closed for privacy. The layout of my room was smart and I had plenty of space to work. I also liked that I could close the door to the bedroom. During the night it was very quiet and I slept great. The breakfast was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Reliable, clean, comfortable

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We;ve stayed here before and it is just fine for our needs. Undergoing some renovation and construction at the moment, but there was no noise or disruption when we were there. Looks like the facelift is going to be very nice.Breakfast was a bit meagre, compared to other hotels, but they had the basics covered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel0 undergoing construction/renovation

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We've stayed at the GrandStay before and it is a good value for the money. The current renovation activities only disrupted things in that they had scaffolding up the side of the building which obstructed our view out the window. Not a big deal. Breakfast was just ok. Room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location with great traveler amenities

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Rooms with great amenities
Cons: A bit dated, but nothing terrible.
Location: Plenty of restaurants and shopping. Easy parking.
The room had a very nice kitchen with full size fridge, cooktop, microwave, coffee maker and clean dishes (left sanitized in dishwasher). Separate bedroom and TV in living and bedroom. Nice size bathroom with full counter. Desk/counter for the table, couch and 2 chairs. Overall really liked the layout and ease of the hotel. Full complementary breakfast with a nice selection beyond the normal muffins - hot oatmeal, cold cereal, milk, juice, waffles, muffins, bagels, English muffins, eggs and bacon. Room and hotel clean and in good condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and quiet

Posted May 7, 2014
I got there the room was clean and quiet. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was a very pleasant surprise. The food was great, compliments to the staff of the kitchen.